We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good, not horrible”

Eagles at Sugarbush
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eagles at Sugarbush
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were very excited to visit this resort, but we were somewhat disappointed with our overall stay, to the extent that we left 2 days early. First off, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The property as a whole is well maintained, and lovely. Each unit is essentially your own home. They are freestanding buildings, each with their own one car garage. The unit was clean and well stocked, but in need of updating, and some repairs. There were a couple of broken cupboard doors, window cranks that didn't work (which was quite essential) and VERY squeaky floors throughout. These units also DO NOT have central air conditioning, which is why opening the windows was so essential. There is one ceiling fan in the main living area, and one box fan for each level, which was nowhere near adequate. The upstairs was mainly in the 80s during our stay, which made sleeping quite uncomfortable. There is an air conditioning unit built into one wall downstairs, but it really did nothing but create a lot of noise. It was usually nicer outside than inside the units, as it was always too hot inside them. They also claim to have a heated pool, but is was always freezing, a baby pool, which is a plastic pool from Wal-mart, and WIFI, which never worked and very very few channels on the cable. One night when we went to swim at 7:30, the woman in the office gave me a nasty look, and said she was getting ready to leave. When I told her that they lady who checked us in told me that the "clubhouse" and pool were open until 9, she very curtly replied, "not tonight". She allowed us to go ahead and swim, but she kept looking at us from inside with nasty looks, and finally made us uncomfortable enough that after 20 minutes we made the kids get out and leave. We also had no cell service at all while at the resort, as it is so remote. We were also informed at check in that they were resurfacing the tennis court, so playing tennis the week we were there was out, so there was very little to do at the resort itself. We were made to do a complete check list upon check in of all the linens, kitchen items, and some misc. items all throughout the unit to account for all the items that they claim should be there which was excessive and time consuming. I think they should do an inventory check before guests check in, then they will know what is missing, and whether or not we took something. This is done because the require a credit card, and $200 deposit, in case something is missing or destroyed during your stay, which I have never ever had to pay at any other resort I have stayed in. This made us quite paranoid throughout the trip that we not break or misplace anything, and since we did have items missing from our inventory list, we prayed that they believed it was missing when we arrived, and that we didn't get charged for it. You also have to clean the unit for them before leaving. Clean kitchen, take out all trash, and wash towels. Doing the inventory, own cleaning, deposit, all of it left me with a feeling that the owners and staff are somewhat lazy, and it's not exactly how one plans to spend vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Eagles at Sugarbush
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Somewhat beat interior but not shabby. Design is Swedish/pine, very Vermont. Working fireplace (with a loud fan), wood supplied, you pay if you want more. Enough room for family of 4 and put company on the futon in spare room or couch in living room. No TV in bedrooms, and the 2 in the unit are old maybe 25 inches. Enough channels. No problems with the Internet as others report. Full kitchen but nothing special and cookware and flatware is a bit worn. Place was clean and warm and you cant beat the location. Called office a few times with questions, got voice machine each time. Had an issue with their water, we were warned it was a "boil water" situation but only after we'd been on site 2 days and each of us came down with a painful 24 hour bug. They did supply drinking water but this incident really put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay. This is not the 4, 5 star accomodation we normally trade for, and we had to wait 2 years for it, to boot. Coming up during a non-school-vacation week was brillant (pulled the kids out of school) and no lines at the mountains or restaurants. Of course the slopes were icy except for the very top of Mt Ellen. Nice restaurants in the area and a couple of fun day trips, overall, very low key. PS. Master bed had fantastic mattress! Dry sauna in the master bath was old, beat, and took a long time to warm up - used it once and that was enough.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We have visited Vermont and stayed at Eagles for a week each fall for several years. This is not a resort, but a great location to enjoy the splendors of rural Vermont or winter ski activities. The spacious units are clean, quiet and can accomodate a large family or several couples. The units are not new and visitors should not expect granite countertops and the latest appliances. Kitchens will soon be renovated and roofs replaced. This is not a resort, so there are few planned activities. Be prepared to entertain yourself, which is hopefully why you are in Vermont rather than NYC.

Room Tip: Units 6-10 have best views of nearby mountains.
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnS466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I don't understand some of the negative reviews on this website. We traded our timeshare for a week here and we were very happy with the exchange. we stayed in Unit 9, which was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sauna, den with extra bed, living room with fireplace, full kitchen and dining room, along with an attached garage for parking. The beds were comfortable, all the appliances were in good working order and, although very simple, the furnishings were typical of a ski condo or chalet for the area. Skiing at Sugarbush is only 5 miles away, Waitsfield is a nice little town with shopping and restaurants. Our only disappointment was the lack of snow on the mountain. Would recommend to families with children who want a great place to stay to ski

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We stayed in Unit 15 which was located directly across from the office, common area, very convienent. The unit had a garage (bonus). The unit itself is in need of a remodel. Old/outdated (but clean) appliances, furnishing. This unit can easly sleep 8 and was very spacious for 2. The master bedroom is up stairs and the stairs were very squeeky. No Hottub on site, Large Sauna. Shower water pressure not good. Wood fireplace, No Verizon cell coverage but wireless internet was fast and worked well. Common area has a ping pong and pool table. There were outside tennis court and pool. Location good to Sugarbush ski resort - less than 5 minutes. There are 3 resturants within a mile, a grocery store(closes at 9pm) and a movie Theater. But not much else. If you want to ski sugarbush this is a good spot. Also about 50 minutes to Stowe Ski Resort and just over an hour from Killington.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Syracuse_NYSkiBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have stayed at the Eagles several times for ski trips with our two kids, usually in the early or late spring. OK, here are the positives- these are very well built Swiss/Swedish style chalets with wood interior. They are very well constructed and even in the coldest winter they are very warm inside. In fact the upstairs bedroom can be hot. Some parents may not like the fact that the master bedroom is upstairs and the kids bedroom is on the first floor. Fine for teens, but maybe not for younger kids. When you enter, in the winter you have to come in through the garage because they don't shovel your front walkway or porch. The garage doors on most of the units are broken and do not close, so they are left open most of the time. This means you can't really leave any valuables in the garage

The unit was clean, but noted a few service problems. The coffee pot didn't work and it took some time for them to get us a proper coffee unit. The upstairs shower leaked water into the kitchen, they later told us they knew about this issue and it would be repaired after our stay ended. But my question was if they knew it leaked then why did they put someone in the unit when there was a maintenance problem with that unit. The microwave and appliances are older. The upstairs bathroom has a tub/shower and a private sauna. Again, clean, but not a luxurious soaking tub that you would find in a 5-star resort or fancy hotel.

The clubhouse staffing is very sporadic. For example, I emailed the address on the eagles web site last week and got no response from anyone. I also called their front desk various times throughout the day and only get an answering machine. This leads me to believe that there is no one at the desk, otherwise why don't they answer the phone?

The clubhouse itself is nice and they offer discount lift tickets to Sugarbush. They also have a games room with ping pong , pool and older video/pinball games. There is a racquetball court, an outdoor pool and tennis court.

The location itself is great- it is 5 minutes from the town of Waitsfield and short driving distance to Mad River Glen or Sugarbush ski areas.

A word about internet. The resort told us that there is wireless internet either in the units or at least at the clubhouse. But neither ever worked. It never worked in the unit itself and in the clubhouse it worked sporadically. The only way I could get a reliable connection was to take my laptop to the local coffeeshop or to other public places that have free wireless. In this day and age you would expect almost all major timeshares in North America to have a functional internet. The telephone coverage for cell is also awful. Verizon does not work in the Mad River Valley, so you are cut off from outside contact!

I would not rank the Eagles high for service or amenities, but the units are clean and quiet and the kids enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atomicdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Nice place, Waitsfeild is a true small Vermont town. The town has all the amenities a family would need for a get a way vacation. A Shaws grocery store, a liquor store, a few gas stations, various artisian shops, a few restaurants, and a couple of ski shops are right in town. On Saturday there was a large farmers market. All units are a 2 story 2000 SF free standing house, with a community pool, tennis court, and indoor game room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2Travel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
12.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
20.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,319 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Waitsfield Inn
The Waitsfield Inn
#7 of 15 in Waitsfield
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles at Sugarbush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles at Sugarbush

Address: 169 Eagles Road, P.O. Box 180, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waitsfield
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Eagles At Sugarbush Waitsfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing