We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow Goose Inn....What an AMAZING INN.....”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Can't say enough about this place, The Inn Keepers are truly wonderful......The Inn is beautiful very roomy....We stayed in Room 6 Family suite WOW plenty of space with kids...Fireplace in room was awesome....Oh and the Breakfast was out of this world the Bacon was to die for!!! And the homemade blueberry muffins yummmy!!!!! Location was great 2min if that to the MTN!!! and Lots of Resturants in the area!!!! Can't wait to go back!!!! I have to say there was NOT one thing that we disliked about this place!!!!!
The Snow Goose Inn is the place to stay in West Dover, VT :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmdelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

Just stayed at the Snow Goose Inn this past weekend and had a wonderful time. Inn owners, Ron and Cyndee Frere couldn't have been more warm and receptive. The room accomodations were perfect for our extended family, including our dog! The breakfasts, were more than we expected in quantity and quality. We didn't need lunch!! Saturday afternoon by the fireside with a glass of wine and cheese was charming. The Inn provides public spaces for mingling with other guests if one wishes or quiet little nooks to escape to. All this under the watchful eye and affable personality of Cyndee . There's much to do in the area. We will definitely return to the Snow Goose!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoystravel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Great spot. We were looking for a place to just relax and be together. We skied the day and checked in that afternoon. The first thing we needed after a long day of skiing was a hot bath so we took advantage of the two-person jacuzzi. After that we went down the road for a quick bite to eat and came back, lit the fire (which was VERY easy to do), and sat down in front of the fireplace (in our room) with a glass of wine. We woke up the next morning and had a delicious breakfast of omelette, chocolate chip pancakes, and bacon. Cyndee was a great host and did everything she could to make us relaxed and satisfied. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobluelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My now husband and I used the Snow Goose Inn for our private wedding ceremony. It was the perfect backdrop for our wedding. Cyndee performed the ceremony and made it so special, she even bought me a bouquet from my family for the ceremony. She stayed in contact with us and our families very closely as we planned the wedding. The evening wine and cheese was a great way to meet other guests and talk more with Cyndee. She gave great restaurant recommendations in the area and even secured our lunch plans for after the ceremony. The food was amazing! The toast (baked in house) was the best I have ever had and you can not beat the chocolate chip pancakes and brown sugar bacon. We got to know Cyndee and some of her family during our stay and will always have fond wonderful memories of this perfect stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Cyndee & Ron Frere are incredible bed & breakfast hosts. Their honeymoon suite is to die for--large hot tub with jacuzzi jets, wood burning fire place that really works, sky lites in the bedroom and large windows so light is let in without compromising privacy. We felt so welcomed, pampered, and well taken care of. My long time partner and myself decided to get married and wanted a low key, private affair. The Snow Goose Inn is the perfect place for this kind of wedding. Cyndee is a justice of the peace and made all of the arrangements very simple for us. She married us in front of a roaring fire in the Snow Goose Inn's living room and Ron took pictures for us. It was perfect. We highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn just for a getaway or for a wedding. The accomodations are great and so are the breakfasts. My husband & myself have travelled to many B & B's in the states as well as Europe and the Snow Goose Inn is one of the best that we have ever stayed in. Thank you again Cyndee & Ron. We look forward to seeing you again around our 1st wedding anniversary!!!

Ben & Jan

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celtic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Our family took a quick, after Christmas get away to Mt Snow. Vermont was in it's full glory with snowy cold weather. The best part of our visit was the Snow Goose Inn! Cynee greets you by your name and makes sure your stay is warm and friendly. The rooms are clean. The beds are super comfortable. The breakfast that comes with the room is worth the trip north! If you want a comfort place to stay in a friendly environment then the Snow Goose Inn is a sure bet!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We are sitting and munching on Vermont Cheese and reminiscing about the fabulous long weekend spent at the Snow Goose Inn. We can't say enough about how warm, appealing, cozy, and welcoming the Inn and the Inn keepers, Cyndee and Ron Freres were to us. The room was ample in size with a working fireplace and comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely with a whirlpool bath and plenty of hot water. Breakfast each morning was made to order and wonderful. There was also ample rooms to lounge around on the computer, play scrabble, and mix with other guests at the evening wine and cheese. We absolutely loved this Inn and look forward to making it part of our family new years tradition!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponypalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.3 mi away
Snow Lake Lodge
Snow Lake Lodge
#3 of 3 in Dover
173 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Hermitage Inn
The Hermitage Inn
#7 of 12 in Dover
140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
134 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#2 of 12 in Dover
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £130 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing