We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, laid back, feel at home”
Review of Lareau Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lareau Farm Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As a thank you for serving our country, my boyfriend was offered a complimentary nights stay at the Lareau Farm Inn Veteran's weekend. We arrived Sunday evening, slightly worried we would be bothersome due to our late arrival, only to find we were no bother at all. In the entryway to the Inn was a note awaiting us. Included in the note was the answer to every question we may have had. It lead us to our room, the 'Wonder' room on the second floor, informed us about breakfast, gave us the wifi password, included a reminder of our dinner reservation, and a few other things. It was great not to have the pressure of someone constantly asking how everything is and just being able to explore for ourselves.
Our room was perfect for 2, with a nice sized bed, a chair, and small bathroom. Sitting on the bed when we first walked in was information on things to do in the area and a children's book (in case you were towing along a little one).
As part of being a guest at the Inn you get your name placed on the dinner list for American Flatbread before anyone else. I grew up in the area and know that Flatbread doesn't take reservations. You show up right when they open to put your name in and hope for a good dinner time. When booking the room we were given the opportunity to put our name on the list for priority at a certain time. The restaurant wasn't too busy when we went, but from past experiences I know this would definitely come in handy in the winter and summer craziness.
Unfortunately, we had to head out early in the morning. We came downstairs around 7:30 (the time the note said food would be set out) to find hot coffee, fruit, cereal, and english muffins. We were able to enjoy the mini breakfast as well as chat with the inn keeper, Lisabeth. It was a great start to our morning and fabulous end to our stay.
Overall, the stay was fantastic. We're already planning our next trip, hopefully a longer one this time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Lareau Farm Inn for one night and loved it! The innkeeper was very friendly but not "hovering" and overly attentive which we found great. Check in was super easy and she upgraded us to a bigger room because the inn wasn't fully booked (it was a Monday night in the off season). The inn itself was gorgeous, the real small town, cozy, farm feel that I love at an inn. American flatbread is closed during the week (bummer!) but we drove to Bristol to eat at The Bobcat Cafe which is delicious and although it is a half hour drive the scenery makes it worth it! In the morning we were met with a friendly face and delicious breakfast with both ingredients from the farm as well as local ingredients from neighboring farms. Overall our stay exceeded expectations and we would love to return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KwHeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is the second time I've hosted a COACH ME MARIA Retreat and it was even better than the first! You just feel like you are home! The participants were able to move past their blocks partly because the environment they were in. It's the perfect escape place to find yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoachMeMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We just spent a marvelous multi-sport weekend at the Lareau Farm Inn. Lisabeth and her wonderful staff took care of our every need from Friday evening through Sunday morning. Highlights included sumptuous breakfasts, tasty & hearty dinners, and a fun camp fire with s'mores!

Room Tip: Well-behaved pets are welcome in three of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We just had a delightful experience at our two-day stay at Lareau Family Farm in Waitsfield VT. The accommodations at this quaint Vermont farm met our hopes of an authentic area B&B, and the proprietor, Lisbeth, was a quintessential chef and hostess. Wonderful food! I can't wait till next fall to return. And let me hasten to add that all the local folks, Vermonters, were all friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Be prepared that there are only stairs to tote luggage, but be sure to choose a north-facing room, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here for a wedding but would return just to enjoy the care that Lisabeth and her staff provide for their guests. The inn is right by the Mad river with glorious views of the mountains. There are trails to walk and bike or places to sit and just listen to the river. The American Flatbread Restaurant on site is great----they catered the wedding reception and the food and service were excellent. My room was comfortable and quiet and what a great breakfast! I was rested and ready to explore the area--it's like going back in time to those carefree days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have just returned from 4 glorious nights at the Lareau Farm Country Inn. And I can hardly wait to return! To understand what a compliment/high rating that is you have to know that I am not a traveler. I go places, lots of places, to enjoy time with family and friends, but even in the loveliest of places I have said "been there, done that" and I'm ready to get back to my own comfort zone in my own home. My husband could hardly believe his ears! I want to go back! I WILL go back. It was a bonus for us that wonderful gluten free breakfast and snacks were available. The old farmhouse is full of ambience, and the rooms are named Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness....and more....all signifying the atmosphere of the surroundings and the attitude of all of the staff. My one suggestion......that they name a room tranquility. That is what I experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
4.0 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lareau Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lareau Farm Inn

Address: 46 Lareau Farm Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: £53 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lareau Farm is a 13 room B & B in the heart of the Mad River Valley. Serving fabulous farmhouse breakfasts featuring local farm to table cuisine. We have plenty of room for you and your pals to romp and play.Four rooms are designated pet friendly with their own exits to the outside areas. We host many events that are open to the public as well as family reunions, board meetings, and country elegant weddings. We are also the home of American Flatbread - a wood fired all natural pizza company restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Waitsfield
Waitsfield Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing