We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Have been staying at this Inn every year since 2008. Each spring I travel to Vermont from Canada to ride Icelandic horses for a weekend. The accommodations at the Mad River Inn are fantastic, I have never been disappointed! The food is excellent, the rooms are bright and comfortable, and the inn keeper and his family are delightful. Always a pleasure.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My mom and I spent a relaxing weekend at this cozy inn, enjoying the last hurrahs of winter in Vermont. It was the second time I had visited the inn, and I was very happy with my decision to return. There is a cozy ambiance to the place that makes you feel at home the minute you arrive. The owners are sincere, down to earth people, who are attentive and eager to make you feel comfortable. The decor is charming and tasteful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I love waking up and looking out the large windows into the field and the mountains outside. It's a serene view that makes me smile. The delicious breakfasts are always a treat, as well. I would recommend this inn without a doubt to anyone looking to stay in the Mad River Valley. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Friendly people/comfortable beds/lovely accommodations/great food! We're hoping to stay here again! I would highly recommend this spot for a restful weekend getaway. We really enjoyed the delicious gourmet breakfast! Our cozy room was a perfect size. We enjoyed the family charm and especially our special music treat after breakfast! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the Mad River Inn recommended to us by a friend who's been going there for years to ride the Islandic horses. I was a bit skeptical, as my girlfriend and I had never stayed in a B&B. What a PLEASANT surprise we had! From the cleanliness of our room, to the Hot Tub on the back deck, to the game room downstairs which offers a stereo, woodburning stove, and pool table, we had a super time! Luc is a very nice fellow, terrific chef, and excellent source of recommendations for restaurants, things-to-do, etc..
We will definitely be returning to this gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at the Mad River Inn while on a hiking trip in September because it was the most reasonably-priced B&B in the area with a vacancy. We were DELIGHTED with our experience. The house is lovely, welcoming, clean, and comfortable; the grounds and views are stunningly beautiful; there's an awesome pool table and huge lounge area in the basement that guests can use; and Luc and his family are gracious hosts. Oh, and besides being a cool guy, Luc serves insanely good breakfast. Before we left in September, we decided we had to come back at some point during ski season, so we booked another stay. We just completed that trip and everything was fantastic yet again. Breakfast is served at a long communal table, so some guests might not like this, but during each of our stays we've enjoyed great conversation with friendly people. Seems like the friendly vibe of the Inn gets into the guests, too. They serve breakfast outside when the weather permits and there's also a hot tub for guests to use outside. (We haven't yet experienced either of these amenities, though). In the winter, Luc keeps logs on the fire going in the beautiful living room fireplace. A great experience at a great price. Couldn't recommend any more highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I have been staying here every year for more than a decade. We love the Victorian decor, the comfortable rooms, the warm fire in the common area, the pool room downstairs, and the hot tub on the deck. Breakfasts are delicious and alternate between sweet and savory.

Luc, the innkeeper, is very helpful and friendly. His family is delightful. We always feel very much at home.

We are skiers and the inn is a short ride to Sugarbush, Mad River, and Bolton Valley. The town of Waitsfield has a growing number of artisan shops. We are not shoppers, but are increasingly drawn to the unique items being offered. Local restaurants are quite good, but ask Luc for the latest and the best.

We have stayed at B&B's everywhere, and this is a keeper.

Geo and Cindy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed there for new year weekend and ski at Sugarbush. It's about 15min from the mountain which isn't too bad if you knew up front. Breakfast were amazing. Bed and pillows were not comfortable for me and I didn't get a good sleep (maybe it's just me, but maybe they need to invest in better pillows). Other guests and hosts were pretty friendly and it was a bit like staying at a friend's place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowfusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
312 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
4.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Property: Mad River Inn
Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing