We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are no antiques here...it's just old.”
Review of Old Stagecoach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stagecoach Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Waterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There are no antiques here...it's just old.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Do yourself a favor and sightsee in Waterbury, then move on. Waterbury is a great place to pass through, visit Ben and Jerry's, Cabot, the cider mill, eat at Prohibition Pig, but there is no reason to stay here when Burlington is only 20 minutes away. This place is not charming and full of antiques, but old, dirty, and full of garage sale furniture.( Anyone remember "This End Up") the bedding was dirty, the floors of the dining room were sticky with days old jelly, part of the living room was covered in bird droppings, and it was also noisy because it sits right on the main road. If you have kids DONT STAY HERE. They will hate it. My kids love B&B's, and they hated this place. There is absolutely nowhere for a child to run free in the grass and get some fresh air. I have never experienced an inn like this in beautiful Vermont. The owners were not friendly, and after having an unpleasant conversation with one of the housekeepers, I cried a little. This place was my pick, and I felt I could have done so much better for my family. The best thing about our stay was breakfast- and it was quite good, even though I was a little scared to eat it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 685cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    61
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
28
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Yes, this is an old inn - vintage 1890's. If you don't want "old" in any form, don't stay here. We thought it was charming. It's a bit creaky, there are some musty things, but that's part of it's appeal. We stayed in room 4 (two double beds, private bath). There's a window air conditioner and/or a ceiling fan for your choice of cooling. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was clean. The reason to stay here is the breakfast! As folks from the west, it's always a treat to get real maple syrup when we are out. My husband enjoyed apple pancakes, blueberry pancakes and a Belgian waffle for his three mornings (along with fresh fruit, muffins, homemade granola and Green Mountain coffee). I had eggs Benedict Florentine, grilled veggie fritatta and Huevos Rancheros. Previous reviews listed the Huevos as the best they had ever eaten - I won't go that far, just the best east of the Mississippi... We absolutely would return here on another trip. The location makes it an easy walk to all of Waterbury, there are lots of restaurants within a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeftPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There are not a lot of choices for lodging in Waterbury but the Old Stagecoach Inn had good reviews and seemed to be reasonable so we booked a night. We like b&b because you usually get a home cooked breakfast compared to the reheated institutional food of the chain hotels. Yes the breakfast was the best thing about the inn. Those ladies work hard. As for historic b & b's, they are either quaint and historic or quaint and old. Old Stagecoach Inn falls into the latter. The inn was relatively clean, just old. It has a pretty exterior with lots of flowers and sitting porch but the actually rooms with antiques look like used furniture. Some may find that charming but not us. Even the sheets seemed thin from use. The elderly gent who greeted us and other staff were friendly and accommodating. I can't say it was bad but I also can' say it was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found this wonderful b&b through a AAA book, looked at the reviews in TripAdvisor, and were not disappointed! You could tell a lot of care had been invested in the furnishings, the rooms were all unique and comfortable. The breakfast was the best of any b&b in the U.S., we've never been able to order off a menu (examples - pancakes of the day had different fresh fruit, eggs benedict florentine, specialty omelets, potato pancakes and lots more). That's after you already helped yourself to cinnamon rolls, fruit, granola, yogurt, etc. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful (insider tip, Green Mountain has a below wholesale place that sells their coffee). We're already planning on going back next year because it was also a great location, very near a lot of attractions (Ben & Jerry's, Cabot cheese, Green Mountain coffee, etc.).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We are frequent visitors to Waterbury who decided to give the Stagecoach a try on our most recent trip. Booked room #7 for three nights. The room was huge, had a nicely appointed bathroom. The window A/C, ceiling fan, and lots of windows gave us several ways to control the temperature. Note: not an issue for us, but the room is located on the 3rd floor, so you have to carry your bags up and down.

Common areas were very nice. Loved hanging out with Max, the Inn dog. Watched some World Cup in the bar area. There was coffee available in the kitchen area. Breakfasts looked incredible. We did not partake in the food off the menu due to dietary restrictions, but our travelling companions did and were very happy with their choices. The owners were always around if you needed them, but weren't intrusive, which we appreciated.

For us, the best feature is the location. There are tons of walking trails easily accessed from the inn. The town of Waterbury is a few steps away. Plus, the inn is close to a few main roads which was convienent for travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had expected a bit more from this place. We stayed in room 1. It is right at the top of the stairs on the 2nd floor. Not a bad room, had a private bathroom which was key. Bed was ok, nothing to write home about. Had a window a/c unit which made a lot of noise, but I don't mind white noise so it wasn't too bad. The thing that bothered me was the traffic. The room faces the main road and even at 7am the road noise was enough to be noticeable. Everything is old as people have mentioned, but you need to realize it is an old building and filled with old things, part of it's charm. If you want new and modern, then stay at a hotel, don't complain about the worn chairs and furnishings.

The breakfasts were quite good. Plenty to choose from and everything is made to order. The huevos rancheros was quite good.

Service left a little to be desired. I have read countless reviews saying the owners are so nice and friendly and really make you feel welcome, etc. I did not feel that way at all. They were not unfriendly, they just didn't go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Said "hello" a few times and asked if we liked breakfast, but other than that, not much else. I would have expected more. Overall not a bad stay, but not sure I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bathroom and stay away from road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Haven
Level Contributor
173 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were greeted warmly by Diane, who showed us to our room. My sister and I shared a suite, room #9, which had two bedrooms (a queen and two twins), a bathroom, and a common area with a couch, tv, rocking chair, bookcase and an eat-in space with table and four chairs, a full-size refrigerator and four-burner electric stove. Also included were basic dishes, silverware and water and wine glasses, with a drying rack, dish detergent and sponge. There were no plastic cups or glasses in the bathroom, so we just used them from the kitchen. The suite could use some deep-dive cleaning, as there were some stains on the carpet, probably due to being pet-friendly. The glass storm windows were still installed (this was in May), so we couldn't open the windows for any fresh air, and the room felt a bit stuffy. We ended up opening the door to our room and the door to the annex to get air to circulate. The owner's dog breezed in for a quick visit.

Our room was next to the laundry room, and we heard and felt each spin cycle. The noise, however, did not last after 9:30 pm or so.

The inn itself was quiet, and a short walk from restaurants and shops downtown (which is also quiet). The noise level cranked up quite a bit on Sunday morning, which was Mother's Day, as the excellent breakfast was offered to the public.

The breakfast was fabulous! There was a good variety of items on the buffet, including fresh fruit, cinnamon buns, and regular and decaf coffee K-cups with a Keurig. Then, table service with choices from the menu which listed egg dishes, sausage, bacon (which I believe they smoke themselves) and daily specials such as blueberry pancakes.

We wandered through the common areas of the main house (built in 1826), discovering what looked like a full wet bar in the back. The living room was also available to guests and looked comfortable, but because of the shrieking of the resident (caged) parrot, we didn't feel inclined to linger. We saw who we think was the owner several times, but he never introduced himself to us, which was a little odd for an innkeeper.

It would be worth staying here just for the breakfast, but there are other sights close by vacationers should check out, like the Cabot Cheese Annex Store and Ben and Jerry's.

Room Tip: Room #9 is a first-floor suite, close to the laundry room, which was in use even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwnedByCatsInConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
8.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
12.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
8.7 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stagecoach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stagecoach Inn

Property: Old Stagecoach Inn
Address: 18 N Main St, Waterbury, VT 05676-1810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Stagecoach Inn, an historic bed and breakfast was built in 1826, and is conveniently located in the heart of Waterbury Village. Formerly a tavern, stagecoach stop, and private residence, it is currently listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Walking distance from local restaurants and shops, enjoy a leisurely dinner or visit a local pub without having to get into your car. Eleven tastefully decorated and comfortable guest rooms and Vermont's best country breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Stagecoach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stagecoach Hotel Waterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing