We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at Snow Goose for our 26th Anniversary. Quaint rooms, ours overlooked the front and had access to the upstairs porch. Cyndee and her qualified staff rolled out the red carpet for breakfast. Many choices of tasty Vermont products and specialties for all and mix and match if you like. The area was absolutely gorgeous. Opportunity to play the nearby golf course and took LOTS of pictures. Highly recommend Snow Goose for your getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were in town for the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge and chose the Snow Goose Inn as our lodging option based on all the great reviews. We weren't disappointed! The inn was clean, comfortable, quiet and convenient! Our room was large, with a queen bed, private balcony and jetted tub for 2, and plenty of hot water!. The bed was quite comfortable. Cyndee was a great hostess and cook. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, starting with the fresh blueberry muffins and fresh fruit cup, followed by a great selection of eggs, omelets, homemade bread, French toast, pancakes, etc. After hiking all day it was nice to 'come home' to a comfortable place. I don't have a single negative thing to say about the Snow Goose Inn. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMS451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited the Snow Goose for our first time and it was one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. The Snow Goose is the epitome of a Vermont B&B: warm, quaint and relaxing. Cyndee takes customer service to a whole new level with her engaging personality, wine & cheese by the fireplace and her delicious breakfast. We are going to schedule multiple trips back this winter and we are looking forward to another great experience!

Sam and Chad - South Boston, MA

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We recently stayed as part of the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge and have to say, it was such a great experience. The GMAC was great, but the stay at the Snow Goose Inn was what made the whole experience that much better! Cyndee was an excellent innkeeper! She was friendly, accommodating and made the stay awesome. The breakfasts every morning, which fueled us for the days of long hikes, etc, were amazing! The inn was quaint, clean and very cozy. The room was nice with a fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. We had stayed at another in a few weeks prior to this trip and there just was no comparison at all! We will be back for sure! Thank you for a great stay Cyndee!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

From start to finish, our three day stay at the Snow Goose was great. The rooms are large and comfortable with a mixture of a traditional Vermont Inn and modern conveniences. Cyndee and her staff (including hubby Ron to fill in when needed) were terrific. The breakfasts, which included anything you could dream of, carried us through the day of gruelling hard work imposed on us by the team leader of our Green Mountain Adventure Challenge expedition. But in all seriousness, the combination of the Inn and the Challenge provided for a memorable stay in Dover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the Snow Goose in in August 2013. Planning on participating in Tough Mudder, I started looking for a room for 3 2 months prior and initially couldn't find any vacancies near the mountain at nice places. Snow Goose to the rescue! Host Cyndee booked me for a room for 2 and promised if something else bigger opened up she'd call. Sure enough, she called 1 month later. Unfortunately my teammates ended up dropping out. I was delighted to find the Snow Goose more than met my expectations. The room was bright, quiet, and clean without the clutter that sometimes accompanies a stay at a country inn. The bed was medium firm and comfortable, the gardens lovely, the common spaces highly inviting, the breakfast delicious, and the afternoon wine and cheese an unexpected treat. Cyndee met each guest and introduced us to each other, letting me know who else had done or would be doing the Tough Mudder so we could compare notes. She had a wealth of information on local restaurants and helped me find a delicious grilled tuna salad a short walk up the road. After my race she treated me to 1/2 a pint of blueberries and even sent me off with printed instructions on shortcutting the traffic in Wilmington on my way home! I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Snow Goose Inn as part of a package to do the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge and were 110% satisfied. the room had a wood burning fire place, a huge jacuzzi tub (perfect after miles and miles of hiking) and a deck that went out to the gardens and sitting area. We were also able to bring our pug with us. Cyndee was an amazing innkeeper and is one of the major reasons we will make sure to return here. She was polite and cheerful, made an amazing breakfast, and went out of her way to accommodate us. We really feel that she went above and beyond to help us and we are truly thankful. We talked with other guests throughout our stay and it seems that everyone shared the same feeling. The GMAC was mentally and physically challenging, and it was great to have a place to come back to recharge and refuel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#5 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.3 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#7 of 12 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing