We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Setting a Perfect Weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #4 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
“Perfect Setting a Perfect Weekend!!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Heather and Andrew Lynd, the gracious and welcoming owners who have beautifully renovated Mad River Barn, deserve outstanding praise and kudos! The barn retains rustic charm. The rooms are creatively purposeful. The beds are comfortable with nice linens and duvets. The staff are pleasant, helpful and accommodating to all. We recently held a family/friend party and weekend at the inn. The ambience of the inn, the service, breakfasts and dinners were excellent. The Pub and game room provided a warm and fun environment for all ages - from 2 to 80! Our entire family enjoyed a memorable weekend. Our grateful thanks to Heather, Andrew and staff. We look forward to a return visit!! :) Jane Hall

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the main floor to the left of the desk. Rooms near the Pub may have more noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We're over the moon to hear you think we're deserving of this kind of praise, Jane. We really enjoyed having you and your family. It's really great that everyone from 2 to 80 loved our place -- we couldn't be more grateful to hear it.

All the best,
Heather L., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    17
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My girlfriend and another couple traveled to mad river valley to ski for two days at Sugarbush. A friend recommended we stay at Mad River Barn and we can't wait to go back. As soon as we walked in it had that ski lodge homey feel. Everything was very clean and well kept but it held on to that cabin/rustic feel that I wanted for a ski trip. Everything from the decoration to the sleeping experience to the complimentary breakfast was outstanding quality. My favorite feature was the bar/fireplace/gameroom. We had a blast playing on the shuffleboard table. They also served Heady Topper double IPA which is now my favorite beer ever, unfortunately only available in some areas of Vermont. It was a very charming place and when I'm in the area again there is no question about where I'll be staying. MRB!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, Joey. I can't express enough how much it means to us that there will be "no question" about where you'll be staying next time you're in the area! Give our best to your friend -- we appreciate the recommendation.

During the recent renovations, it was really important to us to upgrade the place while keeping its rustic charm, which included restoring many original features. It's really great to hear that you appreciated our efforts. And that you and your girlfriend had so much fun playing shuffleboard.

Have you ever been to the Mad River Valley during the summer? There are a lot of great things to do here that don't require snow.

Thanks again,
Heather L., Owner

P.S. The Heady Topper Double IPA is one of our favorites. You have great taste in beer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in the Annex and the room was OK but had some issues. I knew that the Annex had not been renovated, so I expected the dated facilities/decor. However, the internet access was poor to non-existent in our room (several in our party tried on different devices and it was too slow to load any page, however bare-bones). There was a TV in the room, but it wasn't plugged in. When we went to ground level to try to plug it in, we noticed the cable wires sticking out of a hole in the wall. Not great for kids.
The breakfasts and dinner were wonderful--truly outstanding. Careful with the kids dinner though. If I had known that a hotdog and corn was going to be $15, we likely would have passed on it. That was my fault for not asking!
All in all, I'd give it another try in one of the renovated rooms, and I would also highly recommend the breakfasts for everyone and dinner for adults. The staff was very friendly, and the common spaces in the Inn were very welcoming and fun for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HadleySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi HadleySJ,

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I'm sorry you found our internet connection to be too slow in the Annex. Sometimes it helps when we reset the modem, but since you didn't report the issue to us while you were here, we weren't aware of your concern. Generally, many concerns/issues can be solved, but it is important to share them with us, so we have a chance to do so. Regarding Internet speeds... it's also worth reminding folks that the Mad River Barn is located in the mountains of Vermont. The only service available here is DSL, and we're at the end of the line at that. We don't have fiber, or even cable internet, available to us.

Regarding the price for the kids dinner - I think a clarification is warranted. You attended our all-you-can-eat prime rib buffet on Saturday night, where the price for adults is $21.95, and the price for kids is $14.95. You did not pay $15 for a hot dog and corn. You paid $14.95 for everything on the buffet, which included prime rib, mashed potatoes, baked penne, broccolini, garden salad, baguette, carrot cake, and additional "kid friendly" options of hot dogs, corn, and buttered noodles. We post the menu hours before the seating, and you had ample opportunity to cancel your reservation had you been unhappy with the menu choices. You could have chosen to feed your children upstairs, from the pub menu. Or, we could have recommended any number of the other wonderful restaurants in the Mad River Valley that your family could have visited instead.

At some point - it does boil down to personal responsibility. When booking a room, making a dinner reservation, or engaging in any other type of commerce.... it is your responsibility to investigate what it is your are purchasing. And if you fail to fulfill that responsibility, then is it really fair to complain?

Best,

Heather & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The new owners have done an amazing job of updating the barn while retaining and improving its charm. congratulations to them on a fine job. I highly recommend it. great linens, a nice feel to it, and excellent breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks Rose! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I rarely write reviews but MRB is very deserving of praise. Our family of four stayed at the annex a few years ago along with a few other families and we vowed never to return. While planning our ski vacation this year we had trouble finding a suitable location for 3 families (6 adults, 6 kids aged 10-16). We found out that Heather and Andrew had purchased the barn and were renovating it. After following the detailed renovation on MRB's Facebook page we decided to make reservations.

We stayed Wednesday thru Saturday. When we arrived we were pleasantly greeted by Heather and given the grand tour. My family stayed in B8 which is in the main barn on the second floor directly adjacent to the pub. The room was very clean (the housekeeper was very nice and did an excellent job of keeping our room spotless). My daughter retired to her room around 10-10:30 and never complained about any noise. I had to actually ask her if she heard anything and she said she only heard very low music and some talking but nothing that kept her awake. The only noise that I heard was from little kids running through the short hallway on their way to the game room or breakfast but you get that where ever you stay.

We only left the premises to go skiing at Sugarbush which is a very short drive after a great buffet breakfast. The food was homemade and there was always an offering of plain scrambled eggs or a more gourmet style. The awesome French toast was offered with a delicious agave fig amaretto syrup.

We returned from skiing every day and were welcomed by endless hot water in roomy showers before heading to the pub a mere 20 steps from our room. We were greeted by either Jerry or Charlotte (very attentive, and knowledgeable bartenders). They even know how to make an Old Fashioned without fruit!. The wives usually gathered on the popular couches next to the nicely stoked fire that was fed by and endless supply of wood carried in by Andrew. The 6 kids would play shuffle board, foosball and air hockey or sit at one of the corner tables and play a board game while enjoying some French fries from the pub menu while waiting for the 7:30 dinner. The guys would start at the bar and get updates to the Olympic results on the tv while trying the various local offerings on tap then mingle around with the wives and kids. The bar would get busy especially before the 2 dinner seatings but with 2 bartenders and a roaming waitress and Andrew washing glasses there was barely a wait for service. The food from the pub menu came up from the kitchen in short time to satisfy the hungry kids.

Andrew would herd us together to let us know that it was time for us to be seated for dinner. The dinners were a lot of fun and there was a nice selection of delicious food. One night, the menu was ham but there was also BBQ chicken as well plus kid friendly items. Heather #2 was always on top of clearing our plates and making sure we had everything that we needed. We really enjoyed the second seating as we like to hang around and enjoy our dessert without the pressure of turning over the table. The staff was very accommodating as we had friends that were not staying at MRB arrive late for dinner but the staff put some nice dishes together for them.

After dinner it was back upstairs to the pub. At this point it was more subdued and relaxing than before dinner. As the night moved on, the younger kids would retire to their rooms and the adults would take over the game room for their own quests of gold, silver and bronze in shuffleboard and foosball. After the games were over, it was off to bed. The linens, mattresses and pillows were all very comfortable. The in room thermostats were also a great convenience.

Thank you to Heather and Andrew and all of the crew at MRB for your hard work turning this piece of coal into a diamond. We already booked for next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks Paul! It's guests like you that are the reason why we enjoy this business so much. Your smile and joy was infectious! We enjoyed the opportunity to get to know your families, and we are looking forward to your return next year!

Best,

Heather & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We brought our 3 young sons here for February vacation week to ski Mad River Glen, and we had a great time. Andrew and Heather were excellent hosts. I especially enjoyed the pub (what a hopping apres ski hang out!) and family game room, from the hearth fireplace, to the leather couches, to the Single Chair Ale, to the shuffleboard and air hockey, to the camaraderie with fellow skiers and guests. The food here is really delicious - especially the French toast and the prime rib dinner on Saturday nights! I would highly recommend this B&B for families who are looking for a rustic, casual and family friendly environment.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex are quieter but further away from the central Inn, restaurant and pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks Holly! You guys were a lot of fun! Hope to see you again :)

Heather & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our family of four took our first family ski trip this past week and had such a wonderful time, we re-booked to come back next year. Andrew & Heather are both such amazing hosts. They go out of their way to make their guests truly feel at home. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Our kids loved playing with the other kids in the game room while we enjoyed having drinks by the fire aprés-ski. The bar food was delicious as were the family-style dinners and breakfasts. We can't wait to come back again!

Julie

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks Julie! Thank you for spending your vacation with us! Ethan had a blast hanging out with your two boys - we are definitely looking forward to next year :)

Heather & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
307 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
69 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
135 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
207 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#12 of 15 in Waitsfield
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub

Property: Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Address: 2849 Millbrook Rd., Waitsfield, VT 05673 (Formerly Inn at the Mad River Barn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub has been a fixture in the Mad River Valley for many years. Located at the base of the Appalachian Gap in the heart of the Mad River Valley, we're just a mile and half from Mad River Glen, and about five miles from Sugarbush's Lincoln Peak. We offer 18 guest rooms, each with a private bath. In addition, we have an onsite restaurant, a pub with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace, and a game room where guests can play a game of shuffleboard on the newly refurbished antique shuffleboard table, or a game of foosball. Board games, cribbage, and cards are also available.In 2013, the property underwent a significant renovation project, including enhancements to the Barn and to the Farmhouse. From shopping and dining, to outdoor recreation, the arts, and events, Mad River Barn serves as your retreat and gateway to a fantastic Vermont experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing