We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and accommodations, great hosts, yummy breakfasts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Washington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My kids (11 and 14), my mom and myself really enjoyed Grand View Farm. It was a really beautiful location, and the dirt roads were very well maintained especially since it was muddy spring season. Both bedrooms and the sitting room were sparkling clean and beautifully decorated. The food was delicious, and you could help as much or as little as you want. The animals are not just well taken care of but loved. Kim's yarn was beautiful, and we all took a felting class we loved!! It couldn't have been any better. Thank you Kim and Chuck!'

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirinim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

What a delight to share our farm and fiber studio with this family! Upon making their reservation, this family requested a custom fiber class. Each family member chose a felting project to work on while here at the farm. After a 2 hour lesson, they were free to work at a leisurely pace on their projects throughout the remainder of their stay.

This family chose to stay close to the farm for most of the week. Bringing work boots with them, this family enjoyed helping with chores and tasks that needed to be done. They helped us in the greenhouse one day, as we reworked the planting beds, and helped keep close watch on our ewes that were soon to deliver. When not doing chores, they enjoyed relaxing and reading books!

Our little kitchen area was put to hard use this week as they had come prepared to make their lunches and some dinners here. The microwave oven came in handy to heat soups and dinners. The small refrigerator was perfect for storing their food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our family of four from Boston enjoyed every moment of the Easter long weekend @ the Goodling farm....lovely breakfast, warm farmhouse rooms, Sugar Maple bucket checking & collecting, maple syrup making, fresh syrup on snow & more syrup on waffles, watching the farm animals, snowshoeing in the woods, and grand views....hosts Kim & Chuck couldn't have been more welcoming and gracious....a wonderful time.....we will be back!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank 670patrickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

April is a busy time on our farm, with maple sugaring into the late night hours, and new lambs arriving. Early spring guests enjoy sitting in our tiny "sugar house", helping collect sap from the buckets, and waiting and watching for lambs to be born. We enjoyed hosting this family and appreciated all of their interest and enthusiasm for all that we do here at Grand View Farm!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed one night the owners Kim and Chuck took us to meet thier sheep and pet them along with feeding thier pigs, we opted for Kim to fix dinner for us it was so good indeed, it was not part of the reservation put well worth it indeed.
Would stay here again they have guests that used a sheep to help do a wedding proposal guests have stayed as far away as Austrilia.

Room Tip: There is only two rooms with a shared bahtroom, my aunt and I were the only guests tht night, we sta...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeldab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

We always enjoy it when our guests join us for chore time! There is no better way than doing chores to meet the animals up close and to learn about all that is involved in caring for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Grand View Farm for two nights and really enjoyed it. Kim and Chuck were lovely hosts and the room we stayed in was comfortable and clean. We slept very soundly at night amid the silence of the countryside. A highlight was being able to spend time with the animals during chores. The scenery and views were beautiful while the location was good for a day trip to Woodstock. Kim cooked us breakfast and dinner twice and all of these meals were quite delicious. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone who wants to a comfortable Vermont farm experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Being centrally located within the state, makes it easy to tour both the southern and northern reaches of VT while staying in one location. The quaint village of Woodstock is just a 50 minute drive away. There, you can enjoy window shopping, a variety of cafes, and touring the Rockefeller Mansion and Billings Farm & Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We loved our stay at the Grand View Farm, and had a wonderful time playing and enjoying all the farm has to offer. Our hosts, Chuck and Kim, are lovely and very accommodating for a young family. When we first arrived, Chuck took us on a tour of the farm, so our boys could see the animals up close. The farm currently has 12 sheep, 2 alpacas, 4 pigs, chickens, 1 angora rabbit, 1 very playful and friendly dog, and 2 adorable kittens. The boys loved being able to feed the chickens and collect the eggs, help prepare the pig food, and would have spent all day playing with the dog and cats if we weren't going out. For safety, guests are asked not to enter the pastures alone, but you can certainly see all the animals from the fence.

The farmhouse suite was charming, and very comfortable, with a small fridge and dishes provided for your use. You can use the outdoor grill to cook if you want to. There are lots of nice places to sit and relax outside, and a cozy wood-stove for cold evenings inside. Kim made a delicious breakfast every morning, and was kind enough to make my boys their favorite breakfast foods by special request. The farm uses their own eggs, maple syrup, pork sausage and bacon and they are yummy!

The location is a little of the beaten track, so it is definitely wise to arrive during daylight hours the first time. After that, we had no trouble finding our way around the area though. There are a lot of charming farms and villages to visit in Vermont, with local produce, and good eats to be had. We had a great time here, and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book the entire suite for privacy. There is only one bathroom for the two rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Many of our guests enjoy the peaceful, remote feeling of our farm. Here, you get a taste of true rural Vermont living with dark starlit nights, dirt roads, fields, and paths through the woods. We are located 4 miles from the village of Chelsea, which is centrally located within the state, making outings to tourist areas easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We can't say enough about how great Grand View Farm B & B is. Our 1770s room and attached living room were lovely, pristine, and equipped with modern conveniences while retaining historic charm. The pastures, woods, llamas, sheep, garden, and other aspects of this working fiber farm were truly lovely. Breakfast largely from the farm was delicious and well prepared. We enjoyed exploring tiny classic Vermont towns and covered bridges. Wonderful wonderful wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

This couple chose to stay off the beaten path, and tour some of Vermont's small, quaint villages. We are surrounded by small historic towns. Each one has its own charm, tree lined commons, little white churches, and old capes. You will not find stoplights, strip malls, chain restaurants, or big box stores in these villages. Instead, you will see covered bridges, farms, farm stands along the road, and native Vermonters at work and play.

Vermont Route 110, runs directly through the village of Washington where our farm is located. It is well known as one of the most scenic drives in the state. Lovely farms, open fields, and numerous covered bridges follow Rt. 110, as it winds through the valley, along the river.

My husband prepared this couple's breakfast using our own eggs, vegetables, and sausage. He is a wonderful chef and loves giving a tour of our farm to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our family had a terrific stay at Vermont Grand View Farm and we look forward to many more visits! As B&B owners we don't get away often but always look for a unique B&B experience when we do travel. We have 3 boys so often this is difficult because many B&Bs don't accommodate children. Vermont Grand View Farm is ideal for children. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the kitchenette is a fabulous bonus (as a mom of 3 we always travel with snacks and drinks), and there is plenty of room for the boys to run and explore. Our boys were thrilled immediately upon arrival to meet Tess (resident Border Collie) they had been missing our dog greatly and were excited to have some dog company. Tess is very accommodating in this department, she's a sweetheart who loves to play. We enjoyed all the animals and the serene beautiful soundings greatly. As a long time knitter I always enjoy being in the company of sheep and always find people who keep sheep to be amongst the nicest people I know. The Goodling family is no exception. Kim and Chuck, along with their children, are the perfect hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the area and were helpful in guiding us where to go. We went to a fantastic flea market in Chelsea and found many treasures to take home. Another highlight of our stay was a lovely picnic and outdoor Vermont Symphony Orchestra concert. Although there is much to do in the area I would have been very happy to have spent all my time on the front porch knitting and taking in the view. Breakfast on the porch was very special. We enjoyed delicious fresh eggs from their hens and homemade sausage, we also had waffles and yogurt with local berries. The maple syrup of course is home made, I would expect no less from a Vermont farm. If you are a fiber lover, I highly recommend the Goodling's farm raised yarns from their flock of Romney sheep. Knitted items are alway more special to me when I know the sheep and the people who raise them. When I knit with Vermont Grand View Farm yarns I will aways think of the beautiful hillside spotted with happy sheep. I was thrilled when our eldest son chose a college in nearby Randolph VT. I look forward to visiting him often and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere other than Vermont Grand View Farm.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveswool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim G, Owner at Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

It is always a treat to have knitters visit our farm, as they have a very special appreciation for our work as shepherds! We look forward to hosting this family at our farm for many years to come.

The Chelsea Flea Market usually occurs the second weekend of July. People come from miles away to meander through the many antique vendors. You will find old tools, dishes, jewelry, linens, books, and furniture. Every year, I find something useful to bring home with me. This year, upon the suggestion of a B&B guest, I bought an antique bedside table for our Rooster bedroom!

The Vermont Symphony Orchestra performs outdoor concerts throughout the state during the summer months. Randolph hosts the concert which falls close to July 4th. Folks pack a picnic dinner, and take a blanket to lay on the lawn and listen to the music under the stars. The performance always ends with fireworks! It is a family favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vermont Grand View Farm and Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1638 Scales Hill Rd, Washington, VT 05675-7072
Region: United States > Vermont > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience rural farm life on VT Grand View Farm. We invite you to come and stay in our 18th-century farmhouse on our hill side sheep farm in Vermont. Our farm offers beautiful views, quiet pastures with sheep grazing, pleasant country roads, wild flowers, and a lovely covered porch to relax on. We are located on a quiet dirt road, in a rural farming community, four miles outside of town. Our Farmhouse Suite is perfect for reunions, couple get-a-ways, and gatherings with family and friends. Two bedrooms with antique four poster beds await you. Wake to a full breakfast and relax in a private sitting area or porch over looking the mountains. Have use of a kitchenette, which provides a sink, refrigerator, microwave oven,and dishes. There is an outside grill with an additional side burner for our guests to use as well. You may also request a Farmhouse Dinner for an additional fee. We offer fiber arts classes and summer camps for children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing