We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There has to be better choices” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarbush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugarbush Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There has to be better choices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed for one night in July for the marathon in Waitsfield. This was the only place that advertised one night stays. It also mentioned that the joint is not air conditioned. What I did not know is the inn is closed during the summer, and only opens up to accomodate the runners. Being closed up for so long made my room unbearbly hot. Even with windows and doors open all night, it did not get below 80 degrees- making for a miserable nigth of sleep. The tv and cable system are circa 1980 and the furniture and carpet are circa 1950. I wish I would have called around to other B&Bs to see if they would take a one night stay. I would hate to stay here during the busy season, the walls are paper thin and the floors very loud. I doubt many guests get a good night sleep any time of year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owltmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
17
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for Saturday night in the summer for the Mad Marathon. The inn was nice. In our room was a queen bed with a twin bed and another pull out twin mattress. The queen mattress was a bit soft and sagged in the middle. The bathroom was a nice size with a heat lamp in the ceiling for the winter. We stayed at the end of the corridor, so we had windows on two walls. Most of the rooms have access to the outside patio that connects to all the rooms. It is convenient, especially if you want to socialize outside. Its works best in the summer, not in the winter.

The room we were in had a door to connect to the other room. I am unsure if there is a lock on the other side, but we were concerned that people in the next room could unlock the doors and come into our room. We were just hoping they wouldn't try it or require a key from the front desk.

The inn is connected to a small grill restaurant that is only open in the winter, so it was not open when we were there. On the second floor, there is a coin operated pool table with a small bar, and a few other indoor areas to congregate. It would be a nice place to stay and socialize with others in your party in this inn.

There does not seem to be a pool or hot tub at this inn. They are in the fitness center up the road but in the summer they close early. I am not sure about their winter hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evildoughboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highland falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

sugarbush mountain is a great place to ski but sugarbush inn is not a great place to stay. the owners/operators of that hotel need to get out the cleaning supplies, paint, new furniture, wall paper, ceiling tiles and new carpeting and get to work because the hotel is seedy and dirty. the carpets are loose and the furniture is stained, scratched, broken and worn out. the place looks like an old nursing home that tries to stay clean and orderly but is steadily sliding backwards. the building's clapboards and the deck railing/flooring on the upper level porch are paint chipped and rotting.

aside from the poor physical condition of the place, there are other problems. there is no staff on duty after about 10 o'clock at night so they leave an envelope at the front desk for customers with instructions as to how to find your room and then request that you call them and tell them that you have arrived!!!! there are no luggage carts and no elevator so if you are on the 3rd floor, be prepaired for the climb up. how would one know if there was an elevator? there are no staff there at night to tell you if there is an elevator!!! the alledged breakfast that is provided is minimal and is often not stocked with enough juice or coffee, let alone rubber eggs and overcooked bacon. furthermore, if you are a skier, don't expect to eat breakfast so you can get to the mountain early because the paltry breakfast provided isn't available until after 7:30 am.

none of this is a big deal in the overall scheme of life but this hotel is way, way too expensive for what you get. we stayed for 2 nights and were told this was a bargain at $120/night! i can't imagine what rate they get away with gouging customers during the weekends. the bar and restaurant ("the grill") are not opened on weeknights. finally, the wifi is hit or miss; sometimes it works and alot of the time it does not. its a hotel that has seen too many tour buses carrying too many tourists and management doesn't really care as long as the bodies keep moving through and paying the overpriced room rates. do not stay here. it is a rip-off.

Room Tip: i wouldn't provide a potential guest directions to the place let alone suggest how to choose a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boomzhighlandfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warren hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

While the room was clean the inn itself could use an update and refresher. The breakfast was pretty lame, the oven is too hot so the scones were burnt -- they should not have been put out in the first place and I suggested they buy a thermometor to regulate the oven temp. The staff was great although I think management needs to review their breakfast ability and/or comments from guests (and the staff which have some good ideas as well but seem to be limited in what they are alowed to do since they are not at the main lodge).
Can't wait to visit again when there is more snow and really experienc the moutain -- mother nature just needs to cooperate!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javajunkie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We loved the inn. It was old but comfortably worn in. Some ugly ceilings, and creaky crooked floors. Breakfast was only passable, and free internet was only available in the lobby.

We had a huge room with 2 balconies. Hotel staff were helpful. We got a flat tire, and they met the CAA/AAA guy to handle it so we could keep skiing.

If you're looking for old charm, and not too picky about the details, you will like it here.

Room Tip: we had roon 322 i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaellToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We just returned from a two night stay at the Inn. The Inn is still closed to the public for the off season, but is available for special events. This event happened to be my husband’s twentieth college reunion. Pros: The staff was wonderful and eager to please. The room was clean and reasonably priced. The Inn had many little nooks and cozy common rooms to spend some quiet time. Cons: the Inn is worn and threadbare in places. The breakfast that was included with the room rate was worn and tired as well. Bottom line? If you want a clean, basic, friendly place to lay your head while skiing, grab a room. If you want new, sleek and fresh, go a half of a mile up the road to Claybrooke, but be prepared to pay for the “upgrade.”

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredandginger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noneofyourbusiness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

After booking my room at this inn, I happened upon the reviews here on Tripadvisor and felt very pessimistic about what was awaiting us. Maybe it's because I had low expectations, but I rather liked the place.
They were very helpful, and the library/common areas were nice places to sit with a bottle of wine and a good book. I kind of liked the decor in the common areas- antiques and old ski equipment displayed here and there. On the other hand, the review about the poor beds was correct. The mattress was not good- however after a day of outdoor activity sleep came pretty quickly anyway.
The morning that we were there there weren't enough people to warrant a hot breakfast service, so we had a continental spread which I normally don't mind at all, but this one was maybe just a hair below average.

The room, including the bathroom, seemed pretty clean to me, and I'm very sensitive about that sort of thing.
Also, a free pass for the Sugarbush Health Club is included for each day you stay. Nice perk.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d0gsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
0.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
3.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 mi away
West Hill House B&B
West Hill House B&B
#1 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pitcher Inn
Pitcher Inn
#3 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarbush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarbush Inn

Property: Sugarbush Inn
Address: 1840 Sugarbush Access Rd, Warren, VT 05674
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarbush Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm and hospitality of our country inn. Choose between a relaxing evening reading in the library or a chat by the sitting room fireplace. Our floors creak and our fires crackle and we wouldn't have it any other way. The Inn features rooms with private baths, cable TV, and breakfast. Dinner available Thursday - Saturday (in season). The Inn is less than one mile from the Lincoln Peak Slopes of Sugarbush, on the shuttle route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sugarbush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarbush Hotel Warren
The Sugarbush Inn
Sugarbush Inn Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing