We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wE THOUGHT THE INN LOOKED GREAT, BUT IT WAS AWESOME-SPECIAL ROOMS, PROFESSIONAL COOK!”
Review of Snow Goose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Snow Goose Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Dover B&B and Inns
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
1 review
“wE THOUGHT THE INN LOOKED GREAT, BUT IT WAS AWESOME-SPECIAL ROOMS, PROFESSIONAL COOK!”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The exterior of the SNOW GOOSE INN looks very attractive as you drive by. It stuck in my memory from about 10 years ago. The rooms inside are large, have working fireplaces, huge fabulous bathrooms. The owner, CYNDEE, thought of EVERYTHING ! Really, she did! AND she's a professional cook! The food is mostly from local sources and totally homemade! You'll think you died and went to heaven. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cirque10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    38
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
207
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Cyndee runs the perfect place with loving care and attention to detail. Breakfast is home cooked and delicious. The cheese, crackers and wine get together at 5:30 is a perfect opportunity to learn about the area and the other travellers, who are lucky enough to stay at the Snow Goose Inn.
We spent 3 nights as part of our honeymoon, jetlagged after a transatlantic flight, and the only thing we would like changed is that the firewood for the fireplace in our room could be more dry. Everything else was just perfect.

Susanne & Henrik

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriktux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My husband and I had been on a European crusie that was cancelled. We came home and decided to head up to Vermont. We randomly picked the Snow Goose Inn and it made up for the huge disapointment of our cancelled cruise. Cyndee and her B&B were perfect for picking up the pieces!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

What a wonderful experience! Cyndee the innkeeper could not have been more friendly, helpful or wonderful. And boy, can she cook a great breakfast. The bacon was to die for!!! Our room was just what we wanted with a big king size bed that was so comfortable, a private balcony, a big jaccuzzi in a very spacious bathroom along with a fireplace that came in very handy for the cool nights we had. We could not have asked for a better mini vacation and we will be heading back to the inn again......next time we will stay a little longer......we enjoyed it that much!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Fully deserves to be #1. Charm, style, delicious food and exceptionally warm and attentive service make Snow Goose a standout. Great attention to detail. Great Inn Keeper.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heida24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Cyndee treated us like family even before we got there and made our wedding ceremony (which she performed) and day perfect in every way. The Snow Goose welcomed our nephews (4 and 5 years old) and dog, and made everyone feel comfortable and well taken care of. Cyndee is an excellent hostess, cook, vermont guide, and general awesome person. We stayed 4 nights after the wedding party left and had a great time - fireplace and hot tub in the room, porch right outside the sliding door overlooking the garden, and lots of peaceful relaxation. Definitely recommend this place - for romantic getaway or larger gathering. In a word - awesome!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicianow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glorious Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Cyndee was the absolute key to our wonderful visit to the Mount Snow area. We found this an ideal respite--just what we all hoped for in terms of great location and surrounding beauty, as well as lots to see and do. Cyndee's a fantastic chef and as gracious and knowledgeable an innkeeper as you might ever meet. Her restaurant and touring recommendations were perfectly pitched to our needs. Breakfasts were delicious local fare. All of us (including two adult young women, daughter and her friend) felt at home and welcomed. We've made friends at the Snow Goose Inn!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
1.5 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
1.4 mi away
Deerhill Inn
Deerhill Inn
#1 of 12 in Dover
302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Nutmeg
The Nutmeg
#2 of 10 in Wilmington
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gray Ghost Inn
Gray Ghost Inn
#3 of 12 in Dover
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Dover Inn
West Dover Inn
#4 of 12 in Dover
162 reviews
6.0 mi away
The White House Inn
The White House Inn
#4 of 10 in Wilmington
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Inn

Property: Snow Goose Inn
Address: 259 Route 100, Dover, VT 05356-4405 (Formerly Shield Inn)
Region: United States > Vermont > Dover
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snow Goose Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High style and romance in Vermont's beautiful country setting. Nestled on 3 wooded acres at the base of Mount Snow in West Dover; Antique-appointed rooms, wood-burning fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, full country breakfast, wine and cheese. Pet friendly rooms available. Wi-fi, cable TV, private baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Goose Hotel Dover
Snow Goose Inn Vermont/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing