We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I spent a couple of nights and was pleasantly surprised how comfortable the room was and clean. The owners are a bit stand of fish but they warm up and Karen is wonderful. The only negative was the food. Although I appreciate the don't cook meat the tiny amount of food and no choice was difficult to sustain. We had to eat out. As much as I love animals their dogs begging at the table when we ate was unpleasant.
Overall I would recommend as it is comfortable and clean and a safe location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 147Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulevard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Last week myself and three of my friends realized a dream come true to see the beautiful Vermont countryside aboard the wonderful Icelandic Horse. We had a 4 day Trek with Karen at the Vermont Icelandic Horse Farm and stayed with her family (Luc and the girls) at their warm and wonderful Mad River Inn. It couldn't have been more perfect from the great horses, people and countryside to the beautiful Inn. Thanks to Luc, Karen, the girls (also June and the people at the Farm) for a great stay. Great food, beautiful Inn, wonderful people. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Since we were a group of 4 we were given a suite with a shared bath plus another room and bath that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBPT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We've stayed at the Mad River Inn a few times over the past two years, and while it's not posh, it is an excellent B&B for the reasonable rates, with everything we need when staying in the area. The innkeepers allow you to feel very much at home; I don't think I've stayed at an inn of any kind where I felt so completely relaxed, as if arriving at a second vacation home of our own. The breakfasts are outstanding, and eating on the back porch with that lovely view is a perfect departure from the normal weekly grind. And more important than breakfast, the beds and pillows are very comfortable- a critical factor at any inn! Love the family atmosphere and their three adorable dogs, who are among the cleanest and most well-behaved small dogs I've seen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetson_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Have been staying at this Inn every year since 2008. Each spring I travel to Vermont from Canada to ride Icelandic horses for a weekend. The accommodations at the Mad River Inn are fantastic, I have never been disappointed! The food is excellent, the rooms are bright and comfortable, and the inn keeper and his family are delightful. Always a pleasure.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

My mom and I spent a relaxing weekend at this cozy inn, enjoying the last hurrahs of winter in Vermont. It was the second time I had visited the inn, and I was very happy with my decision to return. There is a cozy ambiance to the place that makes you feel at home the minute you arrive. The owners are sincere, down to earth people, who are attentive and eager to make you feel comfortable. The decor is charming and tasteful, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I love waking up and looking out the large windows into the field and the mountains outside. It's a serene view that makes me smile. The delicious breakfasts are always a treat, as well. I would recommend this inn without a doubt to anyone looking to stay in the Mad River Valley. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Friendly people/comfortable beds/lovely accommodations/great food! We're hoping to stay here again! I would highly recommend this spot for a restful weekend getaway. We really enjoyed the delicious gourmet breakfast! Our cozy room was a perfect size. We enjoyed the family charm and especially our special music treat after breakfast! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had the Mad River Inn recommended to us by a friend who's been going there for years to ride the Islandic horses. I was a bit skeptical, as my girlfriend and I had never stayed in a B&B. What a PLEASANT surprise we had! From the cleanliness of our room, to the Hot Tub on the back deck, to the game room downstairs which offers a stereo, woodburning stove, and pool table, we had a super time! Luc is a very nice fellow, terrific chef, and excellent source of recommendations for restaurants, things-to-do, etc..
We will definitely be returning to this gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Property: Mad River Inn
Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing