We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good coffee, very good pastries”

Three Mountain Cafe
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good coffee, very good pastries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

There was just something slightly off. Maybe it was the charge for refills on coffee (a pet peeve of mine for coffee places,) maybe it was the unkempt tables outside, maybe it was the lack of a bus area to take my dishes back when I was finished - take those as suggestions, I suppose.

Still, the staff was very friendly and the service, even though they were busy, was very efficient and the wait was absolutely minimal. Of course, two of my waits were because I was waiting for refills on coffee (which, if you just charge a little more and allow free refills, you could allow customers to serve themselves. Just a thought.)

In any case, this is a good choice for breakfast - I was completely satisfied when I left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank n3103f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Ct.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ground zero in this area for GREAT coffee among with baked goods, sandwiches and ground or whole bean coffee to go. The owner recommended their own Artisans Turkish Blend and I bought a pound. The car smelled fantastic all the way home. I can't wait until tomorrow morning when we pull out our "French Press."

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank REPE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I love that they display art & photography from local VT artists/photographers. Their food is good. I like their homemade soups. Desserts aren't bad, though sometimes a bit bland or dry.
The service is rather poor. I felt insulted more than once, and I'm not sure why I go back, except that I like the casual atmosphere & antique decorations, and the chai tea lattes. I spent several minutes trying to pay for my meal at the counter while I was ignored or they helped other customers instead of finishing out my order. I generally don't mention the service bcz everyone has bad days, but it was on many occasions with more than one of the employees.

Helpful?
Thank WensThinkingSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
337 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“good food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Tried something new on this trip to wonderful Waitsfield. Very disappointed with the service, you would think this café would appreciate tourists and not make them wait five minutes just to pay. Very frustrating. The sandwiches which were $18, were good, but won't go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“God coffee and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

More of a general store with coffee thrown in; nice atmosphere and locals know how to scoot in and pay for a cuppa without waiting in the long lines of tourists. we didn't mind, and the coffee was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Mountain Cafe also viewed

 
Waitsfield, VT
 

Been to Three Mountain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing