We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hermitage Inn
Nearby Hotels
Old Red Mill(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viking Motel(Wilmington)
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Stratton Mountain)
US$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
89
20
8
9
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
20
8
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe private dining roomleather chairsbeautiful paintingsflatbreadchristmas evefine diningget awaycomfortable bedoystersski liftcalled the front deskcheese platewine glassesstayed for one nightcan't wait to go backperfect weekendnew england
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We recently had a wedding at the Hermitage for our daughter. So many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever attended and much of the credit goes to the staff here. Lisa, Rebecca and Steve were all so accommodating and worked so hard to make the day perfect....it was, despite the last minute rain. They went into emergency mode and moved the ceremony to under the covered bridge at the last moment. Nothing was too much for them......nothing was impossible. All of the staff works together to make your stay memorable.
The people at this beautiful Inn are a special group of people.

Room Tip: We took over all the rooms, so, if there was noise, there was no one to blame but ourselves. We stayed in the beautiful Wine Wing and slept to the sound of a rushing brook.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed there for two nights in August with a friend; the inn has tons of charm from the moment you drive through the covered bridge to get to the property. Rooms are recently renovated, and well appointed. The package we had was through Living Social, and thus did not come with breakfast but there are two options for food--a pub and "fine dining" restaurant. There is a spa onsite with dry sauna, and hot tub; game room with pool table, chess, checkers, books, and games. Adjacent to a golf club and near ski/cross country/hiking trails; there is plenty in the winter and the spring. The two towns nearby West Dover and Wilmington have great options for food and drink; Wilmington has little bookstores and cafes.

Staff are friendly and helpful; the kitchen is amazing-- the food was freshly and perfectly prepared. I love eggs Benedict and its rare to get a perfectly poached egg,and a flavorful hollanadaise sauce with roasted potatoes that was not reheated from an earlier roasted batch of potatoes. My friend and I ate all but 1 meal there because the food was great --she's a chef so it wasn't just me. The massage was great! The beds--super soft-- it was like the princess and pea bed. Nightly bonfire is a nice touch. Freshly made cookies delivered to your room in the afternoon.

The only downfall--I think its understaffed-- no one told us about the game rooms, sauna, and hot tub. The massage therapist told us on our second day and was surprised we did not get a tour. The airbed was made upon request but I had to ask for a blanket, as it was going to be 55F that night. For some reason our used wine glasses were not removed, the day after we used them These are minor things--and I just attribute it to a very busy staff--- there was a wedding going on that weekend as well. And my cocktail was very expensive--$14 which is more than I pay in Boston or NYC. Not sure what was up with that.

The inn is smaller than it looks on the website; the house is old so expect some slanted floors and noisy plumbing (I could hear water going thru the pipes). The noise from the bonfires and party traveled a bit; but again, it was a pleasant stay. If you can, avoid the McGovern Room-- the room faces the central AC units and thus is noisy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the McGovern, and found it noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyasa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

As educators, our years is defined from September to June. We always try to carve out time for one last Lomg weekend. Having always stayed at other Select Registry inns and being very familiar with the southern Vermont area, we chose Hermitage. We had a lovely, relaxing get away. Only disappointment was that there was not a complimentary breakfast, however breakfast in the Pub was acceptable. The entrance to the property includes the quintessentially Vermont coved bridge. The room was small but comfortable, a great area of guest ammenities including exercise room, pool table and sauna. Two dining rooms, a bar and beautiful gardens competed the stay.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PJBSCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is a definite destination. We had a very romantic stay. I read previous reviews and stayed in the Wine Wing because of the recommendations. I agree. Stay in this section. Our room was spotless, well appointed. The bathroom was superb. The bed perfect. Our only complaint was the air conditioning was not working that well in our room but even that didn't dampen our stay. We had dinner in the pub - delicious. Pricey but delicious. The staff is wonderful. Everyone. Steve, Rebecca, Celina and the bartender (sorry I can't remember his name) were especially wonderful. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DMZ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I dropped in on the forth of July with the intention of having dinner, which we had heard was amazing (it was!). Rebecca could not have been more accommodating. She arranged for us to stay in the Birch room the first night and McGovern room the next (due to a previous booking). Both rooms were amazing. Clean, adorable, comfortable. The McGovern was definitely a little less quiet (Rebecca had told us as much), but it was a Friday night with the delicious restaurant and bar below us. Food and service were amazing despite a large influx of people that had been sent there from various restaurants in town due to power outage in area ( have a generator there). Breakfast with Rachel on Friday morning was also enjoyable. We took advantage of the Giant mountain bikes on the premise. Grounds were breath taking. Really a no brainer when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews