We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Hill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Honeymoon getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon. This B&B was, by far, our favorite place to stay during the trip.

Peter and Susan went above and beyond anything we could have imagined. They have small touches that just make your stay that much better. They really know the area well, and will help you get the most out of your trip. They helped us plan our routes each day, they gave us quarters for parking when we went to the shopping area (Church Street), and provided awesome company during breakfast. We enjoyed hearing about the area and their experiences.

We stayed in the Paris Suite and it was beautifully decorated. It was a very relaxing and romantic setting.

Breakfast was delicious. Every morning we had something different, but they always served 3 "courses" - something light to start, the main breakfast, and then a little something sweet for dessert. There were also cookies set out for us during the day.

I would recommend this B&B to anyone, without hesitation. I would love to be able to go back again!

Green Features: They offer everyone a thermos to keep water in, so that you do not use plastic bottles.
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
362
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

A wonderful Christmas vacation. Peter met us at the door and then gave us a wonderful tour of the room and common areas. We stayed in the Paris Suite which had its own entrance and parking spot which was a wonderful amenity. The bedroom had a wonderful view down the hill and a nice sitting area with a fireplace and two wonderful chairs for relaxing. The suite also had Jacuzzi room with a second fireplace. The Jacuzzi was an awesome way to relax after a long day. The common areas included a living room with a wonderfully decorated Christmas Tree and wood stove, a sun room with another wood stove, and a billiards room. Each of the rooms was stocked with a wonderful collection of book and a variety of board games. The Inn also had a wonderful selection of DVDs if you wanted to watch a movie. Speaking of movies, the Inn was wired for HD cable and there were TVs in each of the rooms and the common areas. The inn also had excellent Wi-Fi internet and complementary long distance to anywhere in the US and Canada. Perfect of doing a little work if you need to stay connected.

Every morning Susan fixed a wonderful breakfast. During our stay, we watched her accommodate a variety of dietary needs to include vegetarian and dairy free entrees. Yet she never duplicated a recipe and everything was fresh and amazing. We also were introduced to the breakfast dessert which put every meal over the top. In addition to the breakfast, the dining room was stocked with a warming plate to keep the tea and coffee mugs warmed up. The nice warm mugs allowed us to enjoy a variety of teas and coffees which the Inn kept stocked. The Inn also had a wonderful bar stocked with local sodas (made with maple syrup), locally brewed beers, and wine.

We spent our first full day trying to learn how to ski at Sugarbush Resort which was less than a mile away. On our arrival back at the Inn, Susan welcomed us back and then took all of our wet ski gear and hung it up to dry on a drying rack down in the billiards room. By the next morning, all of our gear was dry and ready to go. The Inn also had laundry facilities in their events barn. This allowed us do catch up on laundry as we needed to.

In the evenings, Peter and Susan provided us excellent directions and suggestions for dinner. On our third night, while we were getting ready, Peter called the restaurants to check on availability for us. We also booked the Common Man dinner package through the Inn and had dinner at the Common Man restaurant on Christmas Eve. The package was well worth the price and the meal was awesome.

On Christmas, we booked Christmas Dinner (Special Event) there at the Inn. There were two other families (parents and adult kids) who were also Holidaying at the Inn. All the guests had Christmas Dinner and it was a very nice family atmosphere. The meal was an amazing dinner that included soup, kale salad, carrots and parsnips, quinoa with cranberries, turkey stuffed pork tenderloins, dessert and drinks of our choice (wine, eggnog, beer, dinner cocktails). Although, we can't spend Christmas here every year, we will be trying to make it an every other year tradition.

Out trip here was amazing. Peter and Susan went out of their way to cater to our requests and needs. The Inn and room were had a wonderfully cozy and intimate atmosphere. It is perfect of a weekend get-a-way or an extended vacation. We did not want to leave. We will be coming back in the fall to see what the fall color looks like and we will be coming back to practice our skiing and to try some of the other winter activities the valley offers. West Hill is worth the trip and you will be coming back for a repeat.

Green Features: The Inn had a wonderful recycling program that included a nicely decorated set of recycling bins available for the guests. In addition, every room had a recycling can.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthTexasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at West Hill House B&B for two nights in August 2013 for a friend's wedding that was being held there. The House and grounds are beautiful and Peter and Susan are incredibly friendly and accommodating. My friend's wedding ceremony was held outside by the fish pond and the reception was in the lovely renovated barn. Both settings were gorgeous and perfect for a wedding. I had a great experience and would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Highland Room, which I loved, but I saw most of the other rooms as well and they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beautiful accommodations and very romantic. Peter and Susan were wonderful and the breakfasts were very tasty. Group dining experience allowed guests to meet other guests in a close personal setting. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmrobert12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

When on vacation, as long as the place I am staying at is clean and functional, I'm satisfied. Generally I spend very little time at the hotel, and most of the time doing activities in the area...skiing, hiking, sight-seeing, etc. But the West Hill house is the kind of place where you feel at home instantly, where the innkeepers make you feel like welcome relatives, not paying customers. The place is absolutely beautiful and maintained to perfection, while at the same time being cozy, warm and inviting. It's a place where you might want to hang out, meet the other guests, sit by the fire, read a book, or just relax.

Breakfast was great, the heating stove in the bedroom we had was wonderful, the bed was firm and comfortable, and the bathroom had a steam room in the shower! I felt as though nothing could have been improved upon to make our stay at West Hill House better.

If vacationing in the vicinity of Sugarbush again, I would not even consider looking for a different place to try out, as it could not surpass this beautiful and quaint B&B, not to mention the warmth and hospitality of its keepers. Thank you Susan and Peter!

Room Tip: We chose the smallest room, as there were only two of us. That was perfectly adequate. Check out t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw no signs of unnecessary waste or extravagance in the running of West Hill House. Beautiful setting and convenient to town and the ski mountain (Sugarbush).
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the West Hill House this week and we already miss the warm hospitality provided by Peter and Susan. They both do an excellent job in making everyone feel welcome. The accommodations were excellent and the food was wonderful. We are already looking forward to our next visit to West Hill House!

If your travels take you to Vermont and the Green Mountains, we would highly recommend a stay with Peter and Susan at the West Hill House B&B!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_HouHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Comfy and cozy are the words that come to mind. Susan and Peter are great folks who had me feeling right at home in no time. The whisky bar was an extra special treat and Susan's breakfasts and cookies were very tasty. Room was spacious and well laid out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pitcher Inn
Pitcher Inn
#3 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hill House B&B

Property: West Hill House B&B
Address: 1496 West Hill Road, Warren, VT 05674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Hill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter & Susan invite you to their historic 1850's home to experience four glorious seasons for romance, relaxation and recreation, stay in one of our 9 luxurious guest rooms or suites, and enjoy a sumptuous 3-course breakfast each morning. West Hill House B&B, a proud member of Select Registry, is just one mile from Sugarbush skiing, golf and health club, and seven miles from Mad River Glen. We are in the midst of scenic Vermont countryside, just minutes from the shops, artisans and marvelous restaurants of Warren and Waitsfield, Vermont. One of the only properties in the area that provides high definition digital cable TVs and fiber connected high-speed WiFi in every guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Hill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hill House B&B Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing