We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!”

Localfolk Smokehouse
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Waitsfield
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Huntington, Vermont
1 review
“WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The worst customer service from the bartender! Vermonters don't treat people like that! I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jhaskins2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great atmosphere, big portions, lots of beer, awesome fries, and great smokey ribs....whats not to like. This local gem sparked our interest upon arriving in the area and we had to check it out. We were not disappointed. Just plain old good smoke house food. Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank billyrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Just Terrible”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My sister and I visited Localfolk Smokehouse last week during our vacation. I must say the atmosphere is nice, but the service is lousy! Thank goodness the restaurant has a tv to watch because it took quite a long while for the waitress to come to our table and when she did all she said was "what do you want?" - no pleasantries, no house specials, no welcoming information about the best dishes or the sauces on display at our table. Yikes.

So when the food finally arrives (my sister and I both ordered BBQ pork sandwiches with grilled veggies (must say the asparagus was a nice surprise), we had to wait and flag down the waitress to ask about the BBQ sauces on the table before we could eat (which, you guessed it, took a few minutes to accomplish). The sauces didn't help the flavor though - the pork was dry, regardless of the sauce. Neither of us finished our entire meals because the food simply wasn't that appetizing. Waste of time and money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micmac1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bar in the valley.”
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Localfolk is a cool spot that draws locals and visitors alike. Draft beer selections are excellent. The BBQ is good and the home made table sauce is addictive. The atmosphere is very rustic. It is an an old timber framed building and the floor is a solid 9" out of level. The big screen TV usually has sports or ski porn on it and they often have a good band on weekends nights.

Helpful?
1 Thank HiRailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewer said, seemed a bit vinegary tasting. Pulled pork was dry. Sausage was fine. Ok for what it is.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Localfolk Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Localfolk Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing