We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Sawmill Farm
Nearby Hotels
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
US$157
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
86
28
15
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
28
15
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable kingno elevatorlittle thingsbottled watermount snowpropertycidervermontaccommodationsprosconvenienceskiingfoliagetrailcons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had read very good reviews of the Inn at Sawmill Farm so we were looking forward to our three night stay with great anticipation. The Inn itself is on a beautiful spot, and upon arrival everything looked like it would be exactly what we were hoping for. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there and we would not return or recommend it to our friends. The room itself was large, but the carpeting was worn and buckling. The air conditioner was insufficient to cool the room adequately. The wifi was working in the upstairs library but not in the room, and when we asked about it were told there was an issue and it would be fixed "in a few days"; by the time we left after three nights it was not yet fixed. The restaurant, Nonna's, seemed understaffed for the number of people who were there for dinner on a Monday night and the service was therefore somewhat slow and the wait staff seemed harried; the food was ok, but the other two restaurants in the area we ate at during our stay in the area were both considerably better. Thankfully we checked the website a week or so before we arrived and learned there was a 60% discount on midweek stays so our price was reasonable. Had we paid the full rate I would have felt completely ripped off.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Inn at Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

I double checked your room and there are no carpeting issues. We had a wiFi issue and it has been resolved. We had to wait on new equipment to arrive. Yes- we were busy on the night you dined here and we won't apologize for that. We ran into each other a few times during your stay and you seemed to be enjoying yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 days here for our anniversary staying at one of the cabins, woodshed. The room was beautiful and spacious, we had full breakfasts each morning that came with the room and had dinner at Nona's one evening. The staff was helpful and kind throughout our stay. They were part of the green mtn adventure package with livingsocial. The adventure was an extreme scavenger hunt and the staff was more than happy to participate and help us out. Wonderful stay!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank dmanwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Inn at Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you some time again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Inn at Sawmill Farm is an old farmhouse with several rooms in the main house and additional bungalows. The rooms are large, clean, well decorated with good chairs for reading, all with reading lamps, well-equipped, with good bathrooms and lots of hot water. Insulation between rooms isn't great so quiet neighbors are a help. The service and interaction with all of the personnel at the Inn are terrific. They are friendly, helpful, and go out of their way to make your stay the way you want it to be. Our very good breakfast was included in our room fee. Since we have come as a group of eight for many years, we have found much to enjoy here. There are additional places to meet, sit and talk, read, play games, make a cup of coffee or tea, which is available for free 24/7, and the ground themselves have places to sit, read, a small swimming pool and a large pond to swim. There are hiking trails near and the countryside is beautiful. We have tried many different Inns in the area and return to this one when we come to the area for the music festival. It isn't fancy or upscale elegant, but it is comfortable, beautiful and relaxing, and perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Inn at Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

It was great to see you! Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon!
Your friends at The Sawmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel was terrific. It's in a great location in West Dover which is a perfectly located to enjoy the best that southern VT has to offer. The property is beautiful and quiet with great amenities including a picturesque lake, a five-star breakfast experience, and always friendly staff. The general manager was very responsive and made sure that we were comfortable. Also, a big thanks to everyone on the dinning staff! A great time, we'll come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Inn at Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best- your friends at The Sawmill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

First let me say that we travel very frequently both internationally and within the US. We booked our stay here through Group-on which we have used many times. We made our reservation within a week of staying here. The Inn itself was very interesting. The room we stayed in was once a stable and they did a good job of decorating it into a somewhat worn Victorian decor. The room was clean, the bed soft and comfortable, small bathroom with a poorly lit additional sink and vanity outside of the bathroom.

One of the main reasons we decided on this Inn was that it had a swimming pool and free WiFi. Upon arrival (excuse 1) we were told that the package we bought did not include breakfast, however nothing indicated that on the group on voucher we purchased. On the Inn's web site it stated ALL rooms come with breakfast. We were told that breakfast was an additional $15.00 per person per day. We opted to eat elsewhere.

The next disappointment was that the we could not get on the internet. (Excuse 2) We again mentioned this to Maryanne who told us that they had been having trouble but it was fixed now. Let me just say that speaking with many guests the problem was not solved for the two days we were there. We by no means were the only very unhappy guests who depended on the internet for work issues.

Then we decided to go to the pool in the afternoon of our first day there. (Excuse 3) Marco (the manger) informed me that the motor was broken and very noisey butt we could use the pool. He told me that the motor had arrived that day and would be repaired. We tolerated the noise but other guests left the pool area because of it. The following day was cloudy with rain showers so we explored nearby Bennington. Late afternoon the sun came out so we decided to rush back, put on our suits, got pool towels from Maryanne and started for the pool. (Excuse 4) Marco was getting in a car to leave, hollered over to me that the pool was closed as there was another part that needed to be replaced. I did not get the feeling that Marco really cared that this occurred. It was hard for me to believe that all of these things occurred within one week of booking our reservation. We were very disappointed. Maryanne, who was not aware the pool was closed, expressed her apologies and implied that some sort of compensation would occur at dinner that night. IT DID NOT. . Later that evening I was stopped by a guest who had heard Marco's response to me and told me the pool was the reason that she had booked the room and was also very disappointed with the Inn.

Nonnas (their restaurant) was very good!. The service and food, although a bit pricey was a clear 4 star. The server ( I think her name was Christine) was excellent.

Compared to other Inn's we have stayed in the service of the Inn was sub par. There were no afternoon cookies, no wine and cheese, ( although some previous guest of the Inn stated that the Inn was not the same as it had been in the past) received a plate of cheese and crackers. I guess we did not complain enough or our disappointments were not valued, as we got nothing. We felt like we were treated as second class guests due to booking through group on.

We will not be returning to the Inn and do hope others that do will have a better experience than we did. I gave this Inn a 3, however, my husband felt it should have been a 2.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room # 9. Nice size room -. Victorian decor. No balcony. Very noisy air conditioning..
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lincat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawmill_Nonnas, General Manager at Inn at Sawmill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are so sorry but breakfast is not included with this groupon offer.
We are also sorry for the pool. As I explained to you in person, The pool motor had been making noise recently because the bearings were wearing. We ordered a new motor. It came in. We replaced it on the day you speak of (since it was raining on and off all day we thought it would be a good day to do so). The pool was open that morning though. Once we dismantled the old motor we discovered that another part was faulty- we did not anticipate this and had to source that part. Anyway, the pool was out of service for less than 24 hours. It is now working perfectly.

As far as the wifi- we have a faulty router and are replacing it with a new and more powerful one. It was not giving us any issues until you said you could not get wifi. Before last week we did not experience any issues.

Sorry for the excuses, but things do break and we do the best we can

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews