We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely place with great hosts”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I had a great time last weekend attending a college fraternity reunion. Ron and Cyndee provided the perfect location and environment for this event. Their warmth and efficiency in providing everything necessary made this a perfect stay. The food was great, and the guests found comfortable spaces for reminiscing and making new friends. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I went for my M.I.T. Fraternity reunion. The owners and staff were wonderful. The location ideal... Now I want to come during ski season since it's so ideally located. We loved the ambiance, the decor, the setting. The landscaping was beautiful. Just wait until you get up, go on the front porch and enjoy multiple cups of coffee as you gaze and absorb the beautiful surroundings. They handled our group of 20+ wonderfully. The breakfasts were outstanding food-wise as well as the atmosphere they created... Loved the living area ideal for book reading... Nothing negative to say about this place... Great for a romantic getaway as well. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and loved it since it had door to the inside of Inn as well as to the front porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ramon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just completed group outing weekend at the Snow Goose Inn. Cyndee and staff did a superb job making sure everyone was comfortable and well taken care of. The inn's outdoor spaces were perfect for the early August Vermont weather.

Can't wait for the return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steve_tx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cyndee and Ron Frere masterfully handled our reunion this weekend. No attendee had to think about any logistics. Meals, golf, hiking, informal receptions, etc. all well thought through and executed perfectly. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. If anyone is looking for a place to handle about 30 guests convenient to Boston and New York in Southern Vermont in the shadow of Mount Snow, call Cyndee and Ron to see if they can accomodate your event.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bruce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Just what you think of for a Vermont Inn. The room (13) was large, comfortable and charming. We had a private balcony overlooking the woods. Cindee the owner was friendly and helpful. When I called to make reservations we discussed various dining options ( I knew some restaurants from my last visit, five years earlier). Cindee was very knowledgable of the area. The breakfast the next morning was great.

The inn gives off a warm, snugly feeling. A Vermont feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Like our previous visit, my husband and I had a great stay. The food was great and the room was charming and rustic. We felt like royal guests with the outstanding service you and your team provided. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifgirly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just returned from another very relaxing and comfortable stay at the Snow Goose Inn. There is not much more to add to our last year’s review (see "A Great Find"): the rooms and the bathrooms are still large and comfortable; there are numerous comfortable public areas, outdoors and indoors; the breakfasts are magnificent; and, despite the fact that we were a large group, with a multitude of needs, and the inn was full, everyone felt well-taken care of. We enjoyed meeting other guests at Cyndee’s wine and cheese hour and, of course, chatting with Cyndee and Ron. We are all looking forward to another stay next year in our Vermont “home away from home”.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
168 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#6 of 12 in Dover
137 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £137 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing