We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont Hospitality at its Best”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
1 review
“Vermont Hospitality at its Best”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent a wonderful five nights at the Snow Goose and would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away, enjoy the comforts of a lovely Vermont Inn and the hospitality of a gracious host. Cyndee goes out of her way to ensure that her guests are well cared for -- from wine and cheese on the back deck every evening to a delicious, homemade breakfast (including the inn's special blueberry muffins) each morning. She also helps with suggestions for local activities and restaurants. Many of the rooms have a deck and air conditioning to ensure comfort in the summer and fireplaces for cooler times. Thank you to Cyndee and her daughter-in-law for a relaxing vacation retreat. We would love to visit again -- hopefully during ski season!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmsloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voluntown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We arrived, and our gracious host Cyndee greeted us with a big smile. The Inn was cozy, quaint, and relaxing after long days on the Adventure Challenge. Cyndee was very accommodating for us, and offered up an express breakfast if we wanted so we could get a jump on our excursions. The breakfast muffins are amazing. All of the staff were very nice. My wife and I would highly recommend staying with Cyndee at the Snow Goose Inn, and if we do the Adventure Challenge next year we have found our spot to stay! Thanks Cyndee!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanInVTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I were looking for a nice weekend away for our anniversary. The Snow Goose Inn was just what we were looking for. It was quaint, charming, and in a fabulous location. There were a couple of great restaurants close by and Mount Snow was easy to get to for our hiking trip. Our room was spacious with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace along with an extremely comfortable bed. The owner is very friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay great. There was wine and cheese out on the deck in the evening and a fantastic breakfast in the morning! Overall we had a great time and would highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah11698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Snow Goose Inn in July for one night. We wish it had been longer. The rooms are spacious, clean and decorated very nicely. in the morning, we went down to a lovely dining room and were greeted by Cindy, the owner, who whipped us up a wonderful breakfast complete with delicious blueberry muffins and maple infused bacon.
The previous night we had been out late with family from out of town. I called and Cindy was able to accommodate the two couples with rooms for the night and was VERY gracious about it.
Although we visited in summer, I imagine The Snow Goose Inn is truly delightful in the Autumn and Winter with it's lovely rooms, many with fireplaces. A definite thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are air conditioned, some have balconies and fireplaces. King and Queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann Trembla... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a pleasant surprise we had on a spur of the moment trip. As our daughter was in a competition early the next morning, Cyndee (innkeeper) came in extra early and had our breakfast waiting for us. She even offered us "to go" coffees. The rooms are quaint and homey and we felt comfortable the minute we walked in. The rooms are nicely appointed and ours had a fireplace. Would definitely recommend the Snow Goose!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanC813813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Snow Goose Inn. Our room was very relaxing and comfortable. The setting is very tranquil and the deck out back is a great place to kick back and be with friends or family. The owners, Cindy and Ron, are great hosts and made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious and "hit the spot" both days! Everyone there seemed to be enjoying their stay as much as us. I highly recommend the Snow Goose if you're visiting Dover, Wilmington, Stratton or just passing through the area. We look forward to going back soon!
Doug M

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

If you are looking for hospitality, you have found it here at the Snow Goose. Innkeepers Cindy and Ron have mastered the art of unobtrusive, yet genuine and friendly service. Very conveniently located with comfortable rooms, one feels at home here. Breakfast can be as communal or private as you would like and you can indulge in Cindy's yummy muffins and pancakes or keep on the health track with a lighter version of eggs Benedict (you will never miss the hollandaise sauce........really). Enjoy your own fireplace in the winter or gaze at hummingbirds in the summer whether you are preparing to enjoy all that Southern Vermont has to offer or plan to kick back with a good book. There is something for everyone here. I highly recommend the Snow Goose.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing