We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, rejuvenating and romantic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Hill House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Hill House B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Warren B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, rejuvenating and romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

wonderful stay! it was so nice to wake up so close to the slopes of sugarbush. We loved our stay... it was incredibly quiet and relaxing. Our hosts were welcoming, friendly and wonderful cooks. We definitely recommend West Hill and are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Owner at West Hill House B&B, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our quiet and relaxing B&B, and the wonderful breakfasts! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
362
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Really an incredible experience. Peter and Susan do a spectacular job of creating a welcoming environment. The room was comfortable and clean and the attention to detail was the best I have experienced. Only a minute drive to the base of Sugar Bush, I would highly recommend this B & B to skiers or anyone just looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at West Hill B & B while on a ski vacation. It was a very short drive to the base of the ski hill, don't even think it took 5 minutes, and the home, much to my pleasure was on a very quiet road. We live in a big and noisy city so I really appreciated the silence at night. We stayed in the Wildflower Room which has a very comfortable king-sized bed and a cozy gas fireplace. But what made our stay very special was the care and attentiveness of Susan and Peter. The breakfasts Susan prepares are always creative and delicious. I loved her date scones and German pancakes! Peter was helpful in making dinner reservations for us in advance and helping us wtih directions. We were really made to feel at home at their B &B. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalinaZ-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently spent 5 nights in the Allen room at West Hill House and highly recommend it as a base for a ski vacation. Other reviewers comment enthusiastically about the hosts and we could not agree more. They are warmly welcoming, hospitable, friendly, engaging, The website accurately displays the charms of the house and its amenities. It is ideal as a base for a ski holiday and there is no need to stay at the Sugarbush base for what might be ski in, ski out. West Hill House is a mile from the parking lot on a well tended paved road. We saw no great benefit to staying at the base lodge which has few amenities and restaurants and where the price differential was substantial. We skied Lincoln 2.5 days and then found Mad River Glen for 1.5 days which was a real treat. As intermediate skiers, it sounded intimidating with its "ski it if you dare" mantra but there was plenty of cruising runs with no snowboarders and an uncommercialized feel that made it very appealing. We got our ski rentals at Alpine Options on the Sugarbush Access Road. Unexpectedly reasonable for 4 days. Peter and Susan had very good recommendations on dining in the area and again, the driving around is easy. There are essentially three roads that take you everywhere and you are no more than 10 minutes to wherever you want to go including Waitsfield. So, if your inclination is to stay at the base of the mountain, think again. West Hill House is an ideal place to stay and Peter and Susan are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I had an amazing weekend at West Hill House. Susan and Peter made us feel so welcome. They take every measure to ensure their guests have a wonderful stay, even driving us to dinner one night so we could enjoy a few glasses of wine. Delicious breakfast, great conversation, warm fire, homemade cookies anytime of day or night! Will definitely return and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn on an extended 4 day weekend over the recent Presidents Day weekend. Our hosts Peter and Susan MacLaren could not have been more accommodating. The room "The Highlander" was very, very nice and the breakfasts were also very, very good. If there was something that our hosts could help you with from ski tickets, to recommendations and reservations at some of the areas best restaurants; the "Common Man" and "Peasant" to name
two. My wife is not a skier, so the innkeepers provided both of us with snowshoes which on the newly fallen 20+ inches of snow provided us with a wonderful afternoon. Also, the next day the innkeepers directed us to a walkable nearby hill and provided us with some sleds, "Mad River Rockets", these are definitely a must try for the uninitiated. The whole 4 days were as relaxing a time as one could have and the both the West Hill House and the innkeepers should be visited by anyone looking for a first class trip.

Room Tip: Everyroom that I saw in the inn was exceptional. A website for the inn shows them all in detail. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I had a fabulous Valentine's Day stay at the West Hill House B&B, thanks to the innkeepers, Peter and Susan MacLaren. If there's one thing that will affect the quality of a vacation, it's the manner in which those in charge treat you. Peter and Susan provided a level of friendliness, accommodation, and attention to detail beyond anything we'd experienced before. Their B&B is loaded with charm and everything is very well thought out, such as ways of summoning them when you need them and helpful little signs on how to do things. The 3 common areas are spacious and spread out, yet cozy, warm, and very comfortable. Breakfast was super delicious and included breakfast dessert, a great idea! They kept snacks and treats replenished throughout the inn and the honor-system bar was well stocked with local brews and a nice selection of spirits, including a fine array of single malts. The location is ideal for alpine skiing and all manner of activities in the valley. We can barely wait until our next visit with the MacLarens!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warren
4.6 mi away
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
The Inn at Round Barn Farm
#1 of 3 in Waitsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sugar Lodge at Sugarbush
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge
The Warren Lodge
#2 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pitcher Inn
Pitcher Inn
#3 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sugartree Inn
The Sugartree Inn
#4 of 7 in Warren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hill House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hill House B&B

Property: West Hill House B&B
Address: 1496 West Hill Road, Warren, VT 05674
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Warren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Warren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Hill House B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter & Susan invite you to their historic 1850's home to experience four glorious seasons for romance, relaxation and recreation, stay in one of our 9 luxurious guest rooms or suites, and enjoy a sumptuous 3-course breakfast each morning. West Hill House B&B, a proud member of Select Registry, is just one mile from Sugarbush skiing, golf and health club, and seven miles from Mad River Glen. We are in the midst of scenic Vermont countryside, just minutes from the shops, artisans and marvelous restaurants of Warren and Waitsfield, Vermont. One of the only properties in the area that provides high definition digital cable TVs and fiber connected high-speed WiFi in every guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your West Hill House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Hill House B&B Warren, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing