We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the beautiful view and atmosphere”
Review of Arvads

Arvads
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Grand Isle, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the beautiful view and atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Well, before I continue to berate the specific items we ordered, let me just say it just was not very good; from appetizers to dessert.

The prices were not bad but the quality and flavor did not do it for us. It is a good place for variety of items, outdoor seating, lovely atmosphere, and kid friendly. A great place to hang out, just not a great place if you are a foodie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island2Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    98
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We found several choices for dinner in Waterbury Center but settled on Arvad's as their outdoor seating area looked inviting. We thought the menu choices were more than adequate. Service was prompt when we were seated and the wait time for our meal was minimal. The food was cooked properly and very tasty.

we would go back without question. . .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJoe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a solid not spectacular dining choice in downtown Waterbury. We chose to sit outside on their deck that is in the front right along Main St. It could be a little noisy with all the traffic which amounts to a main route, Vermont 100. The server was prompt and attentive. The menu is typical Vermont, trying to support local growers and producers. With that said I think the menu doesn't vary, but seems to have a couple of nightly specials. There are choices ranging from appetizers to sandwiches and full entrees. We didn't try it but the burger served to several customers looked very appetizing. Portions are generous and the price points are very much within a family's budget.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Dinner was very average. The wait for the food was pretty long considering the restaurant was not even close to full. The only thing good about our experience was our waitress named Kim. She was friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Solid Choice for Lunch or Dinner”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You won't likely find anything too surprising on the food menu - fairly regular salads, burgers, sandwiches and appetizers. They have a good bar with nice local beers on tap (as well as Guinness). We stopped for lunch and then as our dinner choice had a long wait, we came back for dinner. Nothing stood out as really good, but nothing would keep us from coming back either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeftPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arvads also viewed

 

Been to Arvads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing