We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel, Terrible Service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Upon arrival my husband and I were asked to wait at the counter so that our room could be checked on - we assumed the room was not ready yet and had not been cleaned. We were left at the front desk for 20 minutes while our room was "checked" on without any explanation. Had the gentlemen at the front desk told us the room wasn't ready yet we would've sat down, had some coffee and waited - instead we were just left there staring at each other wondering what was going on. This seemed interesting since check-in time is 3pm and we arrived well after 5pm and our room still wasn't ready.
That next day we arrived back to our room from a long day out to realize that our room key did not work. We went down to the front desk and was told that the same gentleman who left us waiting at the desk the day before had only activated our key for a one night stay but we were staying two nights. After we were able to get back into our room we discovered that our room had never been cleaned, by now it was nearly 5pm - we left for dinner thinking they might come clean our room and give us some clean towels by the time we got back. Nope. We arrived back at our room after 8pm and the room still had not been cleaned and we still had no clean towels for the next day. My husband had to go seek someone out to get a few clean towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessama86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    294
    62
    20
    10
See reviews for
366
268
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NEBRASKA
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am really ticked off about several things. Check-in was EXTREMELY slow! On top of that our bill was incorrect. We used points for a free night, yet they were trying to charge us $30 for some strange reason. The clerk said she couldn't fix it, the manager would have to do it later. Apparently the manager isn't there for days at a time, so this issue did not get resolved before our departure. Therefore, we had to worry about this issue for some time. I haven't seen a charge on my credit card statement, so I'm going to assume it has been taken care of.
I am also a Diamond rewards member, who is handicapped, and reserved a first floor room. Not only did they give me a second floor room, I got the farthest one from the elevator possible ( a REALLY long walk ). They didn't care one bit how far I had to drag my luggage and struggle with the stairs.
Room was small, beds were small, bathroom vanity was small, and there wasn't an exhaust fan or make-up mirror. Shower was VERY difficult to operate. The bottom of the shower curtain was covered in mildew. Maid only left us half a roll of toilet paper and left used toiletries in the shower.
It was impossible for me to make tea as the room had a one cup Keurig coffee maker that couldn't work with anything other than their pods.
There isn't anywhere else to eat nearby other than the hotel. The food was overpriced and terrible! Chicken dinner consisted of half of a chicken that was smothered in VERY spicy seasoning which made it impossible to eat most of it. It was served with a side of BEEF gravy. There was one scoop of mashed potatoes and exactly 3 green beans and 1 baby carrot for vegetables. ( A really balanced meal! ) Free breakfast was too meager to bother with.
Hotel is also located on an EXTREMELY steep hill.
Only good things I can say are that the furniture was nice and it's conveniently located near Ben & Jerry's factory and Cold Hollow cider mill.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HUSKERTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location, right near the Ben & Jerry's factory, and the Cabot cheese creamery. Also, there is a delicious breakfast included, free coffee and cookies all day! It's super close to Main St. too which has a bunch of other restaurants. And very accessible to the highways. Only 25 or so minutes from the Burlington airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay and made day trips. The desk staff was very good in recommending places to eat and places to visit. If ever in the area again this would be our place to say.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank M H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern NH
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is located very near I-89 and on the way to Stowe, VT. The location must be treacherous in the winter months as it is up a steep hill but we had no problems in July! This Best Western is a wonderful hotel with a great staff. Our check in (and out) was quick and seamless and our room was very clean and a decent size with two double beds and refrigerator (no freezer). We wished we had been able to secure a suite to house our family but, alas, all rooms anywhere in a 30 mile radius of the area had been sold out for months due to the annual lacrosse tournament in Stowe. We were able to give our teenagers extra room by bringing air mattresses for them to have their own sleeping areas and it actually fit in the space of the room. I would not recommend such arrangements for long term but since it was only two nights, it was fine. The hotel has free cookies at the front desk which were welcome to our group of weary travelers. The breakfast was noted as continental but provided hot items as well, including french toast, sausage and eggs one morning and pancakes, bacon and eggs the second morning. In addition, there was fruit, yogurt, muffins and pastries (many are homemade from a local restaurant), juices, coffee and tea. The servers kept up with the pace of the dining area and we were never at a lack of any food or clean place to sit. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner as well although we didn't eat there. There is free coffee in the hotel lobby served all day. The hotel offers an indoor pool and hot tub as well as a fitness center and showers. The pool was not very crowded on our first night although our second night it was indeed overrun by a large group. There is a small game room (bring quarters or get change at hotel front desk) and free ping pong. There is also a huge activity area that has several tables and couches for use as well as a large screen tv. There were games and puzzles available for use in there as well. There is also a small swing set area out back. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here even though we barely used our room due our game schedule at the lacrosse fields! It was about a 20 minute trip to a central parking area for the tournament. Ideally, it would be better to be closer to the fields but those rooms are hard to come by. We recall driving by this Best Western after the tournament in 2013 and wanting to check it out. Well, now we have and would certainly recommend it to others. Worth noting as well was the fact that the hotel staff offered the use of the shower facilities after the tournament on Sunday since we had to check out early. That is a great customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NH_Mom_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, Manager at Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! To clarify, the entry road to the hotel (Blush Hill) is actually heated in winter, so you should not have any trouble when you return in winter. Plus, we would love for you to experience our restaurant, Cafe Provence for dinner, but currently we are not open for lunch. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were a little apprehensive because we have never stayed in a best western in the US but we arrived and were given suite 180. It was quiet, spacious, and had a wonderful bathroom. Lots of room for a family of 4, comfortable beds and a view of the mountains.We got a big refrigerator with a freezer as well as a microwave. The kids enjoyed the pool area and the free breakfast was huge. We were thrilled with our experience and would come back again when we return to Stowe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This Best Western was one of the best that we have stayed in. The staff was friendly and when we checked in, they had free cookies at the front desk. Our room was nice and it was clean. Breakfast in the hotel's restaurant was excellent with a lot of choices including bacon and French toast. The landscape of the hotel was awesome. There was a covered bridge right on the property, picnic tables, and spots to sit and view the mountains. The hotel also had a nice indoor pool, game room, and sitting area inside. The hotel was in a good location in Vermont close to many attractions including Ben & Jerry's which was right up the road. The hotel is located on top of a hill but there is a big sign so it's not hard to find. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
12.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
487 reviews
12.9 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,270 reviews
9.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe

Property: Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
Address: 45 Blush Hill Rd, Waterbury, VT 05676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Waterbury - Stowe Hotel Waterbury
Waterbury Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing