We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect weekend: lovely people, lovely house, lovely Vermont!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Hill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing weekend at West Hill House. Susan and Peter made us feel so welcome. They take every measure to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay, even driving us to dinner one night so we could enjoy a few glasses of wine. Delicious breakfast, great conversation, warm fire, homemade cookies anytime of day or night! Will definitely return and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on an extended 4 day weekend over the recent Presidents Day weekend. Our hosts Peter and Susan MacLaren could not have been more accommodating. The room "The Highlander" was very, very nice and the breakfasts were also very, very good. If there was something that our hosts could help you with from ski tickets, to recommendations and reservations at some of the areas best restaurants; the "Common Man" and "Peasant" to name
two. My wife is not a skier, so the innkeepers provided both of us with snowshoes which on the newly fallen 20+ inches of snow provided us with a wonderful afternoon. Also, the next day the innkeepers directed us to a walkable nearby hill and provided us with some sleds, "Mad River Rockets", these are definitely a must try for the uninitiated. The whole 4 days were as relaxing a time as one could have and the both the West Hill House and the innkeepers should be visited by anyone looking for a first class trip.

Room Tip: Everyroom that I saw in the inn was exceptional. A website for the inn shows them all in detail. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I had a fabulous Valentine's Day stay at the West Hill House B&B, thanks to the innkeepers, Peter and Susan MacLaren. If there's one thing that will affect the quality of a vacation, it's the manner in which those in charge treat you. Peter and Susan provided a level of friendliness, accommodation, and attention to detail beyond anything we'd experienced before. Their B&B is loaded with charm and everything is very well thought out, such as ways of summoning them when you need them and helpful little signs on how to do things. The 3 common areas are spacious and spread out, yet cozy, warm, and very comfortable. Breakfast was super delicious and included breakfast dessert, a great idea! They kept snacks and treats replenished throughout the inn and the honor-system bar was well stocked with local brews and a nice selection of spirits, including a fine array of single malts. The location is ideal for alpine skiing and all manner of activities in the valley. We can barely wait until our next visit with the MacLarens!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I recently visited West Hill House to do some snowboarding in the area. The entire trip was wonderful and made that much better by Peter and Susan! We stayed in the Logan Suite, which is set away from the main house in the barn across the street. If you have the opportunity you must stay in the Logan Suite, it is spacious, clean, and inviting, great for a romantic weekend!

The entire B&B, the original section and new sections, was designed in a rustic style that we absolutely loved! There were plenty of fireplaces, chairs, and books for a nice evening in. Peter and Susan were very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and attraction - giving us a detailed map to tour areas with the best scenic routes and the best places to eat!

Their breakfasts were delicious and hearty, exactly what we needed before a day of snowboarding. Conversation flowed easily with all the other guests making breakfast that much more enjoyable. I must also mention the warm coffee mugs is a great touch!

This was our first stay at a B&B and after such an amazing experience I'm not sure we could go back to staying at hotels!

Peter and Susan, thank you again for helping to make our vacation that much better!

Room Tip: The Logan Suite is not attached to the main house so it provides some extra privacy. There are no ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I and two friends spent the weekend at West Hill House B&B--what a beautiful house and our hosts, Peter, Susan, Snowball and Smokey couldn't have been any nicer. The rooms are really unique and so very comfortable--we couldn't have been more satisfied.
Susan's breakfast was absolutely wonderful and we enjoyed having breakfast with the other guests who were also very interesting and informative--even met a couple whose family lived in the same town in Maine as my niece--small World!
Overall, a really nice weekend and would highly recommend to anyone going to the Warren area--we will surely come back--I can't imagine any other inn could top West Hill House!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a good one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHIEF9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about Susan and Peter and West Hill House. They room was exactly as described and the common areas were equally warm and inviting. Breakfast was delicious every morning. And Peter and Susan served as perfect advisors for things to do from making dinner reservations to driving routes to ski runs at Mt Ellen.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Peter and Susan have nailed it here! Every other review couldn't have been more right about this place! It's situated tucked away on the side of a mountain road with rolling pastureland, and about 4 min drive from Sugarbush mountain and a bunch of top-tier restaurants and bars. Peter and Susan are incredibly hospitable and welcoming. Their rooms are charming, extremely clean, and well-prepared for guests. Beds are lovely too! They allow free reign of their large home with multiple sitting areas and fireplaces aplenty! Breakfast was to die for- very delicious food home-made by Susan! Their honor bar was a very welcome addition to our time there as well. As Susan said " You won't go broke, I won't get rich." We loved our time there, and would absolutely recommend it to others! Personally, we stayed in the Logan Suite and the hot tub in the bathroom was really fabulous! Thank you Susan and Peter for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APeloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
1.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
326 reviews
16 mi away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,405 reviews
2 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hill House B&B

Address: 1496 W Hill Rd, Warren, VT 05674-9583
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range: £126 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Hill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter & Susan invite you to their historic 1850's home to experience four glorious seasons for romance, relaxation and recreation, stay in one of our 9 luxurious guest rooms or suites, and enjoy a sumptuous 3-course breakfast each morning. West Hill House B&B, a proud member of Select Registry, is just one mile from Sugarbush skiing, golf and health club, and seven miles from Mad River Glen. We are in the midst of scenic Vermont countryside, just minutes from the shops, artisans and marvelous restaurants of Warren and Waitsfield, Vermont. One of the only properties in the area that provides high definition digital cable TVs and fiber connected high-speed WiFi in every guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Hill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hill House B&B Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing