We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Summit New Years Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grand Summit New Years Party”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just attended a New Years Party at the Grand Summit .... worst event I ever attended. This party started at 10pm; there was an earlier dinner buffet party in the room that this party was being held. when we arrived the room had not been cleaned and reset, dirty dishes ,glasses leftover food on all the tables. The light food for this second party was leftover hor'devores, cake , coffee and some soft drinks!!
No party favors were given and after awhile the staff let anyone in ; no longer checking who payed and who didn't.

The only good thing was that we could leave at midnight as we were not stay at the hotel; could only imagine how bad my stay would have been based on this one event!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KampingKlown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwcjbush, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Summit Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
This was the first year we hosted the New Years Celebration (after party; from 10pm-12am), and we agree, we have plenty of room for improvement! Our intention was to allow guests into the First Night Family Celebration after families with small children retired for the evening. We wanted guests to be able to enjoy the band and a champagne toast at midnight with party favors. Adults were required to pay for entrance; children were free of charge (with accompanying adult).

In speaking with our General Manager and Food and Beverage Manager, here's where we will improve in the future. We ran out of party favors - poor planning on our part, we will have plenty for everyone next year. In hind sight we should have started the "after party" at 10:30pm to allow our staff time to clear the tables that had been vacated, of all dirty dishes, food, etc.

Again, this was our first year and in general very successful. We will be reevaluating the "after party" options for next year, and hope to improve the overall experience for everyone, whether you are attending the full celebration or the after party. We hope you will give us another chance to show you that we appreciate your feedback, and have addressed your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    136
    37
    26
    14
See reviews for
116
91
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal,Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked this lodge style hotel through RCI Exchange. My husband & I stayed the week
of Aug. 21/2011. We got a very nice suite, adjoining rooms with a bedroom and kitchen/
living room area. The rooms were clean and the kitchen was equipped with everything you
need to prepare a full meal. We enjoyed the outdoor heated pool, sauna and spa/message.
The workout room was well equipped and had yoga and aerobic classes scheduled throughout the week. We enjoyed the early morning walks and being in the mountains
we did need a sweater in the morning and evenings. The hotel provides with a listing of
all the restaurants and activities in the area. I must comment that the staff was very friendly and helpful and we appreciated the valet parking. The only drawback for me was that there wasn't much in the way of shopping, we went to the little town of Wilmington for groceries and
we liked the flee market on Saturdays & Sundays. For outlet shopping you have to drive one hour to either Manchester or Bennington. By the way, do bring with you the mosquitoes and black flys repellent, I get a very bad allergic reaction and forgot to bring the Off Deep Woods and calmine lotion, I found them at the Shop Rite Drug store in Wilmington. Nevertheless we enjoy all our vacations, we make the best with what we get!!

Room Tip: Ask if your room is across from the elevator doors. If it is, you should request to change it or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnjoyYourVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is one of those "just fine" type of places; nothing horrible, nothing really outstanding. Property is well maintained; rooms are decent size. It's not particularly fancy; about like a typical Best Western hotel. It's really stretched out - hallways are very long. Small balcony with sitting area. Flat screen TV but minimal channel choice. Coffee maker. Fitness center is better than most properties of this level; also an outside pool. Restaurant is so-so. We found the onsite deli to be a better choice, but it closes mid-afternoon. Bar on site. We had massages at the spa; massage therapists were good. Great fireplaces / sitting areas (although small) in the lobby. Good hiking just outside the doors.

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchenettes - our didn't - be sure to ask if important to you. Also, request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TXRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The Grand Summit Hotel at Mt. Snow is a beautiful lodge style hotel with very nice rooms. As part of an RCI timeshare swap we got what was called a mini-suite. (kitchen/dining area, living room area, separate bedroom, two baths, AC.) As with all hotels of this stature, there was lovely outdoor pool, workout room, and a library, along with various areas to just sit and talk. I imagine that during the winter ski season, pretty much all of this comes in not only handy, but at a premium.
My wife and I are not skiers, hence the off season booking. The golf was excellent. And as far as a place to get away from it all, this was wonderful. Very scenic, views, very good staff and maintenance people. So if you're idea of a vacation is relaxing, maybe reading a good book, even after taking a dip in the pool. This is the place for you.
Now, the caveats: One of the reasons that we booked this hotel was that we were told that, in addition to golf for me, there'd be shopping for my wife. Shopping, within a twenty five mile radius, consists of a lovely souvenir shop, a Rite Aid Pharmacy, and a supermarket. There are actual shopping venues in two directions but each is close to an hour away. There were some nice restaurants though, and our best meals of the week were at The Hermitage, 1846 and a luncheonette called Dots of Dover. I'll save my final caveat for the Restaurants section.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crownvicnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for a week in the "slow" season, but there was so much to do! The staff is wonderful. Kendy the Concierge hosted an RCI-owner orientation the first day of my stay and gave us a lot of information about the local area and scenic drives (everywhere in Vermont is a "scenic drive"!) Upon checking out, Howard the Valet asked, "Do you have your cell phone charger"? Quite a thoughtful reminder :-)

The property is not "dog-friendly," but Kendy told me about the Four Seasons a few miles down 100S, where my sister's two German Shepherds had two days of Dog Park Fun Time! $20/dog/day ($30 overnight), and the staff there obviously likes animals.

The resort's chair lift goes to the mountain summit Friday-Sunday--a roundtrip ticket is $10. There's a lovely view from the top, and a small loop to walk. The walk down can be a bit rough. The sports shop on property rents bikes and asks people to register if hiking the mountain--a prudent safety precaution.

The Grand Summit is about 45 miles from lovely lovely Manchester, and about the same distance to Bennington and Brattleboro. Watch your speed in all the little towns--speed limits drop from 50 to 30 with regularity. It's easy access to hiking in Jamaica State Park (the hike to the Falls is strenuous, but worth it) and Putney Mountain (lovely vistas at the summit after an easy hike).

I didn't eat at the Cafe or Hamilton's on property--there were too many fun diners and restaurants in the area. But the menus at both looked quite good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookswithpassionVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My brother's wedding was this weekend at the Grand Summit. We had a total of 80 people and we all stayed at the resort. It was better than anything we could have anticipated. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was amazing and put up with all of us! The wedding reception was held in the ballroom. It was fantastic. The room was beautifully decorated , food and drink were great. The view up there was breathtaking. I plan to visit the resort again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathybol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is our third stay at this hotel. We have loved every one of them! It is a true get-away. This time we only stayed one night but felt like we were someplace special. Rooms are large and comfortable. Two adults and two teens were very comfortable in the room. The full kitchen is nice for storing snacks and drinks - It's large enough and supplied with the basic pot/pans you could cook a full meal! Staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean. Looking forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mew6160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
16.4 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
10.3 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Snow Goose Inn
Snow Goose Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Address: 39 Mount Snow Road, PO Box 2805, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover
Grand Summit Resort Hotel Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing