We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating, Friendly, Helpful, etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilkes Barre, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accomodating, Friendly, Helpful, etc.”
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We first had an interest in the Wilder Farm Inn because of their use of organic products. Well, after staying there we just fell in love with the Inn Keepers, Luke and Linda and all they did to make our stay a very pleasant one. As strict vegetarians, we had a little concern about what our breakfast would be like. Luke had no problem creating these delicious breakfasts of smoothies, scrambled tofu with fresh veggies from their garden, blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup, and even soy milk to add to the organic coffee! Luke is an excellent cook. He also helped a lot in locating restaurants, shops, and hiking trails.
The rooms are so beautifully decorated. Seems every time we visit we find that Linda has added some new touches to them. Comfy mattress toppers, organic soap, loads of currant magazines to read, and a night cap! Nice little touches make this a rare find at a fair price. We highly recommend the Wilder Farm Inn.
Mark and Dorothy from Northeast PA

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hadiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
124
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

We recently visited Vermont and travelled throughout the state, stopping in Waitsfield for one night. Based on other reviews, we decided to stay at The Wilder Farm Inn, and it was perfect! This is an old farm house that has been renovated, while keeping the charm of the original architecture. The room was meticulously clean and comfortably decorated. Particularly noteworthy, was the environmentally sensitive and responsible attitude of the owners, offering organic bath products, serviing organic coffee and tea, and using locally grown and/or organic ingredients in the breakfast. Whenever we travel, we stay in bed and breakfasts and this is at the top of a long list. I highly recommend The Wilder Farm Inn and Waitsfield to anyone travelling to Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We just came home from a visit to the Wilder Farm Inn and Waitsfield, Vermont. This part of Vermont is everything you wish and hope it to be. There are still farms, fields, cows and quaint villages; Waitsfield being one of them.

We enjoyed our stay at the Wilder Farm Inn. Luke was extremely helpful in helping us pick a fabulous restaurant: Millbrook Inn & Restaurant. There were quite a few to choose from for such a small town. The food was all fresh, gourmet and local.

The room and Inn was comfortable and breakfast was delicious with Green Mountain fresh coffee.

Little touches like fluffy robes and hair dryers were certainly appreciated and noticed.

We went into town and rented river tubes from Clearwater Sports. They drove us up the road apiece and we floated down the Mad River. It was really fun cause there were some places where there was some moving water (nothing to be scared of however). The river needs to have had a little rain in order for it to be high enough to do this so check with them first on water conditions so you won't be disappointed. We lucked out because it had poured the night before.

All in all a wonderful trip. Hats off to our hosts!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phantomtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt. Pleasant, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2008

My husband and I just visited the Wilder Farm Inn B&B and our stay was absolutely perfect. We stayed in the River room but peaked in the other rooms and they were all very clean and decorated really cute. The bed was very comfortable with a down comforter and pillows. The breakfasts were delicious (great pancakes and stuffed french toast!!!) and they accommodated my husband who is a very picky eater. Luke and Linda were very welcoming and went above and beyond to make our vacation very special. They gave us great recommendations on places to eat and things to do in the area. (Egans was our favortite; great burgers and giant raviolis!) We will definitely be back when we are in the area again!

  • Liked — friendly and welcoming
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank faithhopelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2008

While vacationing in Vermont recently, we stayed at the Wilder Farm Inn. The inn was beautiful, cozy and comfortable. Luke and Linda, the inn keepers, made us feel right at home. Our room had its own bathroom, an especially comfortable bed, and an inviting feeling. Breakfast was a highlight. Luke is in charge of this and both days it was delcious and hearty. Day one a stuffed french toast, day 2 was a cinamon scone and omlette with vermont cheddar and veggies. All the food is either home grown, or Vermont grown, and always organic. After coming back from a day of sightseeing , we were so pleased to find a plate of home made cookies waiting for us. The common areas were also cozy - complete with fireplace and over stuffed chairs. I never thought I was B&B person, but I would reccomend this to anyone!

  • Liked — the inn keepers
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkeyeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We spent a lovely 3 nights @ Wilder Farm in May. The hosts were warm and friendly w/o being intrusive. Luke & Linda were most helpful offing info on local attractions, food choices. etc. The room was cozy and the bed very comfortable. The setting is lovely, with the scenic Mad River a short stroll away, and picturesque mountains surrounding the valley. Montpelier is only a few miles away. Breakfasts were delicious and so ample that we never wanted lunch. Check out Luke's pottery while you are there.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank kgesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We have just returned from our third stay at Wilder Farm (two in February, one in October). Each visit seems better than the last, but all have been exceptional. With each return, we get the same quality accommodations and comfortable amenities that we have come to count on, but somehow it all seems to get better.

Food is one example. Our first visit was exploratory--we had heard good things, but wanted to try for ourselves. After that stay, we decided that we could not find a better breakfast in the Waitsfield area. Linda and Luke do wonderful things in the morning kitchen and will take special orders.

Which brings me to the best thing about Wilder Farm. Linda and Luke are warm and engaging hosts. Their daughter Jordan helps out. They live in the Inn and are right there if you need them, but you won't see them if you don't.

Our family are husband and wife and two grown daughters so we book three rooms and have stayed in most of them. They all have their own individuality and are well-illustrated on the website.

Wilder Farm Inn is highly recommended.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hgodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.9 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
3.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.7 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilder Farm Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilder Farm Inn B&B

Property: Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Address: 1460 Main Street, Route 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673-4427
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilder Farm Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilder Farm Inn...where farm-fresh meets fashion-forward. We have made a conscious decision to create an atmosphere more appealing to today's traveler. With a relaxed vibe and some fresh decorating, it's apparent that grandma doesn't live here anymore. Gone are the days of doilies and old-time quilts. We have eight uniquely and individually decorated guestrooms which are sure to fit anyone's style. From country chic to hotel boutique, we're sure you'll find a room that's perfect for you! It's all about the food...from preparation to presentation, we take pride it what you eat. Breakfasts are freshly prepared with organic ingredients; some coming straight from our garden and others locally foraged. Our baked goods are made from scratch, and we offer a thoughtful menu featuring a creative culinary flare. What can be better?....it's served to you on Luke's handmade pottery.Our grounds are perfect for reading that book, enjoying a glass of wine, playing some bocce & horseshoes or even taking that well-deserved nap. Our property is also home to The Naked Potter Studio & Gallery, an 1840's post & beam lovingly built by the potter himself.Besides the obvious Vermont attractions, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Ben & Jerry's, the farmers' market, we love to share our local knowledge of those special hidden gems. We are passionate about making your stay exactly what you want it to be, whether its outdoor fun, fine dining, art, etc...we care.Come as Guests...Leave as Friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilder Farm Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilder Farm Hotel Waitsfield
Wilder Farm Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing