We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B Discovery”
Review of Mad River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mad River Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Allendale, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B & B Discovery”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I discovered the Mad River Inn by chance this winter and was so pleased I returned twice more. Luc is a very accommodating and gracious host and along with his family are wonderful. The breakfast and homemade muffins are delicious. Luc has been a B& B proprietor for many years and the Inn exhibits that experience and touch. On my last visit in the waning days of ski season he took the time to review his renovation plans for rooms that he wants to keep fresh - he is very proactive as the Inn is already in excellent condition. I look forward to returning next season with my family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Mad River Inn is our favorite place to stay when we come up to ski at Sugarbush. Our kids (age 10 & 12) love the basement with pool table & room to be kids. The hot tub is perfect for after a long day of skiing, the beds are super-comfortable, and the breakfast is fantastic. The best part of the Mad River Inn is the hospitality. Warm & welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend here in February. It was very cozy, our room was warm and quiet and we felt right at home. The breakfasts were amazing and Luc was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the roaring fire, the hot tub out back and easy accessibility to areas attractions all at a very affordable price. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tori r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappaqua, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Luc is a great host and makes you feel right at home when you arrive. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and well maintained. I was in the Peachy Ridgeway Room. My friends were in the Colleen Marie Room. Luc prepares a great three course breakfast which is perfect for a day of skiing. We really enjoyed the muffins and the maple syrup butter.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yoonho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Winter or summer the Mad River Inn's superb! Luc has made us feel at home there for 22 years.
The breakfast menu is the best in the Valley and so hearty before setting out to X-C ski or heading to the slopes. Afternoon tea with cookies is a lovely welcome upon returning late in the day. Sipping tea by the crackling fire is a great way to meet the other guests or just relax before dinner.
Our grandsons have joined us for a round of pool in the rec room during their days off. Great fun as there's also TV. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate.
Summertime breakfast on the back porch overlooks the open fields toward the mountains and is a real treat. Luc's cooking is the BEST. A most relaxing vacation spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited the Inn with high expectations after hearing great reviews from a friend. Luc and his warm Inn did not disappoint. The Inn is very welcoming with just the right mix of wonderful service, comfort, a relaxed atmosphere and privacy. There was always a lovely fire in the comfortable living room and a first class breakfast served every morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stay at the Mad River Inn whenever we ski Sugarbush. When it comes time to plan our trip, there is never any doubt where we will book our reservation. We've stayed at least a half dozen times-visiting as a couple, with our family of three grown boys, with extended family and with friends. We love introducing the place to others! It's Luc's (owner) hospitality and wonderful breakfasts that keeps drawing us back, year after year. The rooms are charming; there is a finished basement with pool table which is always fun to use AND an outdoor hot tub which is hard to find at a B&B. You're guaranteed privacy if you seek it, and there is a wonderful common area (with a fireplace that is always lit) should you want to sit and compare notes about skiing with the other guests. I highly recommend the Inn-you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We've stayed in most of the rooms through the years. All are nice, quiet, clean. Beds are comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
315 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.4 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
2.2 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
208 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Hyde Away Inn
The Hyde Away Inn
#11 of 15 in Waitsfield
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad River Inn

Property: Mad River Inn
Address: Tremblay Rd. off Rte. 100, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing