We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and disappointing”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Hamden, CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dirty and disappointing”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was so disappointed with my stay at this B and B . I picked this B and B because of the # 1 ranking. It certainly doesn't deserve such a high rating. There are much nicer B and B s in West Dover that are of a higher quality for the same price (robes, bath and body lotions, updated bathrooms with double sinks, beautiful porch, flat screen TV ) Our room at the Snow Goose had a mildewed shower curtain, stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, outdated furniture, broken porch and an old TV. Not even the breakfast was that outstanding. The blueberry muffins might be the inn's only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mdkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Snow Goose Inn when we did the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge, we chose a package for a standard room and the weekend we chose didn't have any standard rooms available so they upgraded us to a bigger room. The place was really nice and charming our room was clean and the breakfast was great! The only thing I could say is that this place can use a little updating when it comes to wallpaper and decor in the room and maybe a little more cleaning. Overall the Snow Goose inn is definitely worth visiting. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I were in town for the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge, and the package that we purchased included a standard room at one of the many local inns. We chose the Snow Goose Inn (after all of the outstanding reviews on TripAdvisor). The Inn did not have standard rooms available for Labor Day weekend, but Cyndee generously upgraded us to a fabulous room with a fireplace, jacuzzi and balcony for no extra cost. The B&B was incredibly accommodating of our fairly late arrival from Boston.

Breakfast each morning was AWESOME, with the option to choose from many different dishes off of a menu. We left breakfast each morning stuffed and ready for full days of hiking. We would definitely return the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnerville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Recently we stayed at the Snow Goose Inn and had a wonderful night! Last year, we were the high bidder in an auction for a night at the Snow Goose, due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to use our gift certificate before the expiration date. I contacted Cyndee and she could not have been more gracious about extending our certificate. Upon our arrival at the Snow Goose we found out our room had been upgraded! We were in a room even larger than we needed but the room was great! We had a view of the back gardens & the front of the inn. The room was very large, the bed was comfy, the bathroom large. The A/C worked great, there was a TV and a loveseat and the wireless was free! There was a lovely wood burning fireplace but it was too warm to use. In the evening there was wine and cheese on the deck. Come the morning, there was a fabulous breakfast!!! Your choice of menu options, made just for you! Starting with wonderful muffins and coffee, fruit plate, fresh juice and the entrée of your choice & great home cured bacon! Mmm, Mmm, It was all DELICIOUS!! Also, hummingbirds at the back window feeders for entertainment. Cyndee and Ron could not have been more gracious, welcoming and accommodating! Thank You and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meehanlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at Snow Goose for our 26th Anniversary. Quaint rooms, ours overlooked the front and had access to the upstairs porch. Cyndee and her qualified staff rolled out the red carpet for breakfast. Many choices of tasty Vermont products and specialties for all and mix and match if you like. The area was absolutely gorgeous. Opportunity to play the nearby golf course and took LOTS of pictures. Highly recommend Snow Goose for your getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were in town for the Green Mountain Adventure Challenge and chose the Snow Goose Inn as our lodging option based on all the great reviews. We weren't disappointed! The inn was clean, comfortable, quiet and convenient! Our room was large, with a queen bed, private balcony and jetted tub for 2, and plenty of hot water!. The bed was quite comfortable. Cyndee was a great hostess and cook. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, starting with the fresh blueberry muffins and fresh fruit cup, followed by a great selection of eggs, omelets, homemade bread, French toast, pancakes, etc. After hiking all day it was nice to 'come home' to a comfortable place. I don't have a single negative thing to say about the Snow Goose Inn. I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMS451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We visited the Snow Goose for our first time and it was one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in. The Snow Goose is the epitome of a Vermont B&B: warm, quaint and relaxing. Cyndee takes customer service to a whole new level with her engaging personality, wine & cheese by the fireplace and her delicious breakfast. We are going to schedule multiple trips back this winter and we are looking forward to another great experience!

Sam and Chad - South Boston, MA

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
Layla's Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing