We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with a Great Host”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I recently traveled up to Dover to participate in the Green Mountain Challenge, and after some tough, exciting, vigorous days it was nice to come back to Cyndee at the Snow Goose Inn. The inn gives you a sense of warm and comfort like you are in your own home. Cyndee goes above and beyond to make your stay in Dover the best it can possibly be. We enjoyed it, especially the wine and cheese hour, and will definitely be returning again. Possibly to do another Green Mountain Challenge next year or ski!!! Thanks Cyndee and Ron!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

My partner and I just recently stayed at the Snow Goose Inn for 4 days. What a truly amazing experience. Cyndee is just wonderful. She has the type of personality where you feel as if you've known her forever after just a brief conversation! The Inn was spotlessly clean and our room was just wonderful. Beautiful fireplace, amazingly comfortable bed, pillows and linen, and the overall decor truly personifies a Vermont Bed & Breakfast experience. Our huge jacuzzi tub awaited our tired, traveled bodies with an amazing herbal bath experience that left the whole room smelling amazing!! Waking up and stepping out onto our balcony listening to the small creatures waking up and stirring was as refreshing as the amazing night's sleep to be had here. Every morning we awoke to the most amazing smells of fresh baked bread and blueberry muffins mixed with the smells of brown sugary country bacon!! Wonderfully fresh food that embraces the locality it's served in!! Hospitable just doesn't cut it to describe the service and attentiveness that Cyndee and her staff showed us. Our two English Bulldogs were welcomed with open arms and the staff was so sweet to them!! Cyndee is a wealth of information on what there is to do and how to make your visit to the area the best experience it can be. Interesting stories and tidbits on local restaurants and points of interest. There simply isnt a better experience to be had while visiting this beautiful state. We cannot thank Cyndee and her husband Ron enough for the wonderful experience we had as their guests. We WILL definitely return!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSandersCorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Cyndee and the crew make you feel like you are at home. We referred to Cyndee as the Mayor of Mount Snow, as she knows everything that is going on, where to eat/not eat etc. Truly a class act, she (and her staff) went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay, including making sure Mt Snow had every trail open at the end of March! (That's how good she is....LOL!!) We couldn't ask for a better place to stay for a family vacation. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 364ERICB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our family of 5 had a magnificent vacation, thanks to Cyndee and her staff at Snow Goose Inn. Our room was spacious and well kept, the hospitality was heartwarming and the property was picturesque. My husband, myself and our 3 children (ages 6, 9 and 10) were welcomed with open arms. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleDeVitoDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a great experience at the Snow Goose Inn this weekend. Cindy, the hostess, and her staff were extremely helpful and really made us feel at home, including our 2 children. The food was wonderful, as were the complimentary wine and cheese in the evening! Enjoyed our spacious room and location as well. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Warm and friendly B&B. Right off route 100, but set back enough to avoid road noise. About a dozen rooms, a mile from the lifts and near good restaurant options. Wine and cheese by the fire each night.

Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and a warm muffin followed by several choices of cooked to order entrees

Cyndee and her team are always very welcoming. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKNJCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We decided to stay overnight in Dover to go skiing at Mount Snow the following day. We couldn't have made a better choice than the Snow Goose Inn. When we pulled up to the Inn, we were immediately attracted to the historic New England charm. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff was extremely pleasant and accomodating and Cyndee's homestyle cooking was fantastic! We would go back for the breakfast bacon alone. This was our first stay but is definitely not our last.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#6 of 12 in Dover
138 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Bears Lodge
Big Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Dover
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £135 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing