We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Motorcycle Weekend at the Hyde”
Review of The Hyde Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hyde Away Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Motorcycle ride to the Mad River valley and stayed overnight at the Hyde. Mike at the bar was excellent, the selection of local craft beer outstanding and the new flights of tequila tasting menu was an unexpected but welcomed add on. New menu rocks, try the Mehurons steak with black beans, big as the platter and expertly done to order. Only suggestion: time to upgrade the furniture in the restaurant, the college dorm room look does not do justice to the meals served and theres no available privacy if wanted or needed. Tavern is where its at anyway.

Room Tip: Rooms B1 and B2 or the porch rooms M2 & M3 are the best value choice for stag weekends (either m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a friend's beautiful wedding. This is definitely a great place for families or people just looking for a quiet, friendly retreat in the mountains. It's near plenty of outdoor recreational activities and only about 45 minutes from Burlington.

This place is bed & breakfast style and run by a very sweet family. The rooms are clean, recently renovated and spacious. My friends and I got the Ulla Suite so we could have some privacy between the three of us and it was perfect. The breakfasts were great and filling. There's also a great tavern attached to the inn as well where I noticed some locals tend to hang. I loved hanging out there for a night cap each night.

I can't wait to come back next time I'm in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikumpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I've stayed at the Hyde Away twice now and will be going back again soon. The place is in a fantasic location, cosy rooms great food, bar with a good selection of beer and most of all really nice people and a lovely terrace to sit on. What more can I say!
For bikers it is a perfect destination, great motorcycling roads and once you are parked up for the night there is no need to go out again looking for food or a beer. Put the bike to bed and enjoy!!

Room Tip: I like the chalet rooms (M2 M3) just outside of the main area but with easy covered access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed over night after hiking a week on the Long Trail in October 2012. Great place. You can mail supplies for them to hold and they have hiking rates. It was gorgeous in the fall and the staff was extremely friendly. Would love to stay there again. The next morning thye dropped me off at the trailhead for my next section.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainsNOceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

After driving 7 hours in the pouring rain, we arrived at the Hyde Away tired and hungry. Heading into the tavern for a bite to eat, we were instantly greeted by MK, who gave us a warm welcome and showed us where we would be spending our next few days at the Hyde House. A quick meal turned into amazing blackened salmon and shrimp wrapped in bacon entrees! We then headed to the Hyde House and felt at home immediately! The house was welcoming and we made a cozy fire in the living room! Staying at the Hyde house was a comfort and really gave us that Vermont feel! Waking up to 8 inches of snow in the morning was the cherry on top! The location was perfect, as we were just down the road from skiing. While we dined at several locations, we found ourselves returning to the Hyde Away tavern many times. Again, the food was delectable, the bartenders were awesome ( thanks MK and Bob!!), Margaret and the rest of the staff were always accommodating and the locals were fun, friendly and full of recommendations!! Thank you to everyone who helped make our Vermont stay even better than we anticipated!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azajkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed in 'W3' for a reasonable rate as it was midweek late in day. A clean room with plenty of hot water and a 'real' hair dryer provided. This room is on highway side with some road noise, but after 10 pm its fine, plus there is TV. My only problem was an alarm in the adjacent fireplace suite going off at 1:30 AM, not sure if it was smoke alarm or clock radio. Its helpful having breakfast here if you don't know area and want to arrive on slopes quickly. The dinners are really good here and bar has many selections.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Bergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had dinner with friends (and kids) one night and enjoyed it so much we went back another night after skiing. Good food, good beer and good atmosphere! Will definitely go back when in the area again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizzie3900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitsfield hotels
3.1 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#8 of 15 in Waitsfield
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#2 of 15 in Waitsfield
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Weathertop Mountain Inn
Weathertop Mountain Inn
#9 of 15 in Waitsfield
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hyde Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hyde Away Inn

Address: 1428 Millbrook Rd, Waitsfield, VT 05673-7367
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hyde Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual, comfy Lodging with a legendary Tavern and Restaurant. Since 1987 we've been providing visitors and locals with a "place to come home to." We love what we do and hope that comes across to everyone who walks through our doors. 10 rooms - all different, offering spacious suites to couples and families, the Hyde Away House, and retro ski dorm bunk rooms over the bar. We serve food 7 nights from 4 pm until 10 pm offering the freshest ingredients, produced by local farmers whenever possible. One of the only places in the Valley with lodging, restaurant and tavern under one roof. We love it and hope you will too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Hyde Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing