We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for family reunion”
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family reunion”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Wonderful setting, beautiful grounds and fantastic staff. They really went out of their way to make our parents 50th anniversary special. Loved the age range from newborn to ancient! Live music, variety of dining options. Lobsters were fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcarpmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for celebrating your family's 50th Anniversary with us! We love to see multi generational families spending time together! We're grateful for your support.

Best wishes for many more years together,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    116
    40
    30
    14
See reviews for
132
150
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

While we have heard of the basin harbor club in the past from neighbors, this was our first trip but won't be our last. Recommended for families of any size and seemed to be great for reunions.

It is located about 1/2 hour south of Burlington VT, just outside of Vergennes, a small, very quaint town. It is right on Lake Champlain. Beautiful Location. We were on the dinner plans that included 3 meals at any of the restaurants at the resort. Good(not great) Food but plenty of it. We are an active family and there are lots of activities to do there. Adirondack chairs are everywhere for relaxing, reading, and looking at lake.

The main building itself where you check in is on the Historic Hotels of America. In the same building is the main dining area, spa, gift shop, and hotel rooms. This is not the marble, grand foyer of modern hotels but harkens back to days of old. We absolutely loved it. Check in was swift and our room was ready early at 1:15.

Outside of the main hotel area, there are lots of cottages, some right on the water and others a little further away. Our cottage was overlooking the lake and had a great view. It was recently renovated and was perfect. A large living room with fire place(sofa and 2 chairs) along with a little nook are where a small dining room table and 4 chairs. It overlooked the lake. There was a small balcony with chair and lounger. Bathroom was on the small side and fit for one. There was a kitchen area with sink/refrigerator. Bedroom was 2 doubles and very comfortable. The setting is rustic. It is not the Four Seasons so one should temper their expectations but it was clean. There was no TV which is perfect to get down to your family. They do have Wi-Fi so kids can still play with phone(unfortunately!) I am not sure if all rooms are renovated but I would ask.
Depending upon where your room is located, it could be quite a walk so if someone has trouble walking, ask about room location. Our room was great, surrounded by gardens and a minute walk to everything.

The activities are plentiful. The golf course is right across from main building. We played it and is a course that anyone can play from beginner to low handicapper and still have fun. There is a gym which we looked at but didn't use and a basketball hoop. There are a couple of tennis courts. On the water, they have a raft as well as an inflatable that you can jump off. There is also a diving board. Nice little beach area. There were plenty of boats that were included or free....paddleboat, canoe, SUP, kayak, little rowboat for kids. We rented a motorboat and took it up and across the Lake which was beautiful. The only thing that I wish they had with the rentals is the ability to rent a tube so kids could go tubing. You can go waterskiing or tubing but they are driving the boat. There also have daily excursions on a bigger boats for 1.5 hours that is very reasonable if you don't want to take a boat of your own. There is a nice bar right at the lake for cocktails. There is also a huge grassy area for croquet /whiffleball and shuffleboard.

They have a very nice, clean L shaped pool with lots of fluffy towels. 12 feet in deep end.

There are plenty of hiking/biking around the property as well as general area depending upon how far you want to go.

There are multiple places for food on the resort and is included if you are part of the food plan which I would recommend getting. Buffets for Lunch and Breakfast which are very plentiful and well done for a buffet but is still a buffet. The Red Mill restaurant we really liked, sit down for lunch and have whatever you want. Think I gained 4 pounds just at lunch. The meals at night are jacket/tie and 5 courses. Very nice selection of food served in main dining area. The food isn't out of this world but is good to very good.

I would recommend this to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0hnPM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Many thanks to this family for giving us a try - over the years word of mouth has been the hands down reason that new guests find us.

We're glad that everyone took advantage of all the activities that Basin Harbor has to offer, and that you enjoyed the fresh, local food.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Reallly well done property. Huge, so lots of space to walk, explore, swim, play tennis, sail, kayak, golf, bike, hike, go to gym, or just sit in one of many hallmark Adirondack chairs and look at beautiful Lake Champlain. Food and staff were great. Not sure I would recommend as best place for a couple event, as the place is pretty busy w/ all generations. So if you don't mind toddlers and old timers alike joining you at buffet, then no problem. Accommodations are cute, not luxurious, but the overall setting is just one of relaxed charm, and you can easily spend a few days here without getting in your car which is ideal. They even have an "on campus" bar/restaurant Red Mill which was great break from main dining room for one of our three dinners. Very casual, service bit slow, but food was great. Overall, a really memorable weekend at a very classy, and beautfiul spot. We did a private boat cruise for couple hours around sunsent which was spectacular. One of owners Bob, was captain, couldn't have been a nicer host.

Room Tip: some cabins are right on Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HClowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
My brother, Bob, and I are delighted that your family visit was a success! The best part about a family gathering is that we do all the work so you can have all the fun.

Thank you for letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was our second summer family gathering at BHC. It was beautiful from start to finish. Probably the greatest challenge you'll face during your stay is not overeating amid amazing variety of food offered during each meal. From bingo to water skiing, from bicycling to frisbee...there's plenty of ways to relax and enjoy the options and opportunities. Special thanks to the staff at the waterfront for your patience and professionalism. I've never seen my son so happy as when being pulled by a motor boat, zipping around the lake on a tube!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for making a return visit to BHC! All our local food producers are so glad you like the wonderful food they produce for us. Vermont is a special place in that regard!

We're grateful for your visit, and we look forward to seeing you next year.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I think I've figured out what is so special about BHC: LOVE. Since I just got married there, I can attest to the romance of the place; it is beautiful, peaceful and has many private nooks both indoors and outside. Of course a wedding is not just about the couple but also about the joining of families especially when their are children - ours are grown - from previous marriages: I cannot begin to describe how seamlessly our families meshed through all the fun activities and at the delicious meals. Making all this happiness possible is the staff: they are wonderful. From the owners and chef to the water skiing instructor and waitstaff, all are skillful, intelligent, helpful, kind and friendly. The wedding planner is a delight and made our event a very special and person celebration.

Room Tip: You can ask for a water view, although all the cottages look out on nice grounds, woods or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsebacktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We'd like to add a fourth LOVE to your equation - we love hosting weddings and vacations! Our family is honored to be part of a family tradition. Thank you so much for beginning your new life together here at Basin Harbor.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our extended family gets together every other year. We have gathered at the Homestead, the Balsams, Cape Cod, but all agree there is no better location than Basin Harbor.

There was a time when three dozen of these old world resorts could be found in New England, they rarer now, but this is one of the finest. Location, lodgings, food and especially service puts the Basin Harbor Club in league with the best resorts. It is perfect for a family reunion. Lots of activities (golf, tennis, beach, boating, etc.) and lots of space to do it in, and all on the shores of beautiful Lake Champlain.

Room Tip: Get out of the hotel to one of the "cabins". They come in all sizes and shapes, single, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanD449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We're thrilled that your family thinks Basin Harbor is the best for reunions! Since 1886 countless families have gathered here to let our family take care of every detail for their vacation together. Thank you for your loyal support!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Basin Harbor last evening and were very impressed. We stayed in a cottage on the water. The view was not to be beaten with expansive lake frontage and spectacular mountain views. The staff was friendly but not intrusive, a perfect balance. We walked the property and were completely surprised by the flower gardens and general attention to landscape.
We had a great meal at the Red Mill restaurant with wonderful cocktails and excellent food. The hostess ( Alyssa....I believe) found out we were celebrating our anniversary and went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Certainly we will return.

Room Tip: Either a cottage with lake view or newer rooms in main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennie B, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many happy returns on your Anniversary!

Thank you for celebrating with us, and for telling everyone what a nice time you had. Come back soon!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.4 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
663 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
636 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
15.9 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
561 reviews
21.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 12 in South Burlington
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort and boat club on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 boat slips for overnight docking at the Boat Club at Basin Harbor. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort
Basin Harbor Vermont/Vergennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing