We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warren
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Friendly service, good skiing breakfast, great location near Sugarbush Mountain. Great place to stay if you need somewhere to crash and have breakfast while skiing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bos7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

Every February some friends and I try to find a really good mid week ski and stay deal in VT. It is an all guys trip so we are generally not too picky about where we stay. I found the Sugar Lodge's ski and stay package on line. It was a great deal at $79.99 per person per night, including lift ticket. So we booked it. When booking, the owners actually saved us more money by letting me know that the mountain was running a $14 lift ticket special on Valentines day and it cost us less to book the first night as a normal night and buy the first day ticket ourselves.
The sugar lodge well exceeded our expectations. It was modern, well kept, comfortable and clean. The owners were friendly and we enjoyed the great room fire. Normally on our yearly man trip, we end up staying at a place that my wife would be unhappy to stay at. The Sugar Lodge is not one of those places. I would be happy to bring her there.
The lodge is also very close to both Sugar Bush mountains and the restaurants in the area are excellent. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We just returned from a 2-night stay at the Sugar Lodge with our 3 kids. It was Christmas week and we were there to ski at Sugarbush and really just needed a place to sleep...this was not the sort of trip in which we were looking to be pampered or to spend alot of time at our hotel. Given this, we were pleased with our stay at the Sugar Lodge. I travel extensively for business and pleasure and would definitely NOT confuse the Sugar Lodge with a St. Regis or Ritz : ) But for a relatively inexpensive room that was large enough to comfortably accommodate my family of 5, close to the ski mountain and with pleasant staff -- we would return.

We stayed in the King Suite which was very spacious (650 sq ft, says the website) with a large open living/dining/kitchen area, large bathroom and large king bedroom. There was a double pull out couch and room for us to put one of the kids on an Aerobed on the floor. We had a separate "back door" with steps down to the parking area which was very convenient for loading/unloading. The full kitchen was decently equipped and I was able to heat up the chili dinner that I had brought for my family and serve it easily.

As others have said, the furniture is not brand new, but it was all in good shape and very clean. We thought the king mattress was very comfortable. I'm not sure I'd like staying in the first floor rooms since they have smaller windows at ground level and might have a basement-sort of feel to them. Our suite had lots of windows and nice light. My one suggestion to the owners would be to upgrade the linens just a bit. Again, while I don't expect 650 count sheets at a simply ski lodge...the sheets and towels were hospital-quality, very rough and the pillows were so very thin.

We thought the cont. breakfast was fine -- just as advertised, we were not expecting a full breakfast and everything we had was fresh and delicious. It would be cozy if they lit the fireplace in the morning too. The evening wine/beer pub room was convenient but could become much more of a gathering spot if there were a few nuts or munchies offered. Chocolate chip cookies offered in the afternoon were fantastic (would love their recipe!). We did enjoy the hot tub one evening and it didn't bother us at all that it was only allowed between 4 - 9 pm. In fact, because our room overlooked the backyard, I was glad that there was no chance of any late night partiers taking over the hot tub and keeping us awake.

The location is great -- just a 3 min drive to Sugarbush's main parking area.

So, in a resort where the one-bedroom condos 5 min away at the official Sugarbush resort cost 3 times as much, we thought the Sugar Lodge king suite was a good value and met our family's perfectly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blondfromBeantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Sugar Lodge is clean, comfortable and quiet. We slept well. Very friendly and helpful people at the front desk. The handicapped parking space we needed was right near the back entrance with no stairs, and we were offered help with our luggage. We arrived on a damp, cool day and although there are no individual heat controls in the rooms, a quick phone call was all that was needed to send some heat to our room.
The nice continental breakfast began our day. Hot coffee, o.j., fresh muffins, danish, bagels, and cereal. Plenty of everything.
Sugar Lodge is in a good location for local things to do and for travel to Waterbury, Stowe, Burlington. Several good restaurants in the area as well.
I expect we will be back again at some future time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsa243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The Lodge is a good value for the price. The room was clean, quiet and simple. If you look at the lodge as an Econo Lodge or Motel 6, you will be fine. This is not an Inn, that is why you are not paying the high price. We found the mattress to be firm which we like. We found Susan and Bob the owners to be friendly and very helpful! In fact the reason I am writing this review is because they were so nice, and gave us tips about where to hike and what to do . We were there 4 nights in August.
We came for a wedding. The rest of the relatives stayed at the Round Barn for $232 a night. We stayed here for $79 an night. You get what you pay for. If you want fancy, go to an Inn. If you want good value, come here. We prefer casual and affordable to fancy and expensive so we felt right at home here. We slept well every night because it was so quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugulinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

My husband and I found Sugar Lodge about 8 years ago and have returned from New Jersey every year since. The location is "as good as it gets" if your'e not slopeside (and paying the price for that) and the accommodations are comfortable and clean. We enjoy our routine of "up early for a continental breakfast - head to the slopes, ski all day, enjoy the hot tub, happy hour, and out to dinner". The owners are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about local restaurant recommendations. We find the value and location to be the best available in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfandskiNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We made reservations for friends who were coming to stay in the area with their teenager/young adults for a few nights. They enjoyed their rooms, the food and the hot tub. The location was perfect and our friends mentioned they would stay there again when they are in the area. Oh, they had cell service too which is a plus for out-of-town visitors to the Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
321 reviews
15.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
16 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush

Address: 2197 Sugarbush Access Rd, Rr 1 Box 73, Warren, VT 05674-9313
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Warren
Price Range: £87 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Lodge is a classic mountain lodge less than 1/2 mile from the Sugarbush Ski Area and Robert Trent Jones, Sr, Golf Club in the heart of Central Vermont. The Lodge offers the amenities you would expect from a larger hotel with the ambiance and warmth of a Vermont Country Inn. With our proximity to the lifts and links with unbeatable rates, Sugar Lodge is the ideal choice for your vacation in Vermont.The Mad River Valley is also a special place in the summer. Escape the heat and humidity and head to the mountains with our cool mountain streams, breezy peaks and the pleasure of our unparalleled culinary delights.Continental Breakfast, Cable TV, Beer/Wine Bar, Free WiFi and Outdoor Heated Pool are some of the modern services that seem to blend seamlessly with the historic post and beam Lodge atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Lodge At Sugarbush Hotel Warren
Sugar Hotel Warren
Sugar Hotel At Sugarbush
Sugar Lodge At Sugarbush Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing