We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PowderHound Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Warren
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PowderHound Condominiums
Boston
1 review
“Skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

All the condos are privately owned and some are clearly nicer than others. I stayed at one owned by Hostel Tevere. I checked in at the hostel, Sarah and Giles the owners were very helpful. The condo was clean and the queen bed is very very comfortable. It is only 3 miles from sugarbush so the location is perfect. The bar is comfy and the food is delicious. I would stay again and probably will next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jw543220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

What a pit. This place was terrible. No housekeeping not even emptying the trash and the room was dirty and gross. The room had no charm at all. It was furnished with cheap furniture like a dorm room. I guess they stay in business because they are near great skiing and they get enough saps like us who stay her once before they learn to go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singleandhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warren hotels

Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2008

We stayed in Unit 17 and it was very small but cozy enough for 2 people. It had a small bedroom with a queen bed, a small kitchennette with bare necessities, living room with TV, DVD player, and futon, and bathroom with shower stall. Even though it could have slept 4 people, like I said it was pretty cozy with just us two. It was very conveniently located, being only 20 min from Sugarbush and had a bus to go there too.
Only complaint was like previous reviews: No housekeeping, which was really not that big of a deal except for trash. We had to empty our own trash or else we were charged extra. And the dumpster really was not that close to our unit.
Otherise I would stay there again.

  • Liked — Fully equipped
  • Disliked — No one to take out trash
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2007

I didn't read the previous reviews prior to making a reservation, but I'm happy to say that we had an almost entirely pleasant experience here. We stayed in Unit #48 which is in one of the newer buildings and I think that made all of the difference. It was rated "3 diamonds" by the owners as opposed to "2 diamonds". Since there's no indication on the website that there are any differences in the rooms, I'm glad we ended up in the newer area.

The unit was very clean and had a great king sized bed as well as a very comfortable couch (we didn't check out its mattress) and a single futon that was nice to lounge on. There was a small kitchenette with a fridge, 2 burner stovetop and a microwave. There was a good collection of plates/cutlery/cups and a frying pan and coffee maker, but no saucepan.

While we didn't take advantage of the hot tub, we did look at it and it seemed clean and well-kept.

There were a few negatives which included the definite lack of noise-proofing. Our next door neighbours arrived around 2 am and I thought that they were entering our unit. We could also hear someone singing in the morning. Second, no one ever came to change our towels or remove the garbage. Since we were only there 2 nights and there were extra towels available it wasn't a big deal, but I do generally expect to have some minimum housekeeping done. Third, the drain in the shower was very slow. The other odd thing was that I never laid eyes on any innkeeping staff. The owner was very pleasant on the phone and sent me a confirmation email, but the office was closed when we arrived at 7pm on Friday, and Sunday when we left at 9:30 am (checkout is 10am) there still wasn't anyone there.

The restaurant associated with the inn is excellent (if pricey) and we truly enjoyed our dinner there.

We would consider the Powderhound again, but will definitely only stay in the newer rooms.

  • Liked — cleanliness, very comfortable king sized bed
  • Disliked — the fact that it sounded like our neighbours were in our unit, no clean towels
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank telechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

Went sking at Mad River Glenand Bromely Dec 2005, and couldn't get get a room at the Inn at Mad River Glen. We had a reasonable spacious two room condo. However, nothing in the condo worked well and it smelled like there was a dead animal rotting in the walls. We are outdoor people, and don't need luxurious accommodations, but this was almost unbearable. The place was smelly, dirty, decor old, worn and outdated, and as such, we tried to avoid spending too much time in the room. The new owners seemed nice enough, but were more focussed on opening the restaurant and were indifferent to our comments. They indicated that the previous owners neglected the place and it would take a lot of money to fix the place up.

Their are plenty of other reasonable choices in the area, that I would avoid this one.

  • Liked — It is suitable for families bringing one or more dogs
  • Disliked — Dirty, smelly
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank familyoffour50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parts east
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2006

I don't recommend this place, if you've been lead to believe it is charming and clean. The review we read suggested it was both, but our rooms were less than sanitary and looked as though vacationers had "trashed the place" during ski season. In addition, when we checked out a day early we were told we would be charged for the whole stay because of their cancellation policy, even though the place was clearly not booked up. Not a pleasant experience, all in all.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank pugnatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2005

Well, we came back to Powderhound, and not much has changed, which is good. This place is convienent and cheap. We paid $85 plus tax/night plus that aweful VT tax making it around $95. We stayed midweek and it was nearly empty. Stayed 3/4-3/6/05.
Worst thing about this place is the funky phone system that requires you to have a calling card to call long distance, or call collect (yea right). You might as well leave your cell phone at home. There isn't any reception around here, and that comes from comments from locals too. (There are some rare phones that may find a weak signal when your on the mountain.)

Great guys crash pad in an area with allot of outdoor activities to burn you out, so your not so picky about the accomidations.
That's just what we did, with 2ft of fresh snow greeting us on the mountain for our stay.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzy97, Member, Board of Directors at PowderHound Condominiums, responded to this review, 21 August 2008
The Powderhound Condominium Complex has undergone a lot of upgrades and modernization in units over the past year. While each unit is exactly the same size, units that would be rented have recently been painted, have new linens, furnishings, cable TV, microwaves added in some units, etc. The complex now caters to families and couples who appreciate newly renovated accommodations. It is reasonably priced and very comfortable for a small family. Overall, the complex is striving to offer a pleasant experience while visiting the Mad River Valley. To insure a pleasant stay, guests should request a newly upgraded unit. The convenient location makes it accessible to all attractions in the area. The spacious grounds are quite nice for children. There is a free bus shuttle to Sugarbush Ski Area in the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
1.9 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
0.1 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pitcher Inn
Pitcher Inn
#3 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tucker Hill Inn
Tucker Hill Inn
#3 of 15 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PowderHound Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderHound Condominiums

Property: PowderHound Condominiums
Address: Powderhound Rd., Route 100. PO Box 316, Warren, VT 05674-0369
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Powderhound Condominiums Hotel Warren
PowderHound Condominiums Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing