We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Eat in The Waitsfield, Warren area”

The Hyde Away Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hyde Away Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A casual Restaurant and Tavern offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible, for creative and healthy fare. Wine list and micro-brews on tap featuring up-and-coming brewers. Friendly, accommodating. Makes you feel at home. Member of the Vermont Fresh Network. Tavern offers pool table, board games, fireplace and 7 flat screen TVs for sports viewing. Late night menu 'til midnight on Friday nights during ski season. Serving locals and out of state friends, since 1987, The Hyde Away is open 7 nights serving food from 4-10 pm. 10 rooms for lodging accommodating singles, families, couples... A great spot to stay and just minutes to Mad River Glen and Sugarbush. P.S. We love what we do!
California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Eat in The Waitsfield, Warren area”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We ate dinner here twice during the second week in October. The food was very fresh, the server was friendly and attentive, the prices were reasonable considering the portions and quality of the food. We felt like we were eating in someone's home and we appreciated that the bar was in another room so that it was not too noisy. Definitely eat here when you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viajara821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so happy that you had a nice meal and look forward to you joining us again. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    79
    26
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A local place with great food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is a locals place. I don't usually enjoy draft beer..however they had a local beer on tap that is one of the best tasting beers I have had that wasn't in a bottle. The food was exceptional and as was the service. The place was built a long time ago. I know that because the floor slopes quite a bit as you walk to your table. If you want to blend in, enjoy great food and tasty beer this is the place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravelerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We are always appreciative when our guests take the time to give us their feedback. Thank you. We've really been working on a crazy good selection of Vermont beers on tap as well as all American wines. Ryan and Nelson in our kitchen are working on bringing the freshest to the table while keeping things affordable. Thanks for taking the time to review. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great atmosphere - home like. The waiter was attentive and the burgers were great. They had a great variety of food choices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traci J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We appeciate your review and are glad you enjoyed your burger. Hopefully, if you're in the area again soon, you can enjoy our stuffed chicken or lettuce wraps we've just added to the menu. Thanks again for coming in. Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Long Trail Friendly”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great restaurant on the Long Trail, close to neighboring ski resorts and a great location for viewing fall colors at their height. Very accommodating staff. Will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainsNOceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HydeHost, Owner at The Hyde Away Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate all you guys coming off the Long Trail and visiting with us. We hope you find a little extra attention that we try to give you. We love hearing your stories and think it's so great that you're up there in that glorious wilderness! Lucky you! Thanks so much! Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A lot of local beer choices and thought there was not a big menu the food was very good. The staff both at the bar and at the table were very nice. Will go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hyde Away Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Hyde Away Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing