We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic hospitality in an ideal location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Dover B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Classic hospitality in an ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Cyndee, Ron and her team love what they do, and that love translates directly into the experience they provide their guests. The Snow Goose is a lovely and charming inn run by warm and attentive people. My lady and I were there to ski, and the inn's delicious breakfast begins early enough to hit the mountain for first tracks but runs late enough for anyone who's looking for a more leisurely start to the day. The rooms are charming and well appointed, and the fireplaces make for a warm and romantic environment. The inn seems to be self-selecting in terms of guests: everyone else in the inn during our time there was friendly and happy. My *solitary* critique would be that the mattress in the first room we were in was too hard for our liking, but Cyndee didn't bat an eye when we asked to switch rooms. After switching rooms, it was the ideal stay in a perfect place.

Room Tip: We have a tempurpedic mattress at home, and we're accustomed to plush but supportive beds. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfKiteSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
207
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montville, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Loved my visit to Snow Goose- exactly what I was looking for- quaint B&B with awesome breakfast choices, close to skiing/restaurants/activities. Owners Cyndee and Ron were the most gracious hosts, and made sure that all my needs were met- shortcuts to Stratton, tips on best restaurants, recos on hiking etc. Plus the highlight was the happy hour every eve, talking to Cyndee/Ron and fellow guests by a wonderful fire, and drinking wine (or tea!) with Vermont cheese, and hearing and telling great stories! Loved it!!

My POV: This may not be the best place for you if you:
- prefer standardized hotel accommodations
- hate eating breakfast
- want to have wild, loud all-nite parties on site
- expect luxurious furniture, huge/wide screen TVs (though rooms have TVs, + free wireless!)

Otherwise, I highly reco Snow Goose!

Room Tip: Let Cyndee know your needs and she can recommend the best room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biedross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The inn is the perfect place for a getaway. The inn keeper Cyndee is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. She is also a superb chef who offers an extensive breakfast menu featuring local ingredients. The incredible Vermont cheddar is also available after skiing with wine by the fire place.

The property is gorgeous and really convenient for skiing at Mount Snow or hiking. Cyndee has tons of recommendations for experiencing Vermont during winter and summer. The rooms are large yet cozy with fireplaces and jacuzzis.

I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Recently stayed here for a short ski trip to Mount Snow. The inn is very comfortable, and family friendly. They have rooms that can accommodate a variety of family sizes. Right down the road from Mount Snow, Timber Creek XC, and plenty more.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious, and a great way to start a day on the slopes. Cindy, the host is such a wonderful woman. She made our family feel very welcome and at home. She was wonderful to sit and chat with, and extremely helpful with suggestions on dining, etc We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlabbe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I spent Valentine weekend at the Snow Goose and had a wonderful time. We have been going to Mount Snow for years and have always stayed on the mountain but decided to change it up. It could not have worked out any better. Our room was really comfortable and having a fireplace really made our nights cozy. The breakfast that Cyndee and her staff put together every morning was spectacular. I'm still craving the eggs benedict. We can't wait to return to the Snow Goose inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoddard, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

we got married in Oct & came here for our honeymoon .nice location ,friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Nice breakfast that they put on in the morning. Not far away from really good dinning & skiing , night life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark677108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My new fiance and I spend two nights at the Snow Goose and couldn't have asked for more. Location is great - right next to the mountain and nestled among several local restaurants/pubs. Accomondations were great- awesome breakfast, wine n' cheese in the afternoon, fire place, jacuzzi, etc. Not too mention Cyndee was a huge help with the proposal aspect - setting up some champange and roses. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 13 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Mount Snow
Inn at Mount Snow
#10 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 13 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing