We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, unique getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stowe Cabins in the Woods
Reviewed 5 December 2007

My husband and I have been going to the 1836 Cabins every year for 4 years now. We have rented other cabins that allow pets and they have been pretty shabby. We have always been delighted to go to the 1836 Cabins. They are clean, modern and private. The owners live on the property so check-in is a breeze. Their home is always open and so cozy! They have always been very friendly. If someone is looking for a relaxing getaway I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Opinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2007

This is not a luxurious place to stay. However, If you are going for a quick weekend away and want a decent place to stay for a reasonable price, this is a good choice. We have been here two years in row to ski. The location is very good (just about 15min to ski area) and it is off the main road in the woods and is pet friendly.

The cabins are a good size (standard cabins have 2 bedrooms) with kitchens and private bathrooms. They have older furniture and no cable but are clean and the owners are friendly. Good choice for a ski weekend on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2005

This was a fine place to get away from everything, though nothing luxurious.

We chose a standard cabin. It was basically like a cabin you would find in a state park. The bedrooms were small but nice enough. It was nice to have a kitchen and a living room to share. The cabin smelled a little bit when we got there. None of the furnishings seemed to be particularly new, but none of them were horribly old or unusable.

There was no phone in the cabin, and our cell phones didn't work there. The cabins are a mile or more off the road, so they really are "out" in the woods. That was nice. The road to the cabins is pretty bumpy (potholes, etc), so be prepared.

When we checked in at the office, it was a couple's home. They were eating supper and it felt like we were interrupting their meal, so that was a little awkward. They were nice enough, though.

If you are looking for a place to get away in nature, and don't need anything too luxurious, this might be a good place.

5  Thank carrie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hermes1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank El-Mar_62-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterbury Center
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
4.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
4.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Cabins in the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Cabins in the Woods

Address: 513 Cabin Lane, Waterbury Center, VT 05677 (Formerly 1836 Cabins)
Region: United States > Vermont > Waterbury Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Waterbury Center
Price Range: £88 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stowe Cabins in the Woods 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by 200 acres of forest and field for hiking, snowshoeing, and more, Stowe Cabins in the Woods is the perfect choice for the couple who wants to get away to a special spot in the woods that they can call their own. Family friendly and pet friendly too, Stowe Cabins in the Woods is the unique and affordable choice for the whole family seeking accommodations outside the confines of a hotel, motel, inn, or B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Stowe Cabins in the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Cabins In The Woods Hotel Waterbury Center
Stowe Cabins In The Woods Vermont/Waterbury Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing