We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn with New England Charm!”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked our night last minute, about an hour before we arrived! Our server at Long Trail Brewery recommended it to us as a place to stay when we explained we wanted to drive further north and stay an extra night after a friends wedding. The hospitality began on the phone with booking, and continued straight through to check out. When we arrived, they had our air-conditioner on to make the room more comfortable as well as a list of dinner suggestions. The room was huge, and we had a private bath. Breakfast was provided in the morning, and was delicious! Couldn't have asked for more from our stay in Waterbury!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here recently and loved the place. We were in Room 2 but didn't have any problems with the resident ghost, Martha. There was some banging on pipes or something early in the morning so that might have been her....the room was large, the attached bathroom was good sized with a large shower stall (no tub), and the furniture is nice. I love the old wooden paneling, the old heavy wood doors and hardware, etc. Their website says that "most" of the rooms have AC but they told us now that they all do, which is a good thing because it was in the 90's and very humid the day we stayed there.

The breakfast was awesome. We haven't found a better breakfast place in the Stowe/ Waterbury area and we've tried them all. We had huevos rancheros and eggs benedict, dishes we've had many places and we haven't had any better than these. Service at breakfast was fast and very pleasant. We sat outside as the weather had improved a lot and it was great.

I had two minor complaints, one was that the stained glass windows in our room didn't have blinds to block out the sun in the morning, the other is that we originally made a reservation for two nights, but they called and told us they had made a mistake and only had a room for one night. Then a few days before we arrived they called and asked us if we had book the room for two nights. That was odd. At that point we had already made a reservation another place and couldn't cancel it. The other place was nowhere near as nice (the Smuggler's Notch Inn in Jeffersonville) and about the same price when you figure the breakfast was included with our room at the Old Stagecoach. There was also no TV in the room but I think that's common at places like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Old Stagecoach is in a great location in town and the staff is very helpful. This is a typical Vermont B&B- very dated, a little worn, and rustic. It was very affordable. We stayed in a tiny room with a double bed on the second floor, and the size of the room worked to our advantage as it was very hot and the a/c unit did a good job cooling down the room. The public areas of the inn are not air conditioned. I would recommend a private bathroom if they have it. We used the shared bath across the hall and although it was clean it had an unpleasant smell. There are not many places to stay in Waterbury and this was a last minute trip. I think the Best Western in Waterbury is a better choice but if you are set on a B&B this is an okay choice for VT.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashpacker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Stagecoach Inn on a beer adventure from Pennsylvania. We are so glad we chose the Stagecoach Inn. The rooms are rustic and clean. The staff was accommodating and friendly. And now for the breakfast, absolutely awesome. Cooked to order food and just amazing. We also loved this bed and breakfast because it was around a one block walk to get to the four best pubs in the area serving good food and a great selection of craft beer. We will be back, it was great !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arrowhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped here while sightseeing in the area. Looking for a stay for 1night. We loved the beautiful furnishings inside the inn. Our room was in the back with 2 bedrooms living room and full kitchen. Even a bookshelf of books to read if we wanted too. Owner was very friendly Staff was very friendly. Place was clean. And the breakfast was truly awesome. Would love to stay there again if given the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2006rb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Found this place on line and reviews were good. The room we checked into was #10, a "pet friendly" one on the second floor. The room had the look of low income housing. The sofa, rugs, chair and bed were shabby and dusty and the room smelled old. The room's AC was small and could not cool the room. My husband and I have never walked out on a reservation but felt 5 minutes in this room was enough. We could not even think about sleeping there and didn't want our dog to lay on the dingy carpet. The owner barely spoke to or looked at me as I was telling him why we were checking out. He was more concerned about the cancelation policy than what my concerns were. Actually, he didn't address any of my concerns and said he would have someone call me. I asked to split the difference of the room cost and have noticed a full charge on my statement and have yet to receive a call from them. I'll update this review should I hear from the owners.

Room Tip: Check this place out in person before booking. Perhaps some of the others rooms are acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catandpooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

This beautiful independant 170 year old, character filled inn is situated on the main street through historic Waterbury. On entering the building you're filled with the warmth and history of old Vermont with welcoming staff and a cute dachshund called Max. There's a sense of a relaxed lifestyle with come and go at your leisure ethos. The rooms are large and comfy in a style that you won't find at any major chain hotel. Breakfast is great with a good range of items that's included in the very fair cost of accommodation. The public areas are steeped in the areas history, with a cracking bar serving a few local ales.

You really get a real feeling for family at The Old Stagecoach Inn and I'm delighted we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilesyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,411 reviews
11.1 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
291 reviews
12 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Stagecoach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Twelve tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing