We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What We Hoped For”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly What We Hoped For”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

For our first trip together my fellow and I decided to try to reverse the Labor Day stream, instead of the beach, we headed to the mountains. Neither of us had ever been to VT in the summer, though he had spent winters skiing there as a child. After we narrowed down the regions we'd be up for driving to (we live about 5hrs away from Waterbury) we searched all inn's in the region and read LOTS of reviews. After staying at The Old Stagecoach, the only thing we didn't understand, were the very few negative reviews they received. We had a fantastic time. Booking a trip anywhere for Labor Day Weekend can be tricky. Several inns we contacted told us they were booked or using their "holiday" (read: more expensive) rates for the weekend. When I contacted The Old Stagecoach late on a weeknight, John the owner wrote me a responding email early the next morning telling me there was only one room left for the dates we were requesting, and he put in a tentative reservation for us so we wouldn't lose it. No one else, and we contacted MANY places, offered that courtesy. We stayed in Room 3, a pleasant sized room for 2 with en-suite sink (which is unbelievably nice to have when you have to share the full bath down the hall). The room had an A/C unit in the window but we used the ceiling fan, and they also had a small plug-in sitting on the trunk at the end of the bed that was a very welcome "personalized" breeze for us at night.

The breakfasts, as advertised by lovers and... not-so-lovers alike, was *incredible*. You are provided with a full menu of options and then the staff will also throw in a couple of specials that really do change each morning. All the food is prepared by innkeeper John. You are able to order as much breakfast as you think you can realistically eat... we may have ordered a little more than that. We had a couple of food allergies to deal with and John was more than happy to accommodate us. The cinnamon rolls at the breakfast buffet were so good, I was given a parcel of them in foil for the long ride home. I will mention though, the inn was built in 1826, the walls are thin, when John started cooking at 6:30-6:45am, you knew exactly what was being served that morning, as the smells will chase you all over the building, and straight into bed! So much for sleeping late. The rooms were all bright and clean (we checked out a few that we weren't staying in before others moved in), the bathroom was clean, the pillows were comfy (two soft, two hard, on our bed), there was ample soap, shampoo, and clean towels.

One thing that we did especially like was the vibe of "this is an inn, you're welcome here, it's a cozy environment, but we don't consider you our house guests." We were greeted each morning and afternoon as we passed by, but not cornered into making small talk or made to feel inconsiderate when we arrived "home" late a couple of nights. The only downside to our trip was one evening we thought we had lost our key to our room and we were literally unable to reach anyone (meaning John or Jack who live in an adjacent building to the inn) to let them know we were stuck. Although there was a sign saying "Ring Buzzer for Assistance" that is put on the check-in counter after-hours, the buzzer doesn't seem to actually ring in a place where anyone who could help you can hear it. Lesson learned, DON'T LOSE YOUR KEYS!

We really appreciated the personal but still decorous atmosphere. Sophie their African Gray parrot fell in love with my companion, they spent long periods of time coming up with complex whistles for each other, which they would mimic back and forth before coming up with a new pattern. Max the dachshund was rather stoic, but he will oblige to roll over for a good belly rub if coaxed. The location is incredibly convenient, seconds from I-89, rte 100 and about 200ft from "town" - with several excellent restaurants (try the bbq joint Prohibition Pig, note it gets crowded fast and early! or The Reservoir, with one of the best veggie burgers, fresh made daily, that either of us had ever had). The valley is charming, the people were so pleasant, and the inn was everything you look for from an experience like that. We'll certainly be there again, John,Jack, Max and Sophie were fantastic hosts.

Room Tip: When we reviewed the rooms in our budget online, the photo of Room 5 looked a little more inviting t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xDeannaNYCx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    62
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
30
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Lovely, quaint old place to stay. Very comfortable bed. Shower fine. Bedroom spacious. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast included in the price $140 for 2 adults , still think a little high price. Certainly would recommend. Restaurants nearby within walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Old Stagecoach Inn on 1 September 2012 in a room that shared a bathroom with others. The downstairs/common areas of the Inn were lovely as the Inn was built ~ 1826.

The breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly.

Unfortunately the carpet in our room (#5) and the hallway leading to it was not so tidy. It wasn't dirty, but it didn't look "fresh" or new. Also, one of the electrical outlets in our room was visibly loose and pulled away a bit from the wall - not a good nor a safe thing.

We would not stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatThaiMyFavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston ma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

When my Master and Mistress selected the Old Stage Coach Inn for an overnight stay on our travels from NY State to Maine. I was personally very pleased.The reason being is that I remember staying there when I was puppy.My memory is much better than that of my master and mistress. It seemed as though unit #9 had changed hardly at all over the years.A comfortable sitting room with a TV , a full sized fridge to keep my food cool and two nice bedrooms with comfy beds on which I was not allowed. I remember the beautiful green lawn extending out behind the parking area which I was taken to visit frequently.
My master and mistress raved about the complimentary breakfast not to be even compared the trashy continental breakfasts offered at the large chain hotels.I hope that when we do this trip again we will get to stay there again.
signed Maizy (8) year old black lab
PS I was not allowed to retrieve the parrot who lives in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JanBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was a great place for us to stay: 2 adults and 2 teenagers on our trip from NY - VT - Montreal.
Suite was small but more than adequate, and clean. The included breakfast was fantastic as was our frequent visitor: Max the dog!
Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebuzz2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This B&B is right on Main St. and there are a few restaurants within walking distance, which made it very convenient after being in a car for 7 hours the day we arrived! Our family of 4 had a wonderful stay in room #7. It was more than enough room. We wished we had gotten there earlier to look at the antiques and old photos/pictures throughout. We were pleasantly surprised at the large breakfast menu offered. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We just happened to pass by and needed someplace to stay and just lucked into a charming old B&B. It is decorated in a fashion befitting the name. The place was clean and comfortable and even had wifi. Breakfast was wonderful. There is a choice of anything that one could want and perfectly prepared. Everyone there was warm,friendly and helpful. The place that was recommended for dinner nearby, Tanglewoods, was very good. All in all it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vishty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
486 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.4 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Property: Old Stagecoach Inn
Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing