We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value and family feel gone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Conn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Value and family feel gone”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The best western has always been branded as a hotel where you receive superior value and good solid quality. This hotel breaks the mold. This hotel has upgraded its rooms, and added some nifty features like sofa's in the common room, better lighting and cookies upon arrival, however their prices have gone from the budget minded 103 a night to now on the weekends 139 or 142 a night with triple A. For that price one should look closer to the mountains that they came to visit or head up to Burlington which is 25 minutes and save forty dollars a night. The hotel with their upgrade got a new manager who has buttoned down the hatches it seems. Old familiar staff seemed worried about making a mistake and were all gussied up looking corporate and professional. Who wants to go to a budget minded hotel for a 200 a night room rate and a professional staff that is overly refined. A security guard sat in the hallway leering up and down the hallways of rooms as we went in and out of our rooms. (he could have been more inconspicuous) however the message is no funny business here. We were kicked out of a common room at 11:30 on new years eve because the management was worried that someone might pull a fire alarm. Although we were the only ones in the lobby room and we had been doing this same new years eve routine for four or five years. (all parents and professionals with young children) Overall the hotel is nice, however now with the increased prices and regimented protocols of the staff, I want a higher more refined level of service for that type of money. No more runny scrambled eggs in a faux serving dish, If the BW is going luxury then you better tell all the other BW in the US, because you just outran your brand. This is more than a best western plus, its a best western on steroids. If you are a family and want a low key fun place to stay with a budget in mind, you will need to look for other accomodations. If the prices come down and the management loosens up and lets its employees breath again then its worth another look. After researching all the hotels in Stowe and Mad River Valley, Montpelier area and Burlington, I promise you that you will pay the same in the mountain areas but be far closer to the mountain which is why most people come here. If you are a business traveler, save you companies money and head to other budget chains in the area or up to south Burlington.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank ConnTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we strive to offer the most positive professional atmosphere for all of our guests I am sorry if you felt this was in exchange for a more "Vermont" feeling. We required for the comfort of all our guests to have a security officer on duty when we have a youth group in house, this ensures quiet and courtesy for all guests, we will work with them on a better approach while here. The common room is closed at a reasonable hour to ensure the safety and comfort of all. The two times we have made exceptions the fire alarm has been accidently deployed, most recently a couple of weeks ago you can see a guest mentioned it in an earlier review resulting in them standing outside in an ice storm waiting for the alarm to be deactivated. We close these rooms to ensure the safety and comfort of all the guests We hope that you will understand the reasons for our changes and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    285
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
337
255
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My husband, 9 year old son and I stayed for four nights over Christmas break and had an enjoyable stay.

Pros
Staff - very friendly and helpful. Willing to offer restaurant suggestions and provide directions. One front desk attendant heard that my son was buying postcards to use as thank you notes and gave them to him for free
Location - right off 89, <30 min from Stowe, Sugarbush, Smugglers Notch and Bolton Valley. The drive to Jay Peak was 90 min. Also very close to Ben & Jerry's Factory, Zeimke glassblowing and Cider Mill. Liked the proximity to Shaws supermarket
Prices - much more economical than the bed & breakfasts in Stowe
Common Areas - enjoyed the large common room with fireplace, couches and tv. Also enjoyed the indoor pool
Breakfast - standard fare (cereal, eggs, muffins, bagels, juice) ... my son enjoyed making his own waffle
Ski tickets - great being able to buy Sugarbush tickets directly from the front desk

Cons
Housekeeping - amenities (shampoo, conditioner) never refreshed, room not cleaned daily - just bed made and trash cans emptied
Breakfast area - short staffed; the hotel was completely booked during our stay but there was only one person staffed for breakfast. This poor woman was cleaning tables, refilling food trays, answering questions, replenishing silverware so there was a delay in getting food

Will stay here again. Good value for the money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deepa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your great review! I love how your broke it down into pro's and con's!

The housekeeping service for stay over is the basic maid service although the amenities are expected to be replaced, thank you for letting me know I will certainly check on that policy.

The breakfast room was short staffed, we had a call out for illness and the waitress actually ended up having to have medical treatment. She is fine and will be returning to work however you are absolutely correct it left us in a bit of a bind that morning. My sincere apologies for the delays

I am glad we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We (family) did enjoy our stay at the Best Western Plus Waterbury-Stowe. We set the hotel as a hub for our skiing trip to Bolton Valley and Stowe. Room and amenities were great, specially the indoor heated pool & whirlpool and its complimentary hot continental breakfast. We will certainly return again. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay! We are a perfect location for easy access to multiple ski resorts all within a short drive! Looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having stayed in several best westerns before, in Europe, we were a little apprehensive about ever staying in another one. However this was a real surprise and a good place to stay. Situated in a great location, easy to find, speedy check in, immaculately presented spacious bedroom with, working fire, large bathroom...Adequate gymnasium and swimming pool and a simple but adequate continental breakfast....Overall very good, would we stay again, sure we would.no frills, but does the job well and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobsonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Hotel and its staff go the extra mile.

Location is ideal for skiing at Bolton, Stowe, Sugarbush and Smuggs.

Its ideally right off of the I89 exit within close proximity to many area amenities.

There's a Shaw's Supermarket open until 11:00 PM across the street, several 24 hour convenience stores including the Mobil with a decent Pizza and Sub shop and gas stations adjacent and less than 1 mile down Stowe Street into Waterbury to restaurant bar row in Waterbury VT (Blue Stone Pizza, Blackback Pub, Avad's, Prohibition Pig and the Reservoir Tap Room are all exceptional choices). Really can't go wrong on moderate dining and craft beers in Waterbury...

Hotel is a two story motor lodge style with very soundproof rooms that are clean with great beds and lighter style bedding. Rooms are typical hotel size and do possess a desk, easy chair, flat screen LG TV with HBO and 50 channels. WiFi was exceptional. Toiletries are ok. Pillows are great. Towels and Linens are better than average. Indoor Pool and Hot-Tub combo are clean and well maintained and decent gym facilities.

The staff are exceptional several went the extra mile including the housekeeper who kept the room clean and even failed to take my tip one morning since I did not leave a note. Honesty, integrity and genuine care are what makes the staff here unique and a reason I will return.

The Continental Breakfast was decent with make it yourself waffles, local breads and muffins/cakes and decent bacon/sausage and eggs, etc.

There's Green Mountain Coffee and tea K-cups available 24*7 along with cookies at the front desk.

The only issue I had with the lodging was that the night desk clerk let locals in to use the game room after midnight and they somehow set off the fire alarm resulting in an unscheduled wake up call. While management was apologetic, it's inexcusable to allow kids who are not staying at the hotel to use the game room and that desk clerk should be trained to not allow this to recur as this led to nearly an hour of standing outside in the cold while waiting for the fire department to give the all clear.

I will definitely return to Waterbury and this will be my choice of lodging. Its truly a Best Western. One of their best.

As to Orbitz, the hotel would not give me a receipt and I believe this is because Orbitz takes a much bigger cut of the lodging fees and for that I question my future use of Orbitz until I get clarity as to whether or not they are giving the hotel a fair cut of what I paid. If its obscene I will book directly with the Best Western Hotel. I'm curious if Orbitz will read this and respond to me..

Room Tip: Choose rooms closer to the lobby for better WiFi. I had exceptional WiFi service on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelluswhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your excellent and thorough review, I appreciate all of the thought that went into it and your mentioning many things superior to your expectations. We all take great pride in the service we offer and we appreciate your recognizing that.

The unfortunate experience surrounding the fire alarm was truly disruptive and I apologize for the inconvenience. We were trying to accommodate an in house guests that requested to use the game room longer then the posted hours and the fire alarm was accidently pulled. We have taken corrective action to be sure this area is closed at the proper time and are currently looking for a more protective cover for the pull station to avoid an accident like this in the future.

Thank you again for all of your kind words and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury/Stowe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The fire alarm went off midnight. We had driven 5 hours and much of it in the sleet and freezing rain so we were ready for some rest. We collapsed into bed only to be awakened a short time later. We were sent outside into the sleet with sidewalks that were glare ice. The next morning at checkout, we were not offered any type of specific reason for the fire alarm. 9were told it was "an accident") What seemed strange to me was that Best Western did not offer any type of credit for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Caroline Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantsville, CT, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The amenities here really can't be beat: pool, which our kids love, hot tub, game room, free breakfast, nice lobby with fireplace, clean, comfortable rooms, and great location. Very low prices. You can tell that much thought has gone into creating and maintaining this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
I am so glad you had a wonderful time. We are in the process of a 5 yr. update plan, we have accomplished much of it already. Some is very noticeable and some more subtle but felt in our service. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and I hope we are able to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
12.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
8.8 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe

Property: Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Address: 45 Blush Hill Rd, Waterbury, VT 05676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterbury - Stowe Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing