We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Millbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Millbrook Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

While searching for a place that was dog friendly I was given the name of this Inn from some another place that did not allow dogs. The hostess at the Millbrook Inn was very kind and loving to my rescued dog Bonnie. It was a surprise for boyfriend that friends from out of town were joining us for dinner and Joan served us one of the best gourmet meals I have ever had. We all enjoyed the meal and the wine was very good. Our room was very nice and quiet. The view of the Mad River ski area outside our window. We took Bonnie with us when we sightseed as you are not allowed to leave the fdogs in your room.

Room Tip: Shell room but any of the rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Millbrook Inn!!! The Dallas Hilton it is not and I hope it will never be, but for a get-a-way in the hills of Vermont, it is perfect. Nice rooms and Joan was "Superwoman."
From the time we arrived until we left she was the most gracious hostess I have ever seen. She is a super cook and my wife says her home made bread "is to die for." My only objection is we could not stay longer.....great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pet the dog....Riley!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We couldn't have asked for more from the scenery and the host, Joan, at Millbrook Inn. We woke up every morning to a wonderful breakfast outside in the gorgeous backyard, playing with her awesome dog, Riley. We fell asleep each night to the sound of frogs in nearby small pond. And during the day Joan went out of her way to make sure we had a pleasant stay in Vermont - when we expressed our desire to go tubing down the Mad River, she dropped us off at the drop-off and showed us where to leave our car so that we wouldn't have to pay for the shuttle service from the tubing company! She was full of advice and knowledge about the area. Be sure to ask her about where she gets her maple syrup! Peaceful, amazing food, good company. And no TV! :)

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at the Millbrook Inn after a 6 day hiking trip on the Long Trail. Originally booked a Sat. night stay, but we hiked out a day early. Joan happily accommodated us on Friday instead of Saturday. Rooms were elegant, clean, well kept. Joan was a delightful host and knowledgeable about hiking the LT (and skiiing Mad River Glen). Breakfast was delicious. Thanks Joan!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

My sister and i have been visiting the Millbrook for the past 15+ years. it suits us perfectly - beautiful grounds, smart helpful hosts, excellent breakfasts (eaten outdoors in the summer) and elegant dinners with fabulous desserts. It is centrally located for us to visit family scattered all over Vermont. We always stay in the Willow Room on the first floor which is cool and inviting having windows on two sides and a small but completely adequate bathroom. Lots to read and no television in the room or the common rooms, thank God.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We just returned from staying a few nights at the Millbrook Inn. We stayed in the Octagon House, however, and can't comment on the quality of the Inn itself or the food there.

That said, our stay was very pleasant. The Octagon House is very much like a cottage, so don't expect fancy amenities. However, it has all that you need for a lengthy stay. We were very comfortable with five people. The house is equipped with a working kitchen, various pots and pans and some basic sundries. As a result, it is not hard to cook and eat there. One bedroom has an ensuite, which is very convenient.

The photos on the web do not depict the actual size of the place, which is larger. There is free cable, a DVD player, and free local calls. The gas fireplace is lovely to sit around. There is a basement area with plenty of storage, especially for ski equipment. There is also a washer and dryer, which is very convenient.

The property itself is gorgeous, with lovely views of the Inn and the valley. If you are a skier, location is perfect: just miles from both Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. There are many shops and restaurants a short drive away in Waitsfield, which is a very pretty town. Nearby are several other equally gorgeous towns, and of course the contryside is beautiful.

A word of warning: Vermont in winter is not very forgiving, so be sure to travel in a vehicle that can handle slippery conditions. On two occasions we had trouble getting up to the parking spot for the House.

Overall we were happy with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend the Octagon House at the Millbrook Inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed 3 nights in July 2011 on our way down from Montreal and we had an amazing stay. I will definitely be back to Millbrook Inn as I want to ski at Mad River Glen this winter, if work allows, hopefully. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. Joan is a great host and she cooks my eggs perfectly in the morning. We loved her dog, the ponds and house has an amazing feel.
Philippe

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kahina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millbrook Inn

Property: Millbrook Inn
Address: 533 Mill Brook Road (Route 17), Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Millbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Millbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing