We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gorgeous”
Review of Pitcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pitcher Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Had one night with my wife at the Pitcher Inn and I think it's safe to say we'll definitely be back. Every room is decorated in a different theme (we stayed in the Mallard). Some other rooms were open as we checked in so we poked around a bit. Everything is beautifully done, spacious, and unique. The staff were all wonderful, helpful, and just fun to talk to. Well, except for the bartender at the bar/restaurant downstairs (Tracks). Maybe just a bad day for him. I don't know. But I do know that on a nice romantic overnight with the wife I'm not particularly interested in being told I'll have to wait for my drinks or listening to you complain about your job. We held reservations for dinner there, but changed them to eat upstairs at 275 Main just to avoid the risk of him waiting on us. In the end he probably did us a favor, because the food was superb, and the service spot on and charming. We were both left searching our memories trying to find when we'd had a comparable meal. Breakfast, despite still being stuffed from the night before, was also excellent.
It's always the little things that make me notice a place, and here they just kept adding up. Radiant heat in the floors, the front desk person coming to our room with a map to point out the hiking trails we had asked about before arriving, the coffee and scones put out in the AM in case you can't for breakfast to start, the manager stopping by during breakfast to chat and ask about our stay...
This was just what we needed, and we loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solarchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the Pitcher Inn for 3 nights in October 2012. From our check-in to our check-out, this really was a wonderful experience. All the staff were very friendly and attentive - special mentions for Ari and Matt, who ensured we were well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Colonial room with it's beautiful fireplace, generous bathroom and well hidden TV. We ate in the downstairs Tracks bar twice which was great fun with a huge fireplace, pool table and shuffleboard and had an excellent casual dining menu. We also ate in the more formal main restaurant where the food was also delicious. The breakfast menu is amazing and we particularly enjoyed the waffles. We unreservedly recommend this hotel and hope, one day, to return.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Really fabulous Inn. Beautiful room, comfortable, spotless. Experience was truly wonderful thanks to Ari. He and his team went above and beyond to think of everything a guest might need during their stay. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kara o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful few days at the Pitcher Inn. The Inn is the perfect place to eat and relax! BothTracks and 275 Main were exceedingly delicious. The property is stocked with games and beautiful puzzles that can be completed infront of one of the many gorgeous fireplaces with a scrumptious drink; the best way to spend a winter day. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is such a little gem surrounded by streams, trees and the small town of Warren. Its clean, cute and oh so romantic. It has a fabulous restaurant, and only 11 rooms, 2 being suites. Its more of a couples getaway, but the suites can accommodate a family, 2 rooms, and a living area to watch the fire crackle. Its owed by the same peps that run Winvian, and the ski resort of Sugarbush. If you have money to spend the rooms vary from 450-800 per nite. If its an off peak they will cut you a deal at the least $199. a nite, this does not or ever include dinner. But know that the restaurant is 5 stars and you needn't go anywhere for great food. The Warren store is across the street for some local pickins, and a cute deli for a sack lunch if you going on a hike. The also have a wonderful bar area with a pool table and you can also have a casual dinner there as well.

Room Tip: Most the rooms are romantic but some more than others, The Trout room, and the Ski room. Peak season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

... Which was a real shame, as everything else about the Pitcher Inn was very good indeed. We stayed in the Schoolroom, which was a real hoot: not least because you get to set the questions and write them up on the blackboard. Best hand-writing, mind you!

There is no spa or swimming pool at this hotel, but the location is very pretty and there are some nice towns in the vicinity. Also, Woodstock is just near enough to make for a very pleasant day trip through wonderful Vermont scenery.

Providing a lunch and afternoon tea menu would make this delightful venue even harder to leave.

Room Tip: The website is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gapdecader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Sweet little town in a valley in Vermont. We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon after a long drive, tired & hungry. We travel Relais Chateau properties, selecting them because the quality is usually there & the guarantee of a talented kitchen. I was disappointed on arrival to be told that the kitchen was closed & that we would have to get back in the car & drive, not what I wanted to hear or do. But our friendly innkeeper Dan, I believe was his name, was gracious & helpful. The general store across the street could provide some food. Being seasoned travelers we always have a picnic kit with glasses, cutting board, silverware & we travel with a small ice chest. The general store was a bonanza of culinary heights & they also had a chilled bottle of our favorite champagne in their cooler. We put together a great dinner & Dan set us up outside & put what we bought at the general store on plates & heated up the crab cakes etc. It was a wonderful impromptu dinner.
The room we chose was the 'trout' one, very nice, we opened up the windows to the sound of the stream, very romantic & Dan later lite a fire for us.

A very nice place- the only misstep for us was that we are tippers. We tipped Dan for his gracious help, tip the young man who brought us ice, tip the server at breakfast & left money in the room for housekeeping. At check out we met the very charming Ari & had a wonderful conversation. As he presented the bill, I noted that there was a service charge added to our bill, based on a percentage of the room rate. Unfortunately this was not mentioned when booking, nor at check in. In an other wise nice stay this was a sour note & one that I would think should be noted with a sign at check in or at least mentioned the time of booking. This should not be the last thing one feels when carrying their bags out the door.

Room Tip: All very different & whimsical- if you are lucky, like us, we got to look at several before choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilhelmenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.3 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
328 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
24.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
524 reviews
17.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
1.6 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcher Inn

Address: 275 Main Street, Warren, VT 05674
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range: £329 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a picturesque New England village, the Pitcher Inn and spa provides its guests with the best of Vermont tradition. In each uniquely appointed room, there is a harmony between whimsy and elegance. The restaurant proposes contemporary American cuisine, with regional influences and the areas best-stocked wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pitcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitcher Hotel Warren
Pitcher Inn Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing