We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #4 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the first place we've stayed where the actual accommodations outshone the gorgeous pictures posted online! Everywhere you look there is something unique and beautiful to look at. This is no lace doily inn - it is modern and fresh and so carefully done. The owners are so nice and accommodating and the food is great. This is our first visit to this part of VT and we feel very lucky to have found this place. We highly recommend! (Be sure to check out the Icelandic horse farm for a trail ride - spectacular!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roomserviceplease17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I'm over the moon to hear we exceeded your expectations! Thanks for this very special review. Can't wait to welcome you back!

Take care,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I owe a huge amount of thanks to the crew at MRB. We had such a great stay. Breakfast was great, tasty homemade granola, omlette specials every morning. Everyone was very helpful in recommending things to do. The inn itself is beautiful, you can see a lot of thought went into the renovations...Andrew and Heather even said that there was more to come so I look forward to returning and seeing the new additions. Pub was awesome as well. Great beers on tap and a healthy supply of Heady Toppers. Nice dinner menu, had some of the best duck in recent memory and they have some Mac & Cheese that you won't be able to stop eating. Jerry the bartender is a great guy too so be sure to swap some stories with him. I looked into a lot of different B&Bs in the area before deciding on this one and I'm so glad with where I ended up. I'd recommend this place to anyone. When you go, take advantage of the great staff, chat with them a bit, it was so great getting to know them over a long weekend! Thanks again Andrew and Heather, hope to be seeing you both again and good luck with everything!
-Dan

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thrilled you had such a great stay, Dan. It really means lot to hear how much you enjoyed everything from the renovations to mac & cheese. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just spent two nights at the Inn at Mad River Barn for a summer wedding. We had a great stay. The place is newly-renovated with nice decor and fixtures. All the details are fantastic. It's really clean and feels new but doesn't lose the rustic Vermont feel.

They have a great game room and bar on site and every morning they offer an awesome Vermont breakfast. The coffee and pancakes are awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckeeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thrilled you enjoyed your two nights with us! It's great to hear how much you liked everything from the game room to pancakes. Congrats to the couple and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The care and detail Andrew & Heather have put into the restoration. This is definitely a labour of love and a commitment to the community and the nature that surrounds the area that Betsy Pratt (previous owner) was so passionate about. After speaking to Andrew and Heather who are extremely accessible one notes some of the works were done with reclaimed materials from the old barn (eco-friendly, 2 thumbs up guys!). This makes ones stay ever so rewarding and in no way compromises any of the creature comforts one comes to expect in a luxury retreat.
Mad River Barn is an excellent getaway destination and Tops my list for when I’m seeking a little peace and tranquility. You can enjoy a good book by the river or a hike in the woods (whatever tickles you’re fancy). Personally I like to balance the tranquility with friends while watching me favorite game on the big screen in the lounge or one can enjoying a pint over a friendly game of shuffle board.
The Restaurant / Bar provides a wide variety of options to choose from. Food was great I might add.
In the fall the hills are on fire with vibrant colors. The place is also a great place for winter sport enthusiasts with lots of ski hill and trails to explore. In my case it provides a perfect stop for my wife and myself after touring through the picturesque Adirondacks.

Room Tip: The rooms are divided into three separate areas that are gauged to accommodate ether singles, couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thrilled we could give you the perfect getaway, Tim. There's just not much better than to hear how much you enjoyed everything from our game room to pub. Can't wait to welcome you back.

All the best
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

i took my family (2 young kids - 6 & 8 yrs), and my in-laws (visiting from phoenix) to stay at the mad river barn for the long memorial day weekend. this was our first visit to vermont and to this inn. simply put - it was fantastic. vermont is a beautiful state, very picturesque but it was the inn at the mad river barn that made the trip all the more perfect.

the inn and the rooms are beautiful. very conducive for adults and kids. there are things to do for the kids (board games, air hockey, etc.) while the adults eat/drink/chat. the staff is very friendly. and the owners (heather and andy) are simply amazing. they helped us plan the entire weekend (hikes, visit to ben/jerry, american flat bread, etc.). the food and the drinks were delightful (incl morning breakfast - yummy!!!)

it was a perfect weekend and we definitely look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbhatia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I'm happy to hear you and your family had a fantastic weekend at our place. We definitely look forward to welcoming you guys back!

All the best,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We love visiting the Mad River Valley and this was by far our favorite place we've stayed. Recently, beautifully renovated, amazing breakfast, delicious dinner and great beers on tap at the terrific pub. Owners and staff as sweet as could be. Amazing value, will be hard to book during ski season!

Room Tip: For a family of four, B8 was perfect -- loft space gave kids/us privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We loved having you, Caroline. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed everything from your room to dinners in our pub. See you again soon!

All the best,
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've just returned from a retreat at Mad River Barn Bed and Breakfast in Mad River Valley, Vermont. I have to say that it was a fantastic experience. The staff was fantastic. They were happy to have us including their private guests who stayed in a separate section from where our guys rooms were. The room we had ( B-4 ) slept 7. A queen bed in the main room, with three single/bunk beds in an adjoining space. The windows across the retreat had stunning views. The renovations that were made to the establishment (as heard from guests who had stayed here previously) are wonderful. If you get to stay here, you will sleep on the most fantastic and comfortable mattresses you will ever sleep on. The bathrooms were well appointed, with towels, shower suds,shampoo, conditioner. The bathrooms are spacious and very accommodating. I must say that the food was stellar. They served us three meals a day from a very good kitchen staff. The dining room downstairs was spacious and sat everyone in a single seating. We were about 45 men. The dining room staff was also as wonderful. We did not go hungry by any means. And the food is fantastic. Guests were dining upstairs in the lounge/bar area that has ample seating. We watched a lot of hockey in their upstairs salon. There is a very large, well appointed game room for those who enjoy a little gaming. The grounds are very scenic and the views of the surrounding mountains is gorgeous. While we were there, walks and hikes were great. We had a few wildlife sightings on the mountains, bears and moose. The Bed and Breakfast, situated in a valley is near several small picturesque town centers and ski hills ( for the Winter enthusiast). The staff will welcome you with open arms and big smiles. It was a truly enjoyable weekend. Hosted by knowledgeable and pleasant staff. Upon our departure we took the scenic route through the mountains over to Burlington. The views are spectacular. I can't imagine a more beautiful place to visit come Fall. I thank the staff of Mad River Barn for their hospitality. We will return very soon, and by then it is said that the renovations will be complete. Thanks again, Mad River Barn.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Owner at Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We were honored to host your event! I can't think of a better group of people to have here at the Barn.

Thanks again for the wonderful review and can't wait to welcome you back!
Heather L., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
155 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#11 of 15 in Waitsfield
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub

Address: 2849 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7372 (Formerly Inn at the Mad River Barn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: £130 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub has been a fixture in the Mad River Valley for many years. Located at the base of the Appalachian Gap in the heart of the Mad River Valley, we're just a mile and half from Mad River Glen, and about five miles from Sugarbush's Lincoln Peak. We offer 18 guest rooms, each with a private bath. In addition, we have an onsite restaurant, a pub with a floor to ceiling fieldstone fireplace, and a game room where guests can play a game of shuffleboard on the newly refurbished antique shuffleboard table, or a game of foosball. Board games, cribbage, and cards are also available.In 2013, the property underwent a significant renovation project, including enhancements to the Barn and to the Farmhouse. From shopping and dining, to outdoor recreation, the arts, and events, Mad River Barn serves as your retreat and gateway to a fantastic Vermont experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing