We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Somewhere between average and very good.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middletown, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Somewhere between average and very good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times while skiing at Mt Snow. The building is part hotel and part time share condos. I'm not sure if any of the hotel rooms face the mountain (the hotel is at the base, not the summit as the name suggests). This busy place is a little rough around the edges but clean. There is a restaurant, deli, and ski shop right in the building. The first time I stayed I came with a brand-new girlfriend- we had just met. Although I reserved a two-bed room we ended up getting a single king-sized bed. It wasn't a problem- the bed was so big we were essentially sleeping apart. The beds are nothing fancy, by the way, no pillow tops here, but they're reasonably comfortable. The common areas of the hotel are impressive, with a Western timber-frame feel, leather chairs and sofas. Given this you're a little surprised when you enter the room, and find it to be so basic, but you're not supposed to be spending a lot of time in the room. By the way, our room was on the northern side of the building, with a view of the quad chair. They cranked that lift up early in the morning, to get it ready for the day, and made enough noise to wake us. If you're a light sleeper you might want to request a room in another part of the building. Otherwise noise was not a problem.

Grand Summit is a good, convenient place to stay while skiing at Mount Snow. It's possible to get a good deal with a ski-and-stay package, and that's what I recommend doing.

Room Tip: Early morning noise from quad chair on the north side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    126
    35
    26
    14
See reviews for
106
88
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went late in season and was lucky to have 20 inches fall in 24 hours. Hotel is 4 star quality - nothing fancy. Rooms are ok - 3 of us in the room. there are larger rooms with kitchens. the pool is great - kids love to be in heated pool while its snowing. Food in Harrimans rest is fine - not fine dining - but just fine. Restaurants in surrounding area better than you can find at okemo. Very nice deli where you can get b'fast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WC8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Mount Snow has been my favorite Vermont destination for over 15 years. This was the first time I stayed at the Grand Summit Resort however, as a Christmas gift from my fiancé. The Resort was what you would expect from a ski lodge. Everyone was incredibly friendly, and you can't beat the ski in ski out accommodations. The room was fully equipped with everything we needed, including a full kitchen set up which was a really nice surprise. That being said, the room felt kind of dated from the mattress to the linens to the decor. But again, it was what you would expect from a ski lodge. We tried to eat at the Harriman's Farm to Table Restaurant located in the hotel. The menu - prices and offerings - made it appear to be a more upscale type restaurant, but when we went down it was loud and crowded with children running around and it had a very casual feel. We opted to eat in our room instead, which worked out fine. I will say that the burgers and drinks that we had at the 1900' Burger however were STELLAR!!! We would go back just for that!!! All in all, I love Mount Snow and will definitely return. I might stay at the Grand Summit Resort again based on the slopeside convenience, but I may opt for a more cost effective alternative since it didn't fully meet my expectations for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tippy0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been going to Grand Summit for about 15 years. Three years ago, we decided to buy a quartershare so that we actually own the condo with 3 other couples. A great investment since we go there at least 3-4 times a year. And when we are not there, our weeks are rented out so there is nice income for us. Especially during ski season! The staff is always very accommodating and friendly. We love some of the restaurants in the area and are used to getting 4-star meals at them. Harriman's on site is very nice, too. We have never had a bad meal there. Service is always great. Since it only takes about 1 1/2 hours to get there from our home, it is extremely convenient. We highly recommend going there for a nice relaxing getaway.

Another reviewer said that May was not a good time to go there. Sorry, but our May experiences have been great. It is quieter (provided it is not the Tough Mudder weekend). We have been going in May and September for the last three years. We were there from May 25 - 30 this year (2014). Owners services called to let me know that the Tough Mudder was happening starting 5/31 which is when we were supposed to be there. But we changed to the week prior to avoid the madness.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a mountain view room. Rooms on the other side of the hall look out at the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaC1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Grand Summit Resort Hotel is a sprawling facility with something for everyone--spa, game room, pool, etc. It's an older building (can tell by the creakiness of the floors), but very well-maintained. The marketplace offers a nice breakfast (or snacks throughout the day), and the staff were all very friendly. We were there during "mud season" (before the late spring/early summer tourist season starts), so it wasn't very crowded and many surrounding restaurants weren't open. The only downside was the limited parking out front and the need to park down a winding downhill road in a dirt parking lot (which is certainly not appropriate for professional meetings when it is wet/raining).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

If it's may don't stay in west Dover at Grand Summit Vermont.
I have stayed here at least half a dozen times in the past four years most of those times have been in the summer or the fall. This was a first for spring . skiing season just ended two weeks ago here and there still snow on the mountain tops of Mount Snow. I don't ski but I'm not much for winter sports I prefer summer sports so I basically come here from New York City to chill out. We expected that the restaurant would be closed and many area attractions would be closed this time of year and that was fine. However what we did not expect was the service or lack thereof at the grand Summit Lodge where I have a timeshare. We actually have three units this week and there are five of us staying all women.
We're mostly from New York City so we really just wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle in the noise and breathe some fresh air in the green mountains of Vermont.
I booked this as an exchange through Rci and we each had one bedroom and studio units which are nicely appointed. The beds are very comfortable and it's a usable kitchenette and the Murphy bed is very comfortable.
As I said it was very quiet here or so I thought.
First it's a large lodge. Kind of feels like the shining and spring I expected for Jack Nicholson to jump out around the corner at me. Or at least have some big wheeled bicycles and a couple of twins asking me to come join them.
But what really was scary about this trip was at first we had some construction workers staying here and they put them on top of us and they were pouncing on the on the floor all morning at 6 AM.
Then they decided to test the in room fire alarms which are excruciatingly loud at 9 AM for three or more days in a row at several intermites.
Then they forgot to clean our room several days in a row or leave towels or anything else.
All that was fine and well but then they started doing construction in the one whole way out of many that we happen to be staying in.
When we arrived back to our unit from a day out here they were spraying chemicals and putting together construction on furniture in the hallways.
So far and we are still here we're lucky not to of been sent to the hospital.
As of yet they have not compensated us for any of these incidents.
Because of this I do not recommend that you come here in the spring in May or even June.
If you come anytime from June through October it will be many weddings taking place here on each weekend and the cars and motorcycles are numerous and it's very difficult park and the parties continue after after midnight. However during the week it's like a ghost town.
I stayed here before and have enjoyed my visits as long as it's not in the spring. When Harrimans restaurant is open it is excellent and have many different craft beers and local food it is Farm to table restaurant. However that is not open in May.
There's a huge pool and several hot tubs located outside that are open till 9 PM as well as a game room and owners library adding owners lounge that is accessible with your room Key.
There is a 70 inch flat screen TV in the owners lounge that is available for use if you get there first. As well as a full kitchen couches and games that you are able to utilize for your family or friends.

Room Tip: DONT GO IN SPRINGTIME, all renovations going on unannounced
See more room tips
Green Features: On this visit they sprayed chemicals everywhere. Could have been nice but they choose to spray in our hallway and we were the only ones there. I asked them to stop and they did.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campo84748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow for a business conference being held at the Hotel. The experience was a very good one in every regard. Accommodations were very comfortable and pleasant. The staff was outgoing, friendly and fully attentive - just like you would find in a country inn. The location of the Grand Summit is beautiful even during this between seasons period in Vermont Ski Country. We used the facility amenities including the heated outdoor pool, spa area hot tubs, and steam and sauna rooms and all were in fine order and fully functional. The food at Grand Summit was the best we tasted on our three day trip; truly farm to table as advertised. Our dinners were exceptional and very competitively priced with local restaurants. Wonderful scenic location, fine accommodations, and good eats - hard to beat. I left the Grand Summit totally pleased at having had a wonderful stay and frankly, thinking I want to come back in the summer or during the fall change of seasons high tourist season in VT.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice - it had a outdoor balcony seating area. The room was fully outfitted with m...
See more room tips
Green Features: Green all the way around! Guests encouraged to conserve and be environmentally friendly. Containers for beverage bottles and can, plastics readily available in eating areas. Guests are provided environmentally safe amenities and options to conserve.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
10.3 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
10.3 mi away
Stratton Mountain Resort
Stratton Mountain Resort
#1 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#6 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow

Property: Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow
Address: 89 Grand Summit Way, Dover, VT 05356
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escaping to a world of complete relaxation and exhilaration to fulfill your next great adventure craving has never been easier than visiting the Mount Snow Grand Summit Resort Hotel. Located in the renowned Green Mountains our idyllic, year-round resort is an incomparable staging ground for your outdoor vacation activities with family, or for a romantic getaway. We offer guests just about every amenity imaginable so there is truly something for everyone. This is in part why we’re fast becoming a leading wedding and conference destination. Let us help you begin your Grand Vermont adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Summit Resort Hotel at Mount Snow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Summit Hotel
Summit West Dover
West Dover Summit
Grand Summit West Dover
Grand Summit Resort Hotel At Mount Snow Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing