We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn, A Picturesque New England Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn, A Picturesque New England Location”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This inn wraps itself around the rolling Vermont hills. Cows graze in the nearby fields, a fire warms the sitting room in the lobby area, and fresh cookies are out every afternoon. The rooms are beautiful, the staff very friendly and the chef who prepares the breakfasts does an excellent job. We spent three nights after parent's weekend at my daughter's college. The town of Waitsfield was hit hard by then tropical storm Irene so the route to the inn is temporarily longer because the covered bridge in town is being repaired. But it's a short detour and recovery for the flooded shops in town that were impacted (just a few) is well underway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4ontheroadMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    31
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
222
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you're looking for a place to stay in Vermont, look no further! The Inn at Round Barn is one of the most scenic and relaxing bed and breakfasts you will find. After a long day of driving on a chilly autumn day, it was refreshing to arrive at such a welcoming place, with a warm fire to sit by and unwind. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel accomodated. The rooms were very comfortable with cozy beds and plenty of space. We had a great hike in the morning through the grounds, topped off with a delicious, homemade breakfast. The only down part was having to leave! My husband and I are already looking forward to coming back for a long weekend at the Inn and for some snowshoeing with Cooper!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sterling Room, which was a corner, first floor room. Had a great view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sworn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarkedal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed at the inn in October 2010, and felt rather disappointed. Found the comfort of the rooms to be too old. Breakfast was ok. Had a really disappointing check out experience: once paid, the owners couldn(t get back to the kitchen fast enough. No time at all for a "thank you" or "goodbye".

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom_vdv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundBarnInnkeper, Owner at The Inn at Round Barn Farm, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Greetings. Thank you for your response. Since your response is over a year ago, we are having a hard time trying to follow up. I am sorry you found the comfort of our rooms "too old". I am not sure what that means. If you mean decor, it is rare, but we recognize our tastes are not the same for everyone. If you mean the furnishings or bed are old, we have had all our mattresses replaced since your visit. The departure you mentioned seemed very, very unusual for our staff. First, our owners don't do the check out and if our staff did head back to the kitchen, it seems they were striving to take care of our other guests' needs during a very busy time. Of course, we always strive to have your exit be as friendly as your arrival so if that was not the case, we apologize. We would hope you would like to return, but if not, we do value your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here last two nights of our October 2011 leaf peeping trip. The town of Waitsfield was still digging out of damage from Hurricane Irene. The covered bridge into town from the Inn was closed, which made getting around a little less convenient. But that’s just nitpicking. There was a lot of damage in Waitsfield and the surrounding area. But the Inn came through ok, as it sits up on a hill. It is a beautiful setting, surrounded by fall colors, cows feeding in the meadows, and clouds dancing around the nearby hill tops.
All of the staff at the inn were really friendly. Tim and Stephanie provided us with great restaurant and travel info. We stayed in the Terrace room, which is on ground level with the back of the inn. In fact there is a door to the back right outside the room. The window in our room framed some beautiful trees in fall splendor. The grounds are well maintained and provide a very peaceful environment to walk around or just sit and absorb. We strolled around out there for a while.
The bathroom was small but very clean and efficient. The bed was comfortable. The robes were a nice touch. The room itself was large, with a separate sitting area with two nice chairs. The afternoon treats looked very good, though we did not partake, as we were out traveling around until evening.
Breakfast was excellent in a charming dining room. Conversation with the other guests, and Tim, was fun and enlightening. Travel tips were traded, restaurants were compared and recommended. A very jovial atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaBillJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We cannot say enough about The Round Barn. The owners.....Tim, Anne Marie and their Staff go above and beyond any expectations one may have. We felt like guest walking into the facility the first time and family walking out. Every staff member goes out of their way to ensure that your needs are met, even if that means getting out of their own bed to fix the TV (sorry Dan). The food is AMAZING and very lovingly prepared. We've stayed at many B&B but this one is our favorite spot to relax. Each time we stay here, it only gets better. The staff welcomes us back with each visit.
Tyre' and Ashli

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLAGirls1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

It was my job to plan our first anniversary trip in 2007. I always wanted to try a bed and breakfast but was reluctant to stay in someone's home and share bathrooms with people I didn't know. When I began my search I stumbled upon the round barn farm on my first click. I fell in love with it right away just from the photos. It was exactly what I was looking for. We now make it a yearly getaway for my husband and I. It is located on the most peaceful part of the earth. The grounds are amazing and exceptionally beautiful in the fall. The breakfast is definitely something to write home about and I must mention that the coffee is the best I ever tasted. We try to always get back in time for the midday hors d'oeuvres which always seem to hit the spot. The staff is utterly amazing and always make you feel at home though nobody lives there.There is always an innkeeper that stays overnight however. They constantly go out of their way to give advice on where to go and to let you know what's going on in to. As timeshare owners, we frequently travel to a variety of destinations but none quite take the place of our favorite getaway at the round barn farm.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Terrace room the first 3 years and loved it since it was the only room offset from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Inn at the Round Barn Farm had very nice public spaces and provided an average breakfast. Freshly made apple cider was a highlight. Our problem was with our room, which was extremely small. It was an "under the eaves" type of room, where the ceiling sloped down to about 30" at the outside wall. There were windows along this wall, which the innkeeper called "belly-windows"...i.e. one would have to lie on one's belly in order to look outside. One other small window at one end of the room gave us daylight, but was not easy to open and had no screen. The room was very hot (in late September) and when we propped the aforementioned window open with a stick, we were immediately joined by a number of flies. We were in the country, so this was to be expected, but a screen would have kept the unwelcome bugs out.
The other thing that must be mentioned was the smell of the running water in the sink and shower. It had an unpleasant odor...my husband suggested it was "essence of farmyard."
There was no closet in which to hang our clothes.
For $250, this accommodation was unsatisfactory. On our trip through New England, we stayed at several far superior inns at lower rates.

Room Tip: Avoid the Jones Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoundBarnInnkeper, Owner at The Inn at Round Barn Farm, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay and I am sorry your stay was not totally satisfactory. Ironically the room you mentioned happens to be quite popular with some of our guests because of the belly windows and exposed beams. Each room has its own character and we try to match your preferences as best we can. Even though all the other windows in the room had screens, apparently we failed to put the screen back in the window when removing the air conditioner for the season. We just had our water test approved by the state this month so I know the water is safe. I do know that for some, the absence of chlorine in our well water is unusual to the taste.

Frankly, I have never heard anyone describe our breakfasts as "average" which leads me to believe that you may have had some sort of dietary need we could not accomodate.

The fact that we heard nothing from you during your stay is a disappointment to us because I believe all of the above could have been rectified by our outstanding staff who strive to make everyone's stay the best it can be. Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
12.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
483 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
136 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
93 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Round Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Round Barn Farm

Property: The Inn at Round Barn Farm
Address: 1661 E Warren Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Round Barn Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 245 acres of mountains, meadows, and ponds lies this romantic Vermont Inn, a four season vacation retreat for lovers of the arts, history and the outdoors. Friendly and caring Innkeepers at this Waitsfield VT Inn welcome you to enjoy all the comforts of home with none of the demands. Individually decorated guest rooms have been designed with attention to the details that matter. Come experience incredible hospitality at this lovely Warren bed and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn at Round Barn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Round Barn Farm Hotel Waitsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing