We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Hill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
“Amazing B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I recently visited West Hill House to do some snowboarding in the area. The entire trip was wonderful and made that much better by Peter and Susan! We stayed in the Logan Suite, which is set away from the main house in the barn across the street. If you have the opportunity you must stay in the Logan Suite, it is spacious, clean, and inviting, great for a romantic weekend!

The entire B&B, the original section and new sections, was designed in a rustic style that we absolutely loved! There were plenty of fireplaces, chairs, and books for a nice evening in. Peter and Susan were very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and attraction - giving us a detailed map to tour areas with the best scenic routes and the best places to eat!

Their breakfasts were delicious and hearty, exactly what we needed before a day of snowboarding. Conversation flowed easily with all the other guests making breakfast that much more enjoyable. I must also mention the warm coffee mugs is a great touch!

This was our first stay at a B&B and after such an amazing experience I'm not sure we could go back to staying at hotels!

Peter and Susan, thank you again for helping to make our vacation that much better!

Room Tip: The Logan Suite is not attached to the main house so it provides some extra privacy. There are no ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
362
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I and two friends spent the weekend at West Hill House B&B--what a beautiful house and our hosts, Peter, Susan, Snowball and Smokey couldn't have been any nicer. The rooms are really unique and so very comfortable--we couldn't have been more satisfied.
Susan's breakfast was absolutely wonderful and we enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests who were also very interesting and informative--even met a couple whose family lived in the same town in Maine as my niece--small World!
Overall, a really nice weekend and would highly recommend to anyone going to the Warren area--we will surely come back--I can't imagine any other inn could top West Hill House!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a good one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHIEF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Susan and Peter and West Hill House. They room was exactly as described and the common areas were equally warm and inviting. Breakfast was delicious every morning. And Peter and Susan served as perfect advisors for things to do from making dinner reservations to driving routes to ski runs at Mt Ellen.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Peter and Susan have nailed it here! Every other review couldn't have been more right about this place! It's situated tucked away on the side of a mountain road with rolling pastureland, and about 4 min drive from Sugarbush mountain and a bunch of top-tier restaurants and bars. Peter and Susan are incredibly hospitable and welcoming. Their rooms are charming, extremely clean, and well-prepared for guests. Beds are lovely too! They allow free reign of their large home with multiple sitting areas and fireplaces aplenty! Breakfast was to die for- very delicious food home-made by Susan! Their honor bar was a very welcome addition to our time there as well. As Susan said " You won't go broke, I won't get rich." We loved our time there, and would absolutely recommend it to others! Personally, we stayed in the Logan Suite and the hot tub in the bathroom was really fabulous! Thank you Susan and Peter for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APeloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We just returned from another wonderful stay at the West Hill House! We were up for some skiing as well as participating in a ski history event at Mad River Glen. Peter and Susan's service and dedication to hospitality is unmatched! We compare all of our visits to other B and B's to West Hill, and none can match it. From the delicious breakfasts, warm cozy rooms, conversations with other guests, and the little things like warm mugs for your morning coffee, West Hill sets the gold standard.

Located in the heart of ski country, there are many choices for downhill adventure, from classic skiing at Mad River Glen to long cruising runs at Sugarbush. West Hill is very convenient to both.

We can't wait to go back on another ski trip or for some hiking in the summer.

Room Tip: The Garden Room where we stayed had its own private entrance and parking space. Excellent steam show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
347 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Staying at West Hill House was like being at home while on vacation. We were there for three nights during a cold snap where nights were around 15-below and the days hovered around zero. We stayed in the Mountain Room, where the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the gas stove kept the room nice and toasty. Even when the stove was not on, there were no drafts anywhere. The room and bath were clean and had all the conveniences of home. Other areas of the B&B, the various living and sitting rooms, were equally as charming and comfortable to spend time reading, watching TV or playing games.
Peter and Susan were the ideal hosts. It's quite obvious they love what they do. They doled out just the right amount of friendliness and conversation while giving you enough space and privacy to relax. Breakfast was delicious every day, including a special treat of breakfast "dessert." Coffee, herbal teas, soft drinks and light snacks were available at all hours. Sitting around the dining table after breakfast with Peter, Susan and the other guests, with conversations about local history, things to do, a smidge of politics, and what others planned for the day was enjoyable and relaxing.
The B&B is less than a mile from the base lodge at Sugarbush. Although we did not take advantage of the free shuttle that could bring us back and forth, it was an easy drive to the mountain. When not skiing (way too cold to ski more than one day), we enjoyed exploring Warren and Waitsfield and had lunch and dinners at several wonderful restaurants, most exclusively using locally grown or raised ingredients. Peter and Susan have all the info and advice you need to explore the local sights, including menus for all the restaurants.
Bottom line, when we want to go to Sugarbush again or just enjoy northern VT's beauty, this is THE place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

this holiday was just wonderful, the rooms are very nice and give to the place a magical atmosphere.
the big surprise were the breakfasts prepared by Susan, the best ever tested. I will go Back again !
thank you Peter and Susan !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pitcher Inn
Pitcher Inn
#3 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hill House B&B

Property: West Hill House B&B
Address: 1496 West Hill Road, Warren, VT 05674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Hill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter & Susan invite you to their historic 1850's home to experience four glorious seasons for romance, relaxation and recreation, stay in one of our 9 luxurious guest rooms or suites, and enjoy a sumptuous 3-course breakfast each morning. West Hill House B&B, a proud member of Select Registry, is just one mile from Sugarbush skiing, golf and health club, and seven miles from Mad River Glen. We are in the midst of scenic Vermont countryside, just minutes from the shops, artisans and marvelous restaurants of Warren and Waitsfield, Vermont. One of the only properties in the area that provides high definition digital cable TVs and fiber connected high-speed WiFi in every guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Hill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hill House B&B Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing