We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent two nights in this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We were three women traveling together, and the Inn had two rooms on the third floor which had a king and two twin beds. We stayed in room #8 which was half of the third floor. Yes it was a climb, but well worth it. The room was very large with private bath and a small setting area in the hall. Just the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine. The breakfast both mornings were cooked to order and were very tasty. One of my traveling friends had a cousin living close by. We were able to invite him to eat breakfast with us one morning, cost $12. Couldn't have gotten his eggs benedict any place for that price. The first evening we returned to a fire going in the fire place. What a cozy place to warm up on a cool evening. They even have an old bar that was fun to set around and enjoy a drink one night after dinner. It's a great place to stay and then take day trips out of Waterbury.

Room Tip: Room #7 or #8 if there are three or four traveling together. Great family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHCIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    61
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our two day stay at this charming historical inn met all of our expectations. My husband and I stayed in Room #1 and my mom and aunt stayed in room #4; both located on the 2nd floor and each with a private bathroom. Coffee, fruit and pastries were available first thing in the morning and then we sat down to a delicious made-to-order breakfast, which was amazing. Everyone in our party enjoyed the blueberry pancakes and Huevos Rancheros, as well as bacon, sausage and delicious potato pancakes. John and Jack were were so helpful, from the initial questions prior to booking the reservations to the checkout. The staff was also very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fabulous place to stay near Stowe, VT ad Ben and Jerry's. Best breakfast, by far, of any B&B I've stayed in. Warm comfortable atmosphere, fire in the fireplace at night, a comfortable, intimate bar, and a couple of the nicest inn-keepers you'll ever meet. Well worth the stay. Close to town and bars and restaurants , too.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms are large and sleep up to 4 each. Also each has a sky-lite to watch the stars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjjrtiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The inn is a beautiful place decorated with many many fabulous antiques. We enjoyed looking at the collection. The inn keeper was a very friendly and interesting man to talk to. We had a drink at the beautiful old bar and had a conversation with him. Our breakfast was made to order and was out of this world. I had a ham and cheese Omlette. It was so so fluffy and delicious. Those with me had eggs Benedict and loved that also.
We had a short walk to downtown to eat the evening before.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbgillum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, NH
Level Contributor
384 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We decided to spend a night in Waterbury, VT after dropping our daughter off at college in Burlington. This B&B is right on main street and a walk away from restaurants, the emporium and Green Mtn Coffee train depot visitors' center. The morning mountain mist was gorgeous. The room was roomy and comfortable-- very quiet-- would not know the place was full. Breakfast was wonderful-- great and welcoming servicing--cooked to order b'fast -- loved it. We did not really visit with other guests on this trip. But it made for a wonderful overnight stay for 2 new empty nesters. Would definitely consider it again. I can only imagine the fall colors in the area and the B&B had a great mountain backdrop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Old Stagecoach Inn is a great place to stay! The inn is beautifully furnished and has a collection of old books, maps and souvenirs. The breakfast selection is wonderful and it can satisfy even the most picky eaters. Whether Waterbury is just a quick stop on your way, or a place to explore in more detail, the inn can provide both the comfort and enjoyment to make your visit a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberryfields52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a lovely property in a great location. We have stayed here several times and one of the best parts about it is the father/son innkeeper team. They make you feel like family and are truly fascinating people to have a conversation with. Our room has always been comfortable and our kids love the resident dachshund and parrot. The breakfasts are fantastic and I love the hot coffee available all the time in the lobby. Waterbury is close to many great Vermont attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmoorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterbury - Stowe
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
8.7 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
9.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Property: Old Stagecoach Inn
Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing