We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pitcher Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$130
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilltop Inn(Montpelier)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Middlebury(Middlebury)
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$81
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
125
13
7
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
13
7
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutthe general managerwarren storecalvin coolidgerelais and chateauxwine cellarcolonial roommallard roomski roomespresso machinemain restauranthayloft suitedining experiencewood fireplaceoriginal buildingbar downstairs isdirectly across the street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2008

My husband and I just spent 2 nights here and had a lovely time. The staff pays attention to every detail and the rooms are very comfortable. We were in the School room and had a beautiful view of the snow covered area. The restaurant was superb for dinner and the complimentary breakfast was just as good too. The morning coffee and scones right outside our bedroom door was a plus too. The Tracks bar downstairs was a comfortable cozy area with fireplace and game tables to hang out in serving tea in the afternoon and the bar opens after that. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lori256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

I celebrated my birthday at the Pitcher Inn and the staff's attentiveness to service was impeccable from the moment we arrived. Ari, the general manager, was always mingling with and taking care of the guests as needed. We stayed in the School Room, which I highly recommend. Even though the air outside was frigid it was nice to have the balcony off our room to get a breath of fresh air. The bed was amazingly comfy and the bathroom was excellent, with a Jacuzzi tub, rain shower, and additional shower over the tub.

Dining:
The food and wine selection were excellent. I would definitely recommend booking a private dinner in the wine cellar. The wine cellar dinner is quite pricey, but is a great way to celebrate a special occasion. The fresh-baked pastries and full country breakfast available every morning were delicious. On our last day at the Inn, we slept in and skipped breakfast. The staff noticed that we missed breakfast and made a take-away bag of muffins and mini-sandwiches for our trip back. What great hosts!!

Guest Services:

The staff was always willing to make reservations. I would definitely recommend calling the Inn in advance and let them assist you with making dinner and activity reservations, as they have connections with a lot of the local restaurants and activity establishments. We were able to get great seating at several local establishments.

We truly were able to relax and the Inn took care of us. I will definitely return and recommend that if you are heading to the Warren/Waitsfield area that you book your stay at the Pitcher Inn. I’m not sure how anyone could have a bad experience here.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EasternCoastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We stayed at The Pitcher Inn's Lodge Room for three nights. Because we had received a special deal on the room, we ended up paying much less than the $550 advertised nightly rate for the room, and our package included 2 dinners and a wonderful Vermont gift basket. The room itself, although striking and original, was not necessarily worth $550 per night. The bathroom was outstanding, with a steam shower and jacuzzi tub that we loved. I agree with the previous reviewer about the fireplace - they insist, I guess understandably, on lighting it for you, but the staff took awhile to get there and were not well-versed in fire-lighting. If you need to stay connected, this is not the place - the TV was a bit ancient, there was no cell reception, and no public computer (although they allowed us to use the office computer). The food could not have been better. We had dinner one night in the dining room and one night in the wine cellar, and although the service was slow (it seemed this was the case not because the staff were ignoring us, but because they want to give you a lot of time to enjoy your meal), the food was really incredible. The breakfasts were wonderful too. The staff was very attentive, although a little distant as a whole.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank soygirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We were very excited about staying at the Pitcher Inn in Warren Vermont and the property is lovely; however our experience was quite disappointing. They seem to rest on their reputation without follow through. While making our initial contact for reservation information, they offered us a complimentary dinner (knowing our exact booking dates) and then we booked the same dates, they said dinners were not included. When we forwarded their original email showing the terms they had offered (we never asked for this ) they made it out like it was a huge, extraordinary gift that they don’t ordinarily offer, even after seeing their original email offer. We had to email them back several days later asking for a confirmation. Ok, so they are not administrators, we were still very excited about the trip.

We arrived somewhat late (but we had called and told them) and they kindly received us in the dining room and were gracious about it. The Inn and rooms are nice, but not exceptional; children running up and down the halls; coffee service in the hall way was not properly appointed and a confusing espresso machine, without directions, was difficult to operate for a first time user. (I don’t want to have to work for my morning coffee!); bathroom not that well appointed; had to wait for the (bragged about ) fireplace to be lit. They insist on lighting the fireplace, but are not properly staffed and we ended up waiting, a lot; restaurant was, nice, but cold and the wait help was tentative and impersonal and not really of the caliber I would expect in an establishment of this kind (very young and inexperienced). The nights were chilly and they did not light the fire in the dinning room?

Spa was just ok (the upstairs of a house next door?).

Services offered by the general manager when we left, were not forthcomming and promises went on for weeks; no follow up (unless we emailed); no compensation for personal property lost by the manager. This is supposed to be a highly rated, service oriented establishment, but even after they lost our personal items, they did not try to make up for it by sending a gift or any of the typical ways an establishment of their standing would make up for such an oversight. (offer a free night?... we live quite a distance away). All in all, I give it a low “C” rating, especially considering our expectations. Very over-rated, very sub-standard in service. They talk the talk but don't deliver.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Koloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

My husband and I recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary at the Pitcher Inn in Warren,VT at the end of October 2007.

Unfortunately, as luck would have it, we had missed the Fall Foliage by about a week. But that did not deter us from having a wonderful weekend, thanks in large part to the Pitcher Inn.

My husband had booked the Trout Room which is one of the loveliest rooms imaginable - quirky and beautifully appointed.

The subterranean bar is an delightful place to linger and grab a bite by the roaring fire or play a round of shuffleboard.

Nearby towns of Burlington and Middlebury are gorgeous and don't miss Waitsfield just up the road. The windy roads are to die for and we are told the skiing is sublime, with Sugarbush less than 30 minutes away.

If time permits, be sure to check out Shelburne Farms - they have seasonal hours.

The manager of the place, Ari, was a wonderful host and local guide.

All in all, a New England treasure that will make for a memorable trip - no matter what takes you up there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyc345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews