We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't waste your money here”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After finding this B and B online, and reading the reviews, we were really excited to stay here. Having read the rooms were decorated with fine antiques, we were quite surprised to find the furniture in our room anything but. Shabby chic cannot even describe it. Shabby yes and dusty and the room smelled funky and was masked by a room spray. The owners barely spoke to the guests and,the only one who even was remotely pleasant, was the woman who took our breakfast order in the morning. The breakfast bar did not look anything like what was pictured, but I have to admit the breakfast was good. The front parlor looked like it hadn't been dusted in months and dirty newspaper littered the floor to catch the bird droppings. I would not stay here again, as this was way out of my comfort zone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dlynnLitchfield_Ct_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Room was immaculate. Breakfast was cooked to order and out of this world! We were felt very welcome at the Old Stagecoach Inn. Will recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Keh469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have stayed at the stagecoach 3 times and have enjoyed everything the inn has to offer!
The owner is friendly, kind, and welcoming. Each room has its own unique decor...
clean and comfy. Breakfast is served on the spacious deck decorated with vibrant flowers.
The heuvos rancheros is made with love and my personal favorite!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kldsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here for a few nights. Perfect central location for exploring Vermont. Our teenage girls were excited to be staying only a few minutes from the Ben and Jerry's factory! John and dad Jack have filled the inn with historical items. Be sure to read the history of the inn on the website. The ghost was after me, for sure! John's breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very cool little spot. Friendly staff and fabulous breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMS002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We arrived in Waterbury (the third B&B on our New England vacation) and easily found the Old Stagecoach Inn, as it's on the main street in Waterbury. It's beautiful! We originally were going to stay in room 5, which is the tiniest room with a shared bath. I felt a little claustrophobic, and they moved us to room 7. It was on the 3rd floor, HUGE, and very pretty. There was a comfortable king size bed, two single beds, and a futon. I enjoyed that it had a private bathroom, air conditioning, skylights, and beautiful exposed wooden ceiling beams. The inn was so pretty, and it was very easy to walk to anything in the town of Waterbury. My favorite part about this place was the food! It was by far the best breakfast we had eaten at any of the B&B's on this trip. We would stay here again, and are already thinking of coming up sometime for the fall foliage.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSoup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights here during our road trip through New England. What a beautiful Inn! We arrived late one evening and John greeted us and helped us find somewhere for dinner. The room was large and clean and very comfortable. The bathroom sink did still have 2 faucets for hot and cold, so that was challenging... but fun and unique! The breakfast served by the staff was by far the best part of the Inn. Absolutely delicious!! The blueberry pancakes were amazing... as was everything else too! It rained during our stay and one of the staffers loaned us her umbrella for our sighteseeing trip. John also sent us on a sightseeing trip through Stowe, over the Green Mountains and to Burlington. It was beautiful scenery and dinner in Burlington was great. The trip back to the Inn only took about 30 minutes via I-89. We had a wonderful trip and would love to visit again, if we ever get back to Vermont.

Room Tip: 10% discount to AAA Members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCFisher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,411 reviews
11.1 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
291 reviews
12 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Twelve tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing