We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Historic Inn”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint Historic Inn”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

i came up for a long weekend with my boyfriend to this historic inn in Waterbury Vermont. It is an amazing location, situated near several major ski areas, 25 minutes from Burlington and 15 minutes from Montpelier. Waterbury itself also has some great restaurants and bars to check out. The Inn itself is very quaint. The inn-keepers and staff are all very friendly and helpful. There is a small bar located in a back room which is a very nice feature. It should be noted that there are no tvs, but there is wi-fi available.
The bed and mattresses need to be updated, so we did not really sleep that great while we were there. Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    61
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is one of the best inns I've stayed in. After battling with Holiday Inns, Best Westerns and whatnot in VT over the last couple of years, I finally took the advice of a friend and stayed here. The breakfast is great. The rooms are extremely clean. The place has a lot of character. Max and John and Jack are wonderful. And best of all, the price is SO MUCH better than the chains.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This will be my fourth time staying at this lovely historic B&B and I look forward in returning again. On each visit, I feel at home. With the warm hospitality from the owners Jack and John, to the spacious comfortable rooms. There is a family space with a roaring fire every night that suits every mood after a long hike or ski day. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms 7&8 are good option if you have children, or a small group. Those are my favorite. Room...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trsta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a charming place to stay, with a resident Daschund (Max) and Gray Conure (Sophie.) We stayed in room #5, which shared a bath on the second floor. It is a tiny room, which we knew it would be. Very clean & comfortable bed. The breakfast was so good! I had Eggs Benedict Florentine, & my spouse had the Vermont Cheddar Omelette. The owner/chef was very friendly. He even recommended a hike to Stowe Pinnacle, which we greatly enjoyed. AND: you are about a block walk to the Reservoir & the Prohibition Pig, 2 great taverns.

Room Tip: If budget allows, get a room with a private bath for the convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Beds wonderful, breakfast the same - what more could you ask of a B&B? in addition, spotlessly clean, friendly people, great showers. I would recommend it to anybody. I enjoyed the stay very much and look forward to going again.

Room Tip: I've only stayed once and my room was on the parking lot side, second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the stage coach a few times now and every time is absolutely amazing!! The owners are great, really friendly and always helpful. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is to die for...honestly this place just feels like home. I'll never stay anywhere else when I come.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have to write this because I have read some reviews that are just ridiculous. The place is lovely! It has a historic feel and certainly is not a posh "NEW" b & b. However if you are looking to get away and have a romantic evening by the fire and the sense that you stepped back in time, with possibly the best breakfast on the planet this place is for you. The owners are amazing. Room 1 is our favorite but we've stayed in several of the rooms. We absolutely love the place. As for those who say they brought their pets to the "pet friendly room" I can't believe that you would bring your pet on vacation, even more, I can't believe that you may be surprised if the "pet friendly room" smells like urine or may be potentially dingy... YOU ARE BRINGING YOUR ANIMAL TO A ROOM WHERE ANIMALS HAVE STAYED! Is it a surprise that an animal may have peed on the carpet? Or the furniture isn't pristine?!?! This place is amazing. Do yourself a favor and rent room 1. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Love Room 1 (there is a fireplace)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicNicHeisHeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
12.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
8.7 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Property: Old Stagecoach Inn
Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing