We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1824 House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waitsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1824 House Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My husband and I, and our two friends, stayed here for two nights over the Easter long weekend. We loved it! Sarah and Greg are great hosts. The house is beautiful and well maintained. We enjoyed having pre- or post-dinner drinks by the fireplace. If you are not too tall, the Orleans room has the coolest shower/bath tub featuring a skylight!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    14
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

My wife and I spent two nights last February at 1824 House while we were on a short ski trip in Vermont. Sarah and Greg took care of us. They helped us feel very confortable. They know the area and they suggest us great places to have dinner. The house is beautiful. Good breakfast and everything nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My oldest daughter was Alpine Racing at nearby Sugarbush Mountain for two days. Her team spent the evening at another location so I treated myself and a friend -one of the other team Moms to a quiet night. The owners greeted us happily, toured us through the Inn and let us choose our favorite room. There was a fire in the fireplace where my friend and I enjoyed a glass of wine and some snacks,good conversation. A restful sleep, wonderful breakfast and back out early to shuttle the ski racers ! I would go back many times with friends, family or on my own to enjoy this peaceful, well appointed Inn. Excellent location and very thoughtful owners with great attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed at 1824 House for a ski/snowboard weekend up at Sugarbush. We found the inn on Sugarbush's website and liked the promotional materials and the price, so we decided to give it a try. It was a great decision! The innkeepers Sarah and Greg were super-friendly, and served up some delicious breakfasts and baked goods. Beautiful location, only 15-20 minute drive from the ski slopes. Super comfortable and cozy beds. Fabulous living room with a great fireplace for hanging out in the evenings. We plan to stay here again the next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimhikeclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at 1824 House this past weekend for a ski weekend. Everything about the inn was fantastic. It's the quintessential rustic VT B&B. Saturday morning we left for the mountain before breakfast was served but Sarah took care of us with some delicious ginger pumpkin bread. Sunday morning we made sure to enjoy the full breakfast and it was worth it! Sitting by the fireplace at night was a great way to relax after dinner. Greg and Sarah were incredible as well - very welcoming, fun to talk to, and great at what they do!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xtina828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We weren't here long and left so early we missed out on breakfast, but we did enjoy ourselves for the brief time we spent here. The owners were friendly and helpful and suggested places to eat for dinner. Our room was small, but the bed was huge and comfortable. We are both really tall so bathroom was a little tight for us, especially the shower, but in older homes you have to use the space that you have and be creative. We were really weary about staying at a B&B ever again after a horrible experience in NH a few years back, but we would stay at the 1824 house again if we have the chance. It was comfortable, felt like home and the cookies were great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfergirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the 1824 House last week for a short ski trip. Sarah and Greg, the innkeepers, could not have been more hospitable, welcoming, kind, and generous. They've clearly visited enough B&Bs themselves to know exactly the right way to treat guests and how to make them feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious (especially the stuffed french toast), made to order, and served in a beautiful dining room - complete with tablecloths. We stayed in the Franklin Room. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom included several toiletries (a nice touch, and very thoughtful). The bedroom is on the small side, but that didn't bother us at all, as there's a mud room for coats and boots, a TV room, and a sitting room with a fireplace, books, and games. As another reviewer wrote, Sarah and Greg have set the standard for Bed and Breakfasts. We would absolutely stay at the 1824 House again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filmski84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
3.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
0.6 mi away
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
Wilder Farm Inn B&B
#6 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.2 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1824 House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1824 House Inn

Property: 1824 House Inn
Address: 2150 Main St., Waitsfield, VT 05673-6173
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1824 House Inn resonates with the charm of the past, while retaining the comforts of today. Conveniently located on historic Rt 100, The 1824 House is just minutes to both Sugarbush and Mad River Glen ski resorts. We are proud to offer eight comfortable rooms with private baths, featherbeds, beautiful views and hearty homemade breakfasts. Guests also enjoy our cozy fireplace, wi-fi access throughout as well as a television in the common room. Swim in our clear Mad River swimming hole in the summer and snowshoe or sled our property in the winter! The inn also serves as an idyllic Vermont wedding and event venue. Don't miss our rustic barn or the views from our river-front pasture and hilltop meadow which serve as the property's most celebrated event sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing