We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate experience”
Review of The Waitsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waitsfield Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Waitsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The innkeepers, Vickie and Jon, were warm, gracious and accomodating. I was showed to my room, which was clean, tastefully decorated and had a very comfortable bed that provided two nights of restfull sleep. This Inn is spacious, cozy and picturesque and has all the amenities one would hope for in an inn located among the mountains of Vermont. The Great Room has big, comfortable sofas, a classic fireplace and perfect spaces to relax and read. Jon makes breakfast, and it's amazing. The yogurt parfait with fresh fruit, which includes Jon's homemade granola, and the plate of banana with a warm glaze of brown sugar and the homemade granola were a great start to breakfast. The scrambled eggs, sausage and toast were fresh, warm and tasty. The Inn is conveniently located in Waitsfield, which is a scenic, little town with an historic covered bridge in a beautiful area of Vermont. The Inn is not even a half-mile down the street from where I had a really good massage. I could not ask for more from this visit. It was first-rate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We made the gruelling trip from south of Boston on a Friday afternoon for a weekend wedding. Vicky showed us around the Inn and we instantly relaxed. The breakfasts were spectacular and even though the rooms are borderline in size we weren't there to hang around in the room. Our only problem were the two guys from South Carolina hogging the tv to watch a neutral college football game while the Red Sox were winning game six to get to the World Series. Anyway I would recommend the Inn to anyone headed to this part of Vermont. It's relatively close to Sugarbush for good skiing.....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Staying at the Waitsfield Inn was a dream come true for us! Our hosts were so gracious, accomadating and caring. The delicious breakfasts were a wonderful start to our day. Clean rooms and a homey, relaxed atmosphere greeted us every night. Spectacular foliage, quaint towns and covered bridges made for memories not to be forgotten. Would we go back? In a heartbeat!
Ron and Edna S.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent a week in Vermont for foliage and our stay at the Waitsfield Inn was the highlight. John and Vicky were absolutely wonderful and our room was clean, beautifully decorated and a spacious. The breakfasts were amazing and the care that John and Vickie give make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipewrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Two friends and I shared a wonderful weekend at the Waitsfield Inn the last weekend in September. We shared the Lovilla Suite which was perfect for three gals seeing that it had one double and two twins. The beds were deliciously comfortable and the linens and towels were soft and comfortable as well. The blue bathroom was quite nice although the shower was a tad small but that is the only thing that one could not find outstanding at this inn.
The innkeepers, Jon and Vickie, were outgoing and very friendly. They shared some stories of their pro-bono lawyering adventures from L.A. with us and we agree that being the innkeepers they are now is probably much more fun! Jon's breakfast each morning was deliciously original as Jon made his own granola (to die for) which was put in a parfait one morning and baked with maple syrup and fresh fruit on another. His Portuguese, orange-infused french toast made us tremendously happy and begged for an encore and....Jon's recipe!
You couldn't go wrong staying here if you tried hard. The location is spot on with Warren down the road, Stowe is about 25 minutes and Route 100, in either direction, is a photographer's heaven. We three gals have decided to make the Waitsfield Inn our annual getaway destination and will be returning next September! Thank you Jon and Vickie for your warmth and hospitality!

Room Tip: The Lovilla is great for 2 or more friends and a couple with 2 children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Yes, Jon and Vickie are good hosts and the inn has some plusses. The Great Room, with the huge fireplace, comfy sofas, and reading material is a very pleasant space. The small reading room is also quite nice. The breakfast rooms are spacious and the breakfast is home cooked by Jon. However, the rooms are another story. Ours was VERY small-enough room for the bed and suitcase and a chest of drawers - no room for even a small chair-thus the bed was the only place to sit. When trying to reach my side of the bed, a wall lamp was at the same height as my shoulder and I hit it frequently. The bathroom's footprint was probably about twice the size of an economy bathroom on a 747. But the most inconvenient aspect was the thin walls; we could hear verbatim conversations in the room next to ours, and the people were speaking in a normal tone of voice-expected privacy goes out the window. Lots to recommend the Inn, but we would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had the privilege of thoroughly enjoying our stay with Jon and Vickie. They made us feel so welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the historic decor made the ambiance of this comfortable home. The breakfasts were delicious and the pineapple liquor was enjoyed as we sat on the Adirondack chairs in the garden. It is so convenientto walk to the many amenities in the quaint town of Waitsfield. We hated to leave, but we look forward to another opportunity to visit again!

Room Tip: Ira was a corner suite on the street side overlooking the mountain. Sunny and bright. Very quiet spo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitsfield
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
328 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.4 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#1 of 15 in Waitsfield
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Featherbed Inn
Featherbed Inn
#5 of 15 in Waitsfield
112 reviews
2.5 mi away
White Horse Inn
White Horse Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
162 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mad River Barn Inn, Restaurant & Pub
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waitsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waitsfield Inn

Address: 5267 Main Street, Route 100, PO Box 969, Waitsfield, VT 05673
Region: United States > Vermont > Waitsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Waitsfield
Price Range: £99 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Waitsfield Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waitsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing