We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You know that warm feeling you get when coming home - Welcome to the Snow Goose Inn; it's like coming home!”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Schuylerville
2 reviews
“You know that warm feeling you get when coming home - Welcome to the Snow Goose Inn; it's like coming home!”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We went to the Snow Goose Inn for my sister's wedding. We were welcomed by a wonderful letter mapping our way to our room - like a little treasure hunt! Once in our room, we were welcomed with a basket of Vermont treats and folders full of information that my sister and her new husband put together for all of us who stayed there! (Cyndee let my sister in to each room to do this; you certainly wouldn't find that in your typical hotel/motel.) Our room had a little patio right outside the french glass door, also it was airconditioned! The Inn is welcoming, warm, and "user friendly"! I was even allowed in the kitchen!!! (I find that wonderful!) Cyndee is the most gracious hostess; warm, friendly and extremely helpful and being in her 'home' - you feel right at home! The food was WONDERFUL, as were the people who work with/for her! The level of hospitality is nearly unfounded today, so kudos to her and her staff!! This was one of the most relaxing weddings I have had the pleasure of being at! My husband and I look forward to going 'home' to the Snow Goose Inn at some time in the future; nearby is kayaking, hiking trails, bike trails, scuba diving, skiing etc. and I highly recommend going there if you are looking to relax in a warm, inviting environment!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMcSchuylerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton, NY
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This was our first time at an Inn/Bed & Breakfast. It was for a wedding and the entire Inn was reserved for guests of the wedding only. We had a fabulous time, as Cyndee was on top of every last detail and seemed more like a family member than an Innkeeper. My husband and I were very impressed with the breakfast-- what a treat! The rooms were clean and fully operational. We felt right at home. If we plan to visit Vermont again, we would absolutely choose to stay at the Snowgoose.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLancey, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

My sister had her wedding here on june 5th 2010. The people are wonderful, Cyndee, Sarah and everyone couldn't have been nicer. I felt right at home the minute I walked thru the door! I would recommend this place to everyone, the rooms are great, the food was fantastic!! Cyndee makes you feel like part of her family, I come from a large family and she made us all feel very welcome and comfortable. We're thinking of having our next girls weekend there!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyVDeLancey_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at the Snow Goose Inn for the first time last week, and it was great! Small town with lots of outdoor activities available. Cyndee and Ron were so friendly and hospitable, but also aware of each couple's needs, whether it be for solitude or social engagement. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, and it was roomy, bright, and inviting. The jacuzzi tub was the best feature, extra roomy for two, but the king sized feather bed and the large flat screen TV were also great. And the breakfast...fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NhKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

The rooms are very clean, with a homey, rustic feel. The breakfast was SUPERB. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Very close to Mt. Snow and all that you expect from Vermont. All the fresh snow helped the experience, but our host was especially helpful. Room are B&B like, but the Inn is big enough that you can find some privacy. Perfect breakfast to fuel you for skiing or whatever your day brings.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PeterTosh721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2010

A great spot for skiing mount snow. Only minutes away from the mountain right on route 100. One of the best breakfasts I have had anywhere. Everything was, organic, local, fresh made, etc. Great muffins, anything made exactly how you want it. Such a filling breakfast I didn't even need lunch when skiing.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryr5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
6.0 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing